BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Rum Diary

Average Rating 4
( 110 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

LOVE IT!!!!!

When I read any of his books I hear Hunters voice.. RIP.. I LOVE YOU

posted by IVPAGE on October 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Sorry - Didn't care for it

I was a little bored right from the beginning. Paul moves to San Juan, drinks a lot of rum, eats a lot of hamburgers and works at a crappy newspaper. ok...... now what? I kept reading hoping something big would happen, but it never did. I guess HST's writing made me lon...
I was a little bored right from the beginning. Paul moves to San Juan, drinks a lot of rum, eats a lot of hamburgers and works at a crappy newspaper. ok...... now what? I kept reading hoping something big would happen, but it never did. I guess HST's writing made me long for a drink and a beach, but I don't get the hype.. And it's going to be a movie? Really?

posted by 10654155 on January 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    LOVE IT!!!!!

    When I read any of his books I hear Hunters voice..
    RIP.. I LOVE YOU

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    "novel" work by HST

    While differing from his usual, non-fiction, gonzo-journalism, Rum Diary consists of the same trademark hypnotic HST prose. You can see a lot of what a young Thompson must have been like through this book. While it is a novel, the main character clearly echoes a twenty-something, hopeful HST, already becoming jaded by the society he's trapped in (regardless of what country he's in or continent he's on). A quick, enjoyable read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Not seen as the typical Gonzo written book, but just as entertai

    Not seen as the typical Gonzo written book, but just as entertaining. A bit more of an old school Kerouac like vain to it. Great stuff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2006

    Righteous energy

    Captured me from begining to end. This was the first book of HST that I've read. Some reviews on the book have been poor in comparison with his latter works of art. I thought this book was very good and am now very curious, intrigued, and anxious to start another.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2000

    80 Proof

    I moved to San Juan from the mid-west and have been here for more than five years. Puerto Rico is nothing like anywhere else. Thompson captured the scenic descriptions perfectly. The people in The Rum Diary exist in Puerto Rico. I have known each of the characters. In fifty years, some things are better here, some things are worse and some things are exactly the same. There are places like Al's where the same people go to get loaded every day. There are mainland Americans who talk incessantly about where they are going and what they are going to do when they leave here. But, they stay and stay and stay. I have seen idealists become alcoholics. The stray dogs exist. The dirt roads exist. People still throw their cars at you. People still get relieved of wrong doing because of who they know. It may not be as common but it exists. There are 'lunatics¿ and ¿wine heads.¿ There are still mainland Americans that come here and treat the locals bad and in general act like ¿ugly Americans.¿ A press pass can still take one far. The sun and the mimis can be unbearable. There are thieves. People still ride horseback through towns. The beautiful beaches described in Condado, Pinones, and Loiza exist. One can still pull a lobster off the reef. Vieques exists and is still charming, irrespective of the military presence. Tourism is booming. Opportunity is plentiful. There are direct flights to New York. Good tennis exists. The coffee is great. The food is excellent. There are Steel bands and festivals in the street. Rum is cheap and it flows. La Princessa is gone. There is a bridge over the Loiza river. Thompson¿s book made me remember so many things. Every page took me on a journey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2000

    Hunter S. Thompson does it again

    This is by far one of the most interesting and fun books I have ever read. This book is perefect if your just loking for a fun time. The book is very easy reading and is just plain fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2