Customer Reviews for

Ruminations on College Life

Average Rating 5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2005

    Very funny book

    This book is hilarious, fun and right on!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2004

    THE BEST!!!

    I absolutly loved this book! It was a fast paced and hilarious. I read it on the plane to visit a friend who was in a Fraternity that I would be staying with (the in Fraternity). Everything that Aaron Karo said about College Life and Fraternity Life was correct, from what I saw at least. I couldnt wait to get home and subscribe to his email Ruminations newsletter. I would reccoment this book to any High Schooler, College Student, or recently Graduated person.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2003

    Karo is going places buddy

    Karo's book is absolutely hilarious. His ideas about college are right on the money, absolutely the best read I've had in awhile

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2002

    Ruminations on College Life

    It is absolutely ridiculous how much I can relate...and how funny, yet true his writings are! It really makes me want to relive college life...enjoy it if your there now...I miss it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2002

    Ruminations on College Life

    My God...this book is great! I can't wait to read Twentysomething...especially since, sadly enough, my college life now consists of pictures and memories...ahhh, so many crazy memories...College was definately a splendid experience that Karo did an amazing job at putting into words...great book...read it...you'll laugh and be thankful you picked it up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2002

    Hillarious

    This is a perfect substitute for a "bathroom reader"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2002

    Buy this book

    I've been subscribing to Ruminations since it's first year of inception (as a senior in high school through now, my first year out of undergrad and in the working world) so even though I remembered almost all of the material, the book was still worth my while. I keep it in my bag and read it on the El during my commute and it's still funny after like the 50th time. Buy this book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2002

    BEST BOOK EVER

    Aaron Karo's book, gives the funniest, and thruthful facts about college life. I picked it up and didn't put it down until the last page. This book should be a required reading for all college students (what ever major they do or do not declare). Rock on Aaron. Can't wait for your next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2002

    Hysterical, down-to-earth, and fantastic!

    Aaron Karo definitely couldn't have been more honest in this comical account. As an alumni of Villanova University not much older than Aaron, I can definitely relate to everything he mentions in the book. Our parents send us to college so we can make something of ourselves, but while we're there, we definitely can't ignore all the possibilities to laugh, joke, go crazy, take easy classes, explore the opposite sex, rush for Greek life, and have fun, fun, fun! Aaron definitely knows what it's all about and doesn't leave out a thing. Read this not just so you can know what really goes on at college (or to remind yourself if you're already out) but also so you can laugh your head off! I wish this young man all the best of luck in his future!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2002

    College Jon Stewart

    No Doubt Aaron Karo is the Jon Stewart of College and earlier twenties life. Cheers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2002

    Ruminations sets the record straight

    Amazing, one of the best books I've read thus far. Ruminations depicts the life of a college student without sugar coating it. It brings to light every situation that college students take for granted on a daily basis. Simply a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2002

    I LOVE THIS BOOK AARON!!! GREAT JOB

    Aaron congrats on this great book!!! This is one of the best books i have ever read anyone that has a chance to pick it up u will not want to put it down. Funny as hell!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2002

    What every college kid should know - or already knows!

    This book (transformed from an email column written all through Karo's college career) brilliantly captures the life of every college student. Any reader - whether they are currently in college, going to college, or graduated 10 years ago - will find themselves laughing out loud at all of the little intricacies Karo catches about college life. A must read for the incoming freshman or anyone who wants to live vicariously through the pages!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2002

    Amazing!!!!!

    The book was so good, Reading it i can totally picture me and my friends in so many if those situations. People watched me lauging and wondered what i was reading!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2002

    Funniest Book Ever!

    I have been a long time fan of Ruminations, and the book is a fabulous culmination of years filled with laughter! If all of his stories are true, the author sounds like quite a stud....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2002

    A hilarious look at college life

    'Ruminations on College Life' is absolutely hilarious. Whether or not you¿ve experienced college life, Aaron Karo¿s book is a must read for anyone who likes to laugh ¿ out loud and often. Despite the title, 'Ruminations' extends beyond college life and covers topics everyone will experience at some point in their life. Karo acknowledges the absurdity in life¿s ordinary everyday minutiae with nonchalant sarcasm and adeptly describes outlandish yet completely plausible college life stories that all college students and alums should truly appreciate. Aaron¿s book could be the diary of any college student, describing common college situations, but it¿s Karo¿s conversant, sarcastic and sometimes subtle attitude and writing style that allows readers to understand and relate to his experiences as if it were their own. The end product is a book not just about professors, sororities, and drinking, it¿s also about social interaction and personal inconvenience, and how college life seems to produce a anthology of experiences and embarrassing moments we either strive to remember or tend not to admit. The book has wide-ranging appeal...it¿s a cautionary account for parents, demystifying resource for future freshmen, insightful journal for current students, and a reminder to alumni of four unusual and bizarre years called college.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2002

    A Must For Anyone Going to College, Anyone In College, or College Graduates

    As an avid reader of the Ruminations website it was so great to see the 'best of' compiled into one of the funniest books I've ever read. Karo is witty, insightful and really tells it like it is. Any college student should be able to completely relate to most of the stories in here. From drinking stories to the crazy and sometimes embarassing things that can happen in class...Karo puts a most amusing spin on the college experience. It's the most fun I've had reading in a long time. After all, he said it himself, 'college is a joke!'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2002

    Lots of laughs

    I was a lonely freshman at Princeton when one of Aaron Karo's e-mails hit my inbox...and I found myself laughing like crazy, and, well, my first week at Princeton stopped being so sad. I've looked forward to each additional e-mail, and the book is truly hilarious, and, oddly enough, at times inspirational. It's really an awesome book, even though the author did go to Penn...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2002

    Guaranteed Laughs

    If you know anyone who is going to college, is currently in college, or ever went to college this book is the PERFECT gift. It is a 100% accurate portrayal of college life and is guaranteed to please. You will find yourself lauging out loud after every page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2002

    The Best and Most Real College Book Ever!!

    This book is an instant classic and should be read by all those who are in college, were in college and will be attending college. It is a top-notch and very real description of what to expect, the characters you will meet and the roller coaster ride of emotions that every college student has or will experience. In fact, the book transcends college, and everyone who has ever had funny friends and done crazy things can relate to Karo's intelligent antecdotes and hysterical ruminations. A must read for all!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2