BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Rules for Radicals: A Practical Primer for Realistic Radicals

Average Rating 3.5
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

This book is the battle plan for the O Bama administration

If you are interested in politics, this book is a must read.
Battle plan is the correct term. This book explains exactly the actions of the O Bama administration. As a professor Barrack O Bama taught this book and established this network of activist for his political ...
If you are interested in politics, this book is a must read.
Battle plan is the correct term. This book explains exactly the actions of the O Bama administration. As a professor Barrack O Bama taught this book and established this network of activist for his political network. The tactics of direction and misdirection are all followed with incredible precision.
The book in detail describes how to prepare and operate as a community organizer, how to redefine and control the communication, and how to use the issues people have to combine them into a force that works for you even against their own issues.
In general the mechanics are incredible and convincing. I found this book extremely slow read reading, but completely absorbing. This book will open your eyes to the back stage of politics. It will explain how carefully worded speeches can leave every one hearing what they want to hear. The author believes his system is unstoppable.

posted by StPeteBuzz on January 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

55 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

A useful primer for understanding the mindset of our new president.

Every citizen should read this, if he or she is concerned about the direction our political system is going. It provides outstanding insights into the mind-set of the "community organizer", and gives enlightenment into the background and the thinking of our latest presi...
Every citizen should read this, if he or she is concerned about the direction our political system is going. It provides outstanding insights into the mind-set of the "community organizer", and gives enlightenment into the background and the thinking of our latest president. This is not encouraging, in my view, but it is important to understand. The prescription for change is, in effect, work within the system to destroy the system so that a new (basically undefined) system can emerge from the ashes. The principles are not really "communistic", but more anarchistic or chaotic. It is a sophisticated explanation of the thinking of the radical left, exemplified by SDS, the 60's radicals, the Weathermen, et al. It becomes quite easy to understand the reasons behind the past associations of our president, and the ways in which he has almost wholly absorbed and endorsed Alinsky's views. In my view, Alinsky was a highly-intelligent and shrewd observer of the political and social scene, but suffered from the common disease of all radicals, in seeking to create beauty with the use of ugliness and deceptiveness.

posted by BillA on April 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This book is the battle plan for the O Bama administration

    If you are interested in politics, this book is a must read.
    Battle plan is the correct term. This book explains exactly the actions of the O Bama administration. As a professor Barrack O Bama taught this book and established this network of activist for his political network. The tactics of direction and misdirection are all followed with incredible precision.
    The book in detail describes how to prepare and operate as a community organizer, how to redefine and control the communication, and how to use the issues people have to combine them into a force that works for you even against their own issues.
    In general the mechanics are incredible and convincing. I found this book extremely slow read reading, but completely absorbing. This book will open your eyes to the back stage of politics. It will explain how carefully worded speeches can leave every one hearing what they want to hear. The author believes his system is unstoppable.

    23 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    No wonder Obama read/taught this.......

    I thought this was a good and interesting read. Alinsky basically advocates a guerrilla approach bordering on pre-terrorism; he uses masses of people (some would say mobs) to achieve results. I consider it pre-terrorism because in the examples he uses the people being opposed usually cave to the masses, most likely out of fear of possible mob revolt and violence (thus it's the FEAR of terrorism that inspires change) more than because they were defeated. Still a good and interesting read, with much to think about.

    15 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2010

    Highly Recommended - A most evil book of lies and societal death!

    The author is one of President Obama's mentors. The author not only dedicated this book to Satan, he does an excellent job explaining how we should destroy America through the same courses of action Obama is taking today!!! An American patriot should read this book to better understand the thinking and planning of an enemy. The author Saul Alinsky was also highly favored by Hilary Clinton. Sort of explains what's happening now.

    11 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2011

    Recomended by Glenn Beck

    Hope everyone out there is brave enough to read this fascinating book...I am a fourteen year old eigth grader and i enjoyed it!

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    A truly great book

    This is the best book I have read in several years. It is as relevant today as it must have been in 1971, a timeless clasic. It is still the best handbook on how to effect positive social change regardless of ones ideology. Do not believe the Glen Beck paranoiacs.

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome!

    Basically,

    If you were ever talented and pushed to the side because the system rewards boneheaded rigidity...
    If you were ever a part of a protest...
    If you are interested in strategy...
    If you believe there is, "more than one way to skin a cat."

    ...you'll love this book! be careful--you might get your feelings hurt!

    6 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Very interesting read

    You can tell who didn't bother even reading the free selection; they're the Chicken Littls flapping about in these reviews crying that the book is dedicated to Satan. The first few prints were but that is no longer the case.

    These sad right wingnuts remind me of the old bush people or jungle dwellers, afraid of shadows and ghosts and praying to anscestors to save them from invisible boogeymen. The author was an atheist jew; his satanic dedication was tongue-in-cheek and referred to Satan as the first rebel. This is known as "humor".

    3 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    Thank you......

    To all the Obama haters, that is. If the tea-baggers and idiots like Beck hate this guy, then I will buy and read every book the man wrote. Thanks, buffoons!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2013

    Why is it we are "enemies" when we old a differing vie

    Why is it we are "enemies" when we old a differing view than others? What is wrong with America today? This is a GREAT book. It tells how to organize and work for the "common good." This is not a "communistic" thought; this is a "Christian" thought. Greed has overtaken our society and only when we stand up for the "Have-Nots" will society ever change, and change for the BETTER. I applaud Saul Alinsky for his philosophy and good works.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    smart man. helped many people

    smart man. helped many people

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2