BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Rules of Survival

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 1, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    On the run from both the bounty hunters who think she murdered h

    On the run from both the bounty hunters who think she murdered her mother and from her mother’s true killer, Mikayla decides to risk it all to try and clear her name. Unsurprisingly, she gets caught by the most diligent of them all, Patrick Tanner, along with his sidekick Shaun. When the unexpected happens, Kayla and Shaun get separated from Tanner. So Shaun ensures she won’t be able to get any farther. Kayla only knows what she’s experienced growing up. Having been on the run since birth with her mom, her usual M.O. is to never stop in one place too long and never get close to anyone. Until now.

    Shaun is the quintessential bad boy from a rough childhood, who has since been unofficially adopted by Tanner. His attempt to keep Kayla from escaping eventually morphs into an attempt to win her over. Which is something he turns out to be quite good at. While on the run for their life, they turn to each other for support. A quick read that will keep you on your toes. Definitely recommended for YA thriller enthusiasts.

    Rating: 4

    HEAT Rating: Mild

    Reviewed By: Daysie W.

    Review Courtesy of: My Book Addictions and More

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2014

    Mikayla has spent her life on the run. She and her mother have r

    Mikayla has spent her life on the run. She and her mother have run town to town always hiding. Mikayla was taught the rules of survival and she took those lessons to heart. She has been on her own for a year now running from the law and others after her mother was killed. She is the main suspect and knows she has to figure out who the killer really is and clear her name. She goes back to the scene of the crime and is caught by the man who has chased her mother all her life. Patrick along with his partner Shaun are bounty hunters. Someone is willing to pay them a lot of money to bring Mikalya in. Only problem is they aren't the only ones after her. Shaun has to keep her safe and he handcuffs them together. Now they are trying to figure out the mystery of who killed her mother, who to trust and whether they want to kiss or kill each other.




    Mikayla is a very smart girl who has ad a rough life. She loves her mother very much and wants to bring her killer to justice. She is a smart ass at times but she never gives up. She was taught to look after herself but she can't help but try to look after Shaun as well. Shaun also had a rough life growing up and it made him quick to anger. He tries his best to get Mikayla to trust him. He really surprised me by how far he was willing to go to keep her safe. He also tries his best with his willpower around her. They both are hard headed and stubborn but work really well together.




    This book was a huge mystery to unravel. I love Mikayla and Shaun. Ok maybe I loved Shaun a little more. He has the whole bad boy but yet at times clueless deal going on. Right away you see what kind of danger she is in and you try to figure things out. Every time I would make a guess at who it was or why I was wrong. The author does a wonderful job keeping you on your toes. There is always danger around and once you start you just can't put this book down. Mikayla and Shaun are easy to connect with and while it is bad timing they still deal with there attraction to each other in a good way. It seems at Mikayla is the aggressive one in that way and Shaun is more patient. It works well for them. It makes them more believable. I don't think there was a single thing I didn't like about this book except the end and that was simply because I hated to see it end. I would recommend this book to anyone looking for a fascinating book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2014

    Good

    Fast paced, funny, witty and 18 romantic. A lite fun read but if your looking for something with some steamy romantic tension...not it, but it is cute.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2014

    Rules of Survival is my second book from Accardo and this one pu

    Rules of Survival is my second book from Accardo and this one pulled me right in just like Ruined did. The whole bounty hunter aspect is what caught my attention and something different. It center around Mikayla who has been on the run for a year now, and this suspect in her mother’s murder. Following the rules is what her mother always taught her. Not just any rules either. When you are a con artist, you live by a whole different set of rules. Mikayla of course goes back to the place her mother was murdered, and runs into two bounty hunters and the drama ensues.
     
    Mikayla was a pretty badass girl. She could definitely take care of herself, and could kick some butt. I liked that she wasn’t whiney, she is strong even after everything that she has been through. She doesn’t trust anyone. At all. Enter Shaun, he was one of the bounty hunters after her. He is sexy, strong and isn’t quick to judge, especially when it come to Mikayla. The fact that he loyal and so protective of her as the story continued made me like him even more. There are a few people that popped up every now and then that all had important part in the mystery behind Mikayla’s mothers murder. Patrick was the bounty hunter that Shaun worked with, and questioned just about everything he said and did, couldn’t put my finger on why though.
     
