Customer Reviews for

Rules of Prey (Lucas Davenport Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 270 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(119)

4 Star

(77)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Sandford can Follow the Rules in RULES OF PREY!

Never kill anyone you know.
Never have a motive.
Never follow a discernable pattern.
Never carry a weapon after it has been used.


Listed above are a few of the many rules made by the serial madman that he has you obligated to follow. He is on the loose, in the m...
Never kill anyone you know.
Never have a motive.
Never follow a discernable pattern.
Never carry a weapon after it has been used.


Listed above are a few of the many rules made by the serial madman that he has you obligated to follow. He is on the loose, in the meantime, while you're fighting to keep the press out of the loop. What would you do? Would you abide to his compulsive game? Would you stand idle and risk another innocent life being taken? Or would you, instead, come up with rules of your own in a way to cease the violence enforced by the bad guy. These are the questions that are pondering inside the mind of the hero in bestselling author John Sandford's RULES OF PREY.


The first installment of Sandford's well-known crime series introduces detective Lucas Davenport, a man with a life ahead of him. On duty, he is a tough, ruthless Minnesota cop who abides by little or no nonsense from anybody. Behind the badge, nevertheless, is a successful entrepreneur who writes games for a living. And from a personal standpoint, not to mention, he is a raunchy, womanizing swinger who constantly jumps in love from one woman to another.


In the debut of this hit series by Sandford, Davenport is called in to investigate a series of murders committed by Louis "Maddogg" Vullion. To every body who closely knows Louis, he is a mediocre tax attorney struggling to make ends meat. But the other face of Louis is that of an obsessive madman who commits his killings by religiously following a meticulous set of rules. In attempt of serving as a challenge to Davenport, he leaves a note of one of his rules at each and every one of his crime scenes, such as the ones mentioned earlier. With one killing happening after another, the media and the Twin Cities are in a paranoid frenzy. Lucas, on the other end, decides to play by rules of his own.


RULES OF PREY is a very entertaining entry by Sandford. His characters are likeable and fresh. The plot of the book is a cut-clean and simple one. Readers will find the story to be very satisfying, something they will not find to be either forced or tiring. A trait that readers will accolade him for is his ability to write. No doubt, SANDFORD IS WONDERFUL WITH THE ENGLISH LANGUAGE!!!! His ability to describe the settings and to be able to deride thoughts and ideas is just beyond out of this world. As far as complaints go, the only one that readers will conjure up is that of how the ending abruptly ended. It may not be of one that ties every event in place, yet it will be of one that readers that will find entertaining and satisfying.

posted by XMan on February 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Author of a cop series who hates the NRA?

Thought I'd seek another mystery series after exhausting so many others.

The story line of Rules of Prey was a bit drawn out. A bit frustrating.

Then, Sandford slips in an anti-NRA line.

Bite the hand that feeds you, Sandford. Only once with this former law...
Thought I'd seek another mystery series after exhausting so many others.

The story line of Rules of Prey was a bit drawn out. A bit frustrating.

Then, Sandford slips in an anti-NRA line.

Bite the hand that feeds you, Sandford. Only once with this former law enforcement, very PRO NRA reader.

Bye.

posted by BorderBear on June 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 119 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    First of an interesting series

    Interesting lead character and well rounded supporting characters. You¿ll even like the villain. From the first murder you¿re caught up in the story. After reading the first in the prey series I couldn¿t stop until I read them all. You won¿t be disappointed with Mr. Sanford¿s writing style.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2000

    Unbelievable

    This is the first book that I've read by John Sandford, and now I can't wait to read the rest. This book makes you stay up way past your bedtime.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    My 2nd favorite detective

    This is the best Davenport story I have read so far. I have read quite a few of them.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    Flashfire

