Customer Reviews for

Rumors (Luxe Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 378 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(181)

4 Star

(125)

3 Star

(50)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by The Story Siren for TeensReadToo.com

The mysterious death of Elizabeth Holland still hangs onto the hearts of those whom she was close to. Her fiancé remembers the look she gave him the last time their eyes met and it continues to haunt him. Only Diana Holland and Penelope Hayes know the truth behind Eliza...
The mysterious death of Elizabeth Holland still hangs onto the hearts of those whom she was close to. Her fiancé remembers the look she gave him the last time their eyes met and it continues to haunt him. Only Diana Holland and Penelope Hayes know the truth behind Elizabeth's death. That she didn't in fact perish, but fled New York to follow her one true love, Will Keller.

Penelope has her heