Customer Reviews for

Rules of Attraction (Perfect Chemistry Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 789 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(628)

4 Star

(98)

3 Star

(40)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Hands Downs 2nd Best Book ever!!!

My Favorite book of course is Perfect chemistry but the sequel is just as great. Simone develops characters that are hard to forget. I finished this book in 1 day and i cannot wait for the third book. You dont have to read PC to get into the 2nd book, its just that good...
My Favorite book of course is Perfect chemistry but the sequel is just as great. Simone develops characters that are hard to forget. I finished this book in 1 day and i cannot wait for the third book. You dont have to read PC to get into the 2nd book, its just that good!!! Simone Elkeles is definitely my favortie author and any book of hers are all great.. I truly Truly RECOMMEND this book for anyone who is looking for another great, hot, sexy ,edgy, sweet romance! Love My Fuentes Boys <3 Z.Lopez

Ps.
& stay tuned because the sequel to Leaving Paradise which will be called RETURN TO PARADISE is coming out early SEptemeber!

posted by BookJunkie5418 on April 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Book was ok

This book was ok but the first book is way better.

posted by 5295029 on August 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 98 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted March 15, 2010

    Something for everyone

    My thoughts...Let me start by saying I did not read the first book in the series, Perfect Chemistry. I am sure it would have given me better expectations of the second book, but it was not necessary. These novels can stand alone. Simone Elkeles knows how to write the ultimate bad boy. Carlos finds himself struggling to get out of gang life and out of his bad boy ways. While he is tough and packed full of attitude, readers periodically catch glimpses of his softer side, which makes him so likable. The other character we get perspectives from is Kiara, who is the total opposite of Carlos. While she is not your average girly girl, she is definitely a good daughter. The two of them have one of those against all odds relationships.

    The plot of Rules of Attraction moved at a quick, enjoyable pace. This book offers something for everyone, even male readers. The chapters alternate point-of-view between Carlos and Kiara. The story takes us into a journey into the life of someone who is trying to avoid gang life. At times, I felt truly afraid for Carlos due to the danger he and his loved ones were facing. Aside from the dangerous side, this is also a love story, a sort of modern Romeo and Juliet tale. Rules of Attraction is a beautifully written tale sure to enjoyed be a variety of readers.

    Lastly, I feel like I should mention that the book is for older YA readers. These characters experience some extreme situations. As a result, there is quite a bit of adult language, drug abuse, and some violence. Readers will also read several sexual situations. They are not very graphic, but I would not recommend it for younger readers.

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    so far

    after perfect chemistry, there's the two first chapters of rules of attraction. just from there, you can tell that the book is going to be AMAZING. i can not wait for april to come.

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    Great love story!

    Just like the first book, this story was very interesting and addicting. I couldnt put it down. Everything was just so detailed and had me wanting more. However, i was kind of upset that the story wasnt longer and im ssd that it ended soon :( i recommend this to every teenager!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Down right AMAZING

    This book was great from start to finish. The plot, even though very similar to Perfect Chemistry, was givin a new jolt of laughter and amuzement by the new charaters introduced. Cant what fot the squeal.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    Its an amazing book....and cant wait for the next one

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great

    Of some of you that may not know this is a sequel to the book perfect chemistry. I loved both books but i think the first one is better. So if u think u loved rhis check that one out!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2013

    Great sequel!

    I was afraid this would be too much like the first from the info, but it was a great story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2013

    .

    .

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    Love

    Amazing series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Simone Elkeles is one of those authors who know how to effective

    Simone Elkeles is one of those authors who know how to effectively build tension between the main two characters. She knows just what to do to make the reader feel the connection, to hold its breathe at certain scenes and to feel those darn tingles in the belly when the magical first kiss finally happens. She rocks, enough said. This is the second book in Perfect Chemistry series, following another infamous Fuentes brother, Carlos. In the first book we had a chance to meet the oldest one, Alex, and make him company on his way to finding true love with Brittany. Now we have to convince Carlos that there's more to life that just the street and that he can make something out of himself. And of course that Kiara is just the right girl to show him all that.

    I actually read this book in one sitting, five or six hours at the library, sitting behind the table and staring at my e-reader. I think I left the table only two times, once because the toilet called me and the second because I had to get a coffee and eat a snack. It pulled me in and held me right until the end. I think I liked it even more than the first book {review can be found here}. It might be because in this one, the life in gangs wasn't as much present. It was more focused on Carlos and his journey towards a better future. The chemistry between Carlos in Kiara is simply amazing, pure perfection. You can feel their most intimate desires as they were your own, you can feel the pain, understand the love. The impact Simone Elkeles has on the readers is sensational indeed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Shed She's good

    Great job i really reccomend it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Okay

    Honestly wasnt nearly as good as perfect chemistry. But still okay. Just felt it was rushed and lacked and hard to keep up with.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    Continuing to enjoy this series

    Rules of Attraction didnt let me down. It was a great follow up to Perfect Chemistry. I rooted for Carlos and Kiaras relationship through the whole book. I liked seeing both Kiaras and Carloss side to the story. It helps you understand the reasons why they did a certain thing. Even if I didnt agree with what they were doing and it frusterated the heck out of me atleast I understood. I loved this book and can not wait to read the youngest Fuentes brothers story, Chain Reaction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2011

    Worth Reading!

    This is a great series! The last chapter is like pay back to him in a funny way! These brothers are so worth the time. *Note: For the 17 plus age group.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    Review: Rules of Attraction by Simone Elkeles

    I really enjoyed this book more than the first book in the series, Perfect Chemistry. The relationship between Kiara and Carlos was great and more believable than the relationship between Alex and Brittany in the first book. You could understand how she was drawn to the bad boy that comes to live with her family and when they finally start the relationship, you could see how much she cared for him and his situation. Carlos was a very hard character for me to like however. He had some redeeming qualities but I felt like he put himself in these bad situations and had no clue what to do about it. Of course, he had his brother and Kiara's dad to finally bail him out in the end. The chemistry between Kiara and Carlos was definitely hot, especially in the scene in the living room. The ending did seem rushed and highly unbelievable. I am looking forward to reading the last book in the series when it comes out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    you WONT be disappointed!!

    Simone Elkeles has done it once again. Not only is this an awesome continuation of Perfect Chemistry, but its a well written (in not any way corny) story that portrays the bad boy changing his ways for the right girl.
    Invest in buying all 3 of the books. you'll fall in love with each of the Fuentes boys. : )

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    Amazing!

    I read the first book Perfect Chemistry and fell in love wih the book! Rules of Attraction was a little less then i expected but i loved every minute of it! I would totally recomend it but if you havent read Perfect Chemistry READ THAT BOOK FIRST!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2011

    Love it!!!

    I currently have not finished it yet. I am halfway through it and just had to write this review! One word to describ this book is absolutly amazing!!!! I love the meaning of the story and the character progresness is amazing even from the begining! Highly recomended!!!! A must read for anyone with good taste!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2011

    you must read this book

    this was a great story and I can't wait for chain reaction

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    loved it :D

    if you've read the first book, you'll love this one even more! Definitely a must read (:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 98 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5