    I read Winter Prey first and was immediately hooked. I am a serious fan of R.B.Parker, esp. Spenser, Lee Childs Reacher, J.D. Mcdonalds McGee and have collected them all. For fans of the genre, Sandford is on par with them, or even better, a must read. His stories have great plots, are well written with a lot of droll "black humor" (you have be, or have been, a GI or cop to really appreciate some of it) and move at a fast pace--be prepared to stay up late. He pokes fun at stereo types and at the PC dweebs. His jibes at the NRA (Nnot Rreal Aamericans) and the Repubelicans only make him better. His stuff are serious fun.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2010

    Highly Recommended

    After reading this book, I was hooked on the series. Davenport and the other characters form an unexpected contagious group. Could not put this book down!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2015

    Gripping, action filled! Hard to put down

    Great booj!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2012

    Good Book

    I read this book years ago and wanted to re-read it on a trip. My husband had never heard a Lucas Davenport book, so we started with the first. Makes you want to read more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    Buttercup

    Good read! I wasn't sure I would like it, but once I started I could not put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Great book

    Very quick moving story line Loved it aleady purchasd the second book in series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Great Read

    Elizabeth George has done her usual with Inspector Lynley. The story keeps you rivetted.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2012

    Great read--as are all of John Sandford's Prey novels.

    I have all of the "Prey" books by Mr. Sandford and have read and re-read them. The first in the Davenport series, Rules of Prey, is a wonderful read from front to back.

    When you have read all of the Davenport stories, go to Mr. Sandford's newest hero, Virgil Flowers and, then, if you are a techy try the Kidd series. Kidd is a hacker and the best anti-hero going.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    Exellent!

    My favorite author! Terrific series! I read half the Davenport novels as they were released. I am starting over with the 1st in the series and plan to read each in order because I lost track of which ones I had already read and which I had not. I just cannot read fast enough, they are so good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    A Must Read

    One of the best crime/drama books ever written....Lucas is THE MAN!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2011

    a must read

    I highly recommend this book, it was spellbinding, you need to check it out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2011

    Fantastic series

    I have read entire prey series, and all of virgil books, and loved each one. Sanford has created two of the most likeable detectives, and its amazing he has done it for over 20 years

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Incredbily addicting

    This is a wonderful book I tried out due to a friends suggestion. I loved it cover to cover as it rbought me into the inner workings of the police force and the rules they bend and those they compeltely ignore. I look forward to reading the rest of series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Page Turner

    Found this book on the bus someone forgot it.. started reading it and miss my stop this was back in 1992... After reading this first book of the series I got hooked and so far have all of them (20 in total).. If you are really thinking of starting a collection them get this book it will not disappoint, plus you will become another John Sandford fan I guarantee you.

    All the books on this series follow the same detective (Lucas Davenport) as he begins to track and understand the murderer on each of the books, he becomes a master a serial killers and also becomes the "goto" detective when serial killers strike in different states..

    Give it a shot you wont regret it..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    John Sandford's "PREY" series is first rate

    I was invited to write this review becasue I recently purchased the frist three novels in this series. I purchased them as a gift for a friend. I read them long ago, and wanted to introduce him to the books. I can't think of a stronger recommendation than that.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    "Rules of Prey" A great start to a great series - number one in John Sandford's series about maverick policeman Lucas Davenport.

    About 18 months ago I was looking for a new mystery author/series to get into. I'd read all of Deaver, Robt. B. Parker, etc and found myself with more free time to spend on reading. Among the recommendations I received from friends was a glowing one for the books of John Sandford, with a suggestion to start at the beginning of thr Lucas Davenport series. It didn't take me long to get hooked on the series, and within months I read the entire set and eagerly await the arrival of new ones. In addition to well-thought out plots with sneaky twists and easy readability, Sandford's characters are not only interesting and quirky, but go through significant "life changes' during the course of the series. Try "Rules of Prey" and you'll probably work your way through (one at a time) to the most current one like I did.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2007

    an outstandig read

    its the best book ive read in years took me by the throat and drug me on a heck of a ride.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 119 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6