    The plot was fantastic! It was fast paced, jumping from from exciting fight, more people after Mikayla and running, hiding and more running. The who behind the whole hunt for Mikayla revealed some interesting twists and revelations for Mikayla. There was plenty of drama too. The interaction between Kayla and Shaun just added to the already intense story. They bickered at the beginning, and always seemed to find themselves in ever worse situations than the once before. The romance side to this was perfect for this type of story, sweet and steamy in all the right places. The ending was suspenseful and turning pages faster and I was happy with the way everything turned out, even if I was kinda biting my nails.
     
    Rules of Survival was all kinds of entertaining, it has romance, action and mystery. Acccardo definitely did again with such great characters and a freakin awesome plot that I could get enough of. Pick this one up for sure. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I expected Rules of Survival to be action packed after reading t

    I expected Rules of Survival to be action packed after reading the summary. I was not disappointed throughout the book--it is action packed and fast paced. I was also surprised by how much I enjoyed reading the author's writing style and how she writes convincing characters that are easily to relate to.

    Rules of Survival is about Kayla, who is apparently on some wanted list and highly sought after by contracted bounty hunters. She was wanted for the murder of her mother and to escape from the true murderer, Kaylan went into hiding. However, she made the worst mistake of returning to the murder scene and ended up getting caught by Shaun and Patrick before she had enough time to finish reading her mother's hidden letter.

    I enjoy reading about the characters, how unique each of them are and especially about Kayla. She is an interesting character--strong, quick-witted but at the same time, also slightly flawed.  I like it that she was strong, but not too strong as a character and so I find her refreshing. Coupled together with Shaun and subsequently handcuffed to prevent her escape, the story is a pretty interesting and amusing read. There is even a plot twist which caught me off-guard. 

    Seeing how I enjoyed reading Rules of Survival, I'm going to read other books by the author. 

    I received a review copy in exchange for the above honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2014

    Kayla is a strong, determinate, lonely girl. The only thing she

    Kayla is a strong, determinate, lonely girl. The only thing she wants is to find her mother’s murderer and clear her name. Her childhood was not a normal one, they were always on the run, never been more than 6 months on the same place. Her mother teaches her how to survive in the world. Kayla has no family, no friend and she doesn’t know how to use brawns, so she uses her brain. 
    Shaun is a bounty hunter, he’s hot, sexy, strong and have control issues. His childhood wasn’t perfect, far from it and that’s why know he use his brawn and not his brain. He was “adopted” by Patrick Tanner, another bounty hunter. 
    Patrick Tanner is the one who search the Morgan’s girls since the beginning. He has a problem with Kayla’s mother. 
    The relation between Kayla and Shaun is interesting, Kayla don’t trust anyone and Shaun trust Patrick. Finding themselves stuck both, they are going to learn to trust each other. Shaun is cocky and of the blow the dialogues are rather funny sometimes, especially that Kayla has a talent for repartee. 
    The story is well build and Jus Accardo knows how to captivate us. At the beginning, we ask ourselves a lot of questions and the answers will come to the end of the book. Like who is Mick ? Who is Jaffe ? What is it between Tanner and Kayla’s mother ? 
    I like the evolution of Kayla, at the beginning she’s a lonely girl who follow her mother’s rules without complaining and as one goes along she learn to stop following rules, stop making plans and trust Shaun. Kayla feels alone and she has a need to be surrounded but she also knows that the way to go will be long. 
    I like this book, the story is original, the writing is good, the cover is awesome and if you like Hot boy, Independent girl and action you will be served. 
    The story is tell from the POV of Kayla.
    Thanks to Entangled Publishing for giving me a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2014

    A very enjoyable read that is filled with adventure from the ver

    A very enjoyable read that is filled with adventure from the very first page. Mikayla has lived her entire life on the run. Now she is in for the fight of her life. Proving that she did not kill her mother. After being captured by a pair of bounty hunters Kayla finds herself on the run again but this time Shaun, one of the bounty hunters, is along for the ride. This book is filled with twists and turns, witty dialogue, and sweet tender moments. It kept me entertained and I would definitely recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1