Customer Reviews for

Rumor Has It

Average Rating 4
( 471 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(169)

4 Star

(182)

3 Star

(81)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

An enjoyable read

I was intrigued when I read the blurb about RUMOR HAS IT.

Newly single Tilly Cole impulsively moves to a small town, only to find she's arrived in a hotbed of gossip, intrigue, and rampant rivalry for the most desirable man-Jack Lucas, whose reputation is beyond bad....
I was intrigued when I read the blurb about RUMOR HAS IT.

Newly single Tilly Cole impulsively moves to a small town, only to find she's arrived in a hotbed of gossip, intrigue, and rampant rivalry for the most desirable man-Jack Lucas, whose reputation is beyond bad. Tilly has no intention of becoming another notch on his bedpost. But she finds the thoughtful, caring guy she comes to value as a friend doesn't seem to fit the town's playboy image. Should she listen to her friends or her heart? Is Tilly being mature and sensible-or running away from the love of her life?

After reading the book, I don't think the blurb really does the book complete justice. Don't get me wrong, it's a good blurb and gets your attention. However, there is so much more going on with the other characters that's not mentioned.

There are several basic storylines happening at the same time. Author Jill Mansell has a unique way of intertwining all the storylines so they flow smoothly from one to the next and back again naturally.

Besides the fascinating story of Till and her attraction to the town's Casanova, Jack; you have her best friend Erin, who owns a consignment dress shop. Erin falls for Fergus, who is estranged from Stella. Their story is funny, outrageous, sweet and touching. To have Erin's grace would be amazing.

Next you have Tilly's new box, Max, and his 13-year-old daughter, Lou. Max owns an interior design company and is gay. Lou is a typical teenager with moments of grownup wisdom.

Also in the mix is Max's ex-wife, Kaye, a Hollywood actress. Kaye finds herself in a wee bit of trouble in the states, returns to Roxborough and soon has the attention of a "stalker" from New York.

All of this may sound a little confusing, but not to worry. RUMOR HAS IT is a delightful read from the opening line until the last word with no confusing bumps along the way.

If you enjoy YOU'VE GOT MAIL or SLEEPLESS IN SEATTLE, you don't want to miss this book. It will have you laughing out loud, shaking your head in disbelief, stunned at some of the outrageous behavior, and even shedding a tear or two of joy and sorrow. This may be a chick-lit book, but I think male readers will enjoy it too. They just may not tell anyone they've read it.

As for the central figure, Tilly. She's a wonderful character. She has the normal faults and concerns we all have. She does, however, find herself in some unusual circumstances from time to time.

When you need a relaxing, fun book to help you unwind and have a laugh or two, reach for RUMOR HAS IT. You won't go wrong.

posted by MasonCanyon on May 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Light read

Very English, you can guess the meaning of some of the words but a good story that wraps up quickly at the end. Really should have been 100 pages longer.

posted by 12784474 on February 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 169 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    An enjoyable read

    I was intrigued when I read the blurb about RUMOR HAS IT.

    Newly single Tilly Cole impulsively moves to a small town, only to find she's arrived in a hotbed of gossip, intrigue, and rampant rivalry for the most desirable man-Jack Lucas, whose reputation is beyond bad. Tilly has no intention of becoming another notch on his bedpost. But she finds the thoughtful, caring guy she comes to value as a friend doesn't seem to fit the town's playboy image. Should she listen to her friends or her heart? Is Tilly being mature and sensible-or running away from the love of her life?

    After reading the book, I don't think the blurb really does the book complete justice. Don't get me wrong, it's a good blurb and gets your attention. However, there is so much more going on with the other characters that's not mentioned.

    There are several basic storylines happening at the same time. Author Jill Mansell has a unique way of intertwining all the storylines so they flow smoothly from one to the next and back again naturally.

    Besides the fascinating story of Till and her attraction to the town's Casanova, Jack; you have her best friend Erin, who owns a consignment dress shop. Erin falls for Fergus, who is estranged from Stella. Their story is funny, outrageous, sweet and touching. To have Erin's grace would be amazing.

    Next you have Tilly's new box, Max, and his 13-year-old daughter, Lou. Max owns an interior design company and is gay. Lou is a typical teenager with moments of grownup wisdom.

    Also in the mix is Max's ex-wife, Kaye, a Hollywood actress. Kaye finds herself in a wee bit of trouble in the states, returns to Roxborough and soon has the attention of a "stalker" from New York.

    All of this may sound a little confusing, but not to worry. RUMOR HAS IT is a delightful read from the opening line until the last word with no confusing bumps along the way.

    If you enjoy YOU'VE GOT MAIL or SLEEPLESS IN SEATTLE, you don't want to miss this book. It will have you laughing out loud, shaking your head in disbelief, stunned at some of the outrageous behavior, and even shedding a tear or two of joy and sorrow. This may be a chick-lit book, but I think male readers will enjoy it too. They just may not tell anyone they've read it.

