Customer Reviews for

Rules of Murder (Drew Farthering Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

An exciting, 1930s mystery! When I first heard about Rules of M

An exciting, 1930s mystery!

When I first heard about Rules of Murder I fell in love with the cover. The style and the font fit the story setting very well. But, as we all know, we cannot simply judge a book by its cover. I'm happy to say what I found inside the cute co...
An exciting, 1930s mystery!

When I first heard about Rules of Murder I fell in love with the cover. The style and the font fit the story setting very well. But, as we all know, we cannot simply judge a book by its cover. I'm happy to say what I found inside the cute cover is a fabulous mystery that befuddled me further with every new clue. Though I will note with some pride I did see one of the twists coming... Ahem. Anyway.

Deering did her research well. Drew, Madeline, and Nick's accents, and even the way they talked, popped off the page. She crafted the setting very well, also bringing it off the page, reminiscent of Downton Abbey. I don't think she could have made the story feel any more real and for that, I praise her.

Drew and Madeline are positively adorable together. I loved the banter between them and between Drew and Nick. The three of them make up a great cast and I cannot wait to read more about them in the next novel Death by the Book!

If you enjoy mysteries or any of Agatha Christie's works (note: I have not read any of her novels) then I can guarantee you'll like this one. With an escalating mystery, true to the times characters, and a tangible setting, Deering's debut is one you won't want to miss. I recommend to 15+ for some minor violence surrounding a murder.

I received this book from CFBA, through the publisher, in return for an honest review of my opinions, which I have done. Thanks!

posted by Writingsof_Rosie on August 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Plot spoilers

Every review here is a plot spoiler all the while bragging how they got their book for free for their so called honest review. Its not an honest review, its a bought review, and you giving away the entire story line ruins the book for the rest of us that has to pay for ...
Every review here is a plot spoiler all the while bragging how they got their book for free for their so called honest review. Its not an honest review, its a bought review, and you giving away the entire story line ruins the book for the rest of us that has to pay for our copy. Bn, please, ban these plot spoilers, fine them and ban them from posting.

posted by 8888649 on January 6, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 21, 2013

    The PW review above was not very flattering, but I found the boo

    The PW review above was not very flattering, but I found the book enjoyable. The faith component is a side issue, but I thought it was well done as I was afraid it would feel forced. I thought the mystery was great - lots of possible suspects to work through if you try to solve the mystery as you read along. I liked the main characters - they really hooked my attention as I don't generally read historical fiction. The mystery itself kept me up late reading because I wanted to know how it all came together. Well done! (I received an electronic copy of this book for review from the publisher.)

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2013

    For Lovers of Film Noir and Classic Mysteries This is just a

    For Lovers of Film Noir and Classic Mysteries




    This is just a pure work of clean fun! The setting is on an old estate in England with a few Americans thrown in to accent the flavor. When a murder occurs, the characters are intent to solve the mystery by the rules of murder set by a mystery author. The game keeps twisting creating lots of interest and fun. If you love Agatha Christi or old murder mystery movies, you will enjoy this book. I recommend it to anyone looking for a clean mystery with Christian and romantic theme sunning through. I will definitely pick up the second in the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2013

    I totally enjoyed Rules of Murder. I loved the detail the autho

    I totally enjoyed Rules of Murder. I loved the detail the author used and how well the story flowed. I could hardly wait to see what the main characters would say next. Great job all around! I am eagerly looking forward to this author’s next book. I would recommend this book to anyone that enjoyed Dorothy Sayers or Agatha Christie.
    I received an advanced reading copy of this book from Bethany House Publishing for my honest review, which I have given.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is the first book in the Drew Farthering series and it did

    This is the first book in the Drew Farthering series and it did not disappoint. It evoked classic mysteries- I liked the setting of a 1930s English manor house. The characters were interesting, were well drawn, and had good chemistry. I also liked how the author handled religion, she got her point across without being heavy handed.The plot was interesting and flowed well. I'm looking forward to reading other books in this series.
    * I received a copy from the publisher via netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    An Intriguing Mystery Reminiscent of Classic Mysteries As a fan

    An Intriguing Mystery Reminiscent of Classic Mysteries

    As a fan of Agatha Christie, I wondered what Julianna Deering would deliver in her debut novel Rules of Murder. This mystery begins with the usual murder to set the story and amateur detective in action. The story takes place on an English estate and the detective is the privileged son of the first murder victim.

    Drew Farthering, and his longtime friend Nick, decide to investigate the strange happenings that seem to entangle people that Drew trusts. With the help of his stepfather’s American niece, Madeline, Drew find clues, annoy the constable, and tries desperately to figure out who would want to destroy the family company.

    As the plot thickens, author Deering mixes mischief with wry humor to engage her readers in helping to figure out the motive for the murders. While it seemed that Deering moved rather slowly to develop her characters and story at the beginning of the story, she did an impeccable job revealing clues and making connections that I could follow as a reader. Sometimes I feel mysteries exclude us readers from all the details because it will ruin the surprises in the plot. Deering keeps her surprises while adroitly dropping the hints that draw us into her story and keep us trying to figure out the mystery. Drew’s final explanation of the mystery was the best wrap up for a mystery that I’ve read in a long time.

