Customer Reviews for

The Rum Diary

Average Rating 4
( 107 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

LOVE IT!!!!!

When I read any of his books I hear Hunters voice.. RIP.. I LOVE YOU

posted by IVPAGE on October 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Sorry - Didn't care for it

I was a little bored right from the beginning. Paul moves to San Juan, drinks a lot of rum, eats a lot of hamburgers and works at a crappy newspaper. ok...... now what? I kept reading hoping something big would happen, but it never did. I guess HST's writing made me lon...
I was a little bored right from the beginning. Paul moves to San Juan, drinks a lot of rum, eats a lot of hamburgers and works at a crappy newspaper. ok...... now what? I kept reading hoping something big would happen, but it never did. I guess HST's writing made me long for a drink and a beach, but I don't get the hype.. And it's going to be a movie? Really?

posted by 10654155 on January 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 108 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Not recommended if you want a story with a purpose.

    I like Thompson's writing, however, this one didn't have much of a story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    Sorry - Didn't care for it

    I was a little bored right from the beginning. Paul moves to San Juan, drinks a lot of rum, eats a lot of hamburgers and works at a crappy newspaper. ok...... now what? I kept reading hoping something big would happen, but it never did. I guess HST's writing made me long for a drink and a beach, but I don't get the hype.. And it's going to be a movie? Really?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2011

    A story about a long drunk and searching for a place where the grass is greener.

    I enjoyed the book I did identify with how the characters felt after a hard night of drinking as I once lived like that before I grew up. The characters try to live their lives like they are constantly on vacation and constantly looking for something to bring them happiness. They all left their homes looking for the easy ride or a place where the grass is greener. One problem that I did have was that I really couldn't find a character to root for. They were all self-centered and kind of despicable.

    I enjoy reading books that are set in exotic places because I like reading about life there. I like to travel too. For me the book was entertaining enough and moved fast enough to keep my interest but it wasn't excellent. In a way I thought I was reading a story written by some one who had gone on a long drunk. It was a little depressing at times. Overall though it was worth reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    LOVE IT!!!!!

    When I read any of his books I hear Hunters voice..
    RIP.. I LOVE YOU

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    "novel" work by HST

    While differing from his usual, non-fiction, gonzo-journalism, Rum Diary consists of the same trademark hypnotic HST prose. You can see a lot of what a young Thompson must have been like through this book. While it is a novel, the main character clearly echoes a twenty-something, hopeful HST, already becoming jaded by the society he's trapped in (regardless of what country he's in or continent he's on). A quick, enjoyable read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2007

    The Heart of Hunter

    One of MY favorite seductively savage.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2005

    The American Dream in San Juan

    Good books dont just appear out of thin air. They are created and cared for like children. Even if that book's beginning started in the middle of some wild sexual rum driven backseat action. Life comes at you from all angles and to capture those few important instances that matter in pure essence coherently on paper is a skill few can maintain like our good freind Hunter. If there is any suggestion to be made to you fine people who enjoyed fear and loathing it is this. Don't start reading this book expecting Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas. You will not be satisfied. Just imagine a whole new scenario with limitless possabilities, but still maintaining that which made our freind Hunter famous. That pursuit for the American dream, and Gonzo along for the ride.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2004

    pretty good

    The back cover of the book tells us that Thompson wrote this when he was twenty and it was sitting in some crate in his house for years before it was brought out to be published. For some reason I doubt it, because the narrator is in his late twenties or early thirties and really knowledgable of the journalism racket. Anyway- the book is pretty decent, but not as good as Fear and Loathing. No drugs here- just lots and lots... and lots! of booze, especially rum... and blue waters and tropical sands. The writing is short and straightforward, not as much sarcasm as F&L, only when he writes about the native Puerto Ricans, who he describes as savages who run around the streets and burn and loot. Haven't read anything like that since 'heart of darkness'- but Thompson does it on purpose of course, tongue in cheek. Would recommend this book to the Thompson fan, otherwise just pick up F&L

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2004

    a paradise in hell

    In this novel, a young Thompson really portrays how care- free, yet terribly complex and brutal a young man's life can be at times. H.S.T. sucked me in from the moment i opened the book to the moment i turned the last page. This novel really paints a beautiful picture of how paradise can easily take a turn for the worst and leave one in the bowels of hell. If you are looking for a good read and piece of mind, please consider reading this beautifully written novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2014

    J

    &hearts
    <br>

    &hearts&hearts
    <br>

    &hearts&hearts&hearts
    <br>

    &hearts&hearts
    <br>

    &hearts

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2012

    This is the first book I've read by Thompson. Don't base your d

    This is the first book I've read by Thompson. Don't base your decision to read it on the description on the back of the book as the description makes you believe there is alot more to the story than there really is. This is one of those novels where you're just along for the ride and are kind of a &quot;fly on the wall&quot; as the character, Paul Kemp, lives in San Juan. Overall though, it's a pretty easy read and one of those books you don't really need to think too much about to understand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    hated it

    Started reading this book because i am puerto rican but find it a complete bore & total waste of money i just couldnt get into it and didnt connect with the author or the words on the page

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Im crying

    I just fought with my grandma she thibks i dont try but i do she yells and says i cant go swimming she calls me bad names woerds i would never usw im sick pf beomg called a brat she says she cant wIt till i go back to s chool im just ready to grow up if it gonna be lie this

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Pointless...

    Descriptive but no plot or story...just ramblimgs...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2012

    Drink up!

    In a distinct change from the normally charged “gonzo journalism” approach, Hunter Thompson takes on a novel. This semi-autobiographical book, delves into the warm tropical heat of Puerto Rico. Struggling journalist Paul Kemp seeks to find a home and a voice with the backdrop and mystique of Puerto Rico.
    What seems as the perfect job, turns to be a series of adventures of the mystery laden underworld of the profitable real estate sector. All the while this crew struggles to keep the renegade group of writers seeking to maintain a failing newspaper afloat.
    In Hunter’s view this was his attempt to write the great American novel, but it is a fascinating peek into his writings before he became known for his own style of “gonzo” journalism. The only failing of this book is that it will leave you with a craving thirst for a bit of good ‘ole rum. Drink up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Leopardheart

    Hey.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Waiting for a plot

    A guy comes to PR to write for a newspaper, meets some people, drinks a lot of rum, goes to carnival one night, loses his job, the end. Not sure how they made a movie? Maybe just see it instead.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    A Good Book That Was Well Written- 3 1/2 Stars!

    This book was not wildly suspenseful or did not have daring twists and turns. This was the first book I read by Hunter S. Thompson and I was impressed by his cleverness and the honesty in his writing of how petty human nature leads us to be at times. If I could give an extra 1/2 a star I believe that would be a better justified but I was not given that option. A good book to pass the time and well worth the read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    Gripping and intense

    I liked it alot it had such a good feel to it. After reading it i couldn't wait for summer and go swimming in the ocean

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2010

    Excellent Rainy Day Reading

    Love HST's island descriptions. Very entertaining HST style!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 108 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6