    As for the central figure, Tilly. She's a wonderful character. She has the normal faults and concerns we all have. She does, however, find herself in some unusual circumstances from time to time.

    When you need a relaxing, fun book to help you unwind and have a laugh or two, reach for RUMOR HAS IT. You won't go wrong.

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    love it

    This is a great book. Breathtaking. Beautiful. Recommend it!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    LOVE IT

    This was a great great read. The writing is beautiful, the story wonderful. I can't wait for the next book to come out.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    British chick lit at it's best!! Mansell is not one to miss!

    I became a huge Mansell fan by accident. Actually, i saw the cover for one of her books about a year ago and decided to buy it because of two reasons: one -- i was a fanatical british chick lit reader and, two -- I thought the cover was pretty. I'm not even joking.

    Luckily enough, the pretty cover matched the story inside! I immediately started researching other novels written by Mansell. Then i had read a review about this novel and just judging from the back cover i could NOT WAIT to get my hands on a copy. I was even researching if i would be able to have one sent to me overseas!

    I decided to wait it out the grueling 6 or 7 months to FINALLY get this book. and let me tell you... good things come to those who wait!!!

    Meet Tilly Cole and her lovely group of friends. Of course she notices Jack Lucas -- everyone in town certainly has. But with fair warning from her friends, she keeps in mind that Jack has a bedpost with one too many notches on it. So, naturally she keeps her guard up, at least she tries to but not without difficulty.

    Jack is just so amazingly charming and sweet that I wish wish wisssshhhh that he were a real person! The cast of characters were certainly something. Lou and Max were some of my favorite. However, compared to past Mansell novels i've read, i just wasn't as caught up in the subplots in this one compared to Miranda's big mistake. Or maybe it was just because i was so into Jack and Tilly that i got annoyed when she strayed off of their storyline.

    All things in mind though, this is definitely a novel i think you should read, especially if you're a fan of British chick-lit! It definitely had it's funny moments and touching scenes. Mansell's writing is flowing and easy to read. It epitomizes everything i love and adore about british culture just from my love of brit chick-lit. I devoured this book in a day and a half. And I'll probably sit and read it again some time in the near future.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    Not my Favorite-but still a good read

    Of the four Mansell books I've read this was my least favorite but it was still an enjoyable read. My biggest problem with any of her books is how fast they go by.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Lovely book

    Funny, entertaining and engaging

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Great Characters

    Liked the book cover, so decided to try this book. I recently traveled this part of England and really enjoyed reading a modern story about village life. I especially enjoyed how the author develops her characters. I really felt like I knew them personally. By the end of the story, I was sad to leave the village of Roxborough. Luckily, Jill Mansell has more villages to discover! Can't wait to read more of her books!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Just fantastic!

    This book is one of the best books i have ever read, i recommended it for teens and up. Its filled with romance ahd adventure and its just amazing. Bravo!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    I love this story!!!

    I absolutely loved this book! I have been looking for a good chic lit novel and was failing until coming across Jill Mansell. I have read the ending to this book a half a dozen times now. It has love and tragedy and surprises around every corner that i could not have predicted. I want to immediately reread it but instead will read more of her books in hopes that i can forget the details and be joyfully surprised all over again!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Cute story.

    Jill Mansell is an interesting writer. All her books are a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    laugh out loud

    loved this book! It was laugh out loud funny. cant seem to find many of them!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2012

    Smart, fun, read! Recommended!

    This is the first Jill Mansell book I have read. It was really smartly written. I like that the characters have class and personality. They do not just jump into bed with people and everything turns up roses and wedding bells like in other romance novels. Her characters are smart, funny, and have great hearts. They also have self respect. I was highly impressed by this author. I have started on another of her books and will continue to her novels. This book was a great find.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2012

    Recommended highly!!

    I loved this book! It was wonderful! Very exciting, I didn't want to put it down. This is the third book I have read by this author and I loved it. Found Author by accident when Barnes and Noble offered one of her books as book of the day, and bought two others by her and love the way she writes. Read this book, you will enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Great read

    Great read. I can't wait to read more by Ms Mansell.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2012

    I loved this story. It was somewhat predictable but still a wond

    I loved this story. It was somewhat predictable but still a wonderful read. I'm an American and had to stop a couple of times to understand a word. But it was great. I love this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Absolutely terrific!

    I am never disappointed in books! Great story and characters!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Love this author

    And this book was no disappointment. Enjoyable characters. Imteresting plot twists to make staying in on a lazy Saturday the perfect way to spend an afternoon. Ready for the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    Love

    Love love love

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Fun read

    I love these characters! Good feeling book you want to finish but prolong the enjoyment. Will def check out authors other books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 169 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9