    Overall, I enjoyed reading Rules of Murder, and I’ll be watching for more Drew Farthering mysteries. Bethany House Publishing sent me a complimentary copy of Rules of Murder by Julianna Deering to review.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2013

    Many of the things that I have read about this book compare it t

    Many of the things that I have read about this book compare it to the style of Agatha Christie. I have to say that I would agree with that comparison. Of course Ms. Deering has her own unique writing voice but the plot twists and turns are reminiscent of those wonderful classic mysteries from the 20s and 30s.




    From the beginning I thought that I had figured it out. But I was wrong. Then I thought that the plot involved multiple people. I was wrong again. As I was nearing the end I thought that I had surely figured it out, but I had not. Up until the complete scheme was revealed I had no idea who the real culprit was. In my opinion that is the sign of a well written murder mystery.




    So if you are a fan of the old murder mysteries or if you are a new devotee to Downton Abbey I really think you will fall in love with Rules of Murder. I am looking forward to reading more about Drew Farthering and seeing what case he will solve next. According to the author's website, the second installment Death by the Book is due out in Spring 2014.




    I received a copy of this book to facilitate my review.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2014

    This reminded me of an adult version of a Nancy Drew or a Hardy

    This reminded me of an adult version of a Nancy Drew or a Hardy boys type novel..  I loved it.  I am looking forward to  reading the next in the series.  I love this time of year that these books take place.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2014

    If you are looking for a good mystery, look no further. Rules of

    If you are looking for a good mystery, look no further. Rules of Murder, set in the 1930′s, has interesting characters and the murder mystery kept me intrigued throughout. The author did a great job of setting the scene and I truly felt immersed in the time period of this novel. She also kept me guessing until the end of the novel and threw in some twists that were fun.

    I enjoyed reading a novel that reminded me of the old 1930′s and 1940′s movies that I used to enjoy watching with my mom (who is a classic movie buff) while growing up. I was really able to connect with Drew and Nick’s dry wit throughout the story. I was also impressed with the way the author handled Drew’s questions and worldview regarding God. He has valid reasons for the way he feels and the way Madeline, the leading lady, responds to his questions is lovely.

    If you enjoy a mystery and are looking for a book that is set in a time period that is not written about much in Christian fiction, Rules of Murder is an excellent choice. I am looking forward to reading the next book in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    Good time read

    I enjoyed this book...was fun and touching...a little bit of God thrown in but not preachy...good read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    Rules of Murder

    Very fun to read if you like murder in the mansion type books. Well written and twisty. Will be getting the next two that are still in preorder.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2013

    Rules of Murder is the first book in Julianna Deering's debut se

    Rules of Murder is the first book in Julianna Deering's debut series The Drew Farthing Mystery. Set in 1930's England, Drew Farthing loves his mystery novels. As a party guest at Farthing Place Drew finds himself in the middle of a real murder mystery. With the help of his best friend who is also a mystery buff, and an American guest staying at Farthing Place they work together to solve this latest mystery using techniques from their favorite novels. As they dig deeper into events surrounding this murder they find that there is more going on than just this murder.

    Rules of Murder is Julianna Deering's debut novel and I really enjoyed it. As a fan of new authors when I saw the description of this book I knew I needed to read it. Julianna Deering writes a true mystery that keeps you guessing until the end. The characters are a great ensemble of people who make the novel a huge hit. Julianna Deering captures this interesting time in our history, 1930's in England. I love the 1930's so it was great to read about this time in England's history. Rules of Murder has the feel of an Agatha Christa murder mystery, which added to the enjoyment. I found myself taken in with this book from the start and couldn't put it down. The team of Drew, Nick, and Madeline is great! I look forward to reading the next book in this series. I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys Christian Suspense Fiction! You will not be disappointed! I give this book 4 STARS.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2013

    Reviewing RULES OF MURDER by Julianna Deering If you love a

    Reviewing RULES OF MURDER by Julianna Deering
    If you love a mystery, you'll love this book! Plus the great bantering between the main characters will keep a smile on your face. The author does a beautiful job describing the colonial dress, furniture and time-period she is writing about, and you can 'hear' the English/Brit accent.
    I like a book that makes you 'think' and in this one when the main character discovers a secret about himself, it made me ask of myself, how would "I" feel, and what would "I" do? Without giving away the story plot, the secret is that he is the result of an affair his father had, and the woman who raised him, is not his mother. In the midst of murders, the mystery begins!
    The author does a great job also if inserting touching scenes with kittens that continue to the end of the book, and add insights into the characters' thoughts and feelings.
    I received a free copy of this book from BethanyHouse Publishers to give a review without any expectations as to it being favorable. It is.


    BevK
    IBELIEVE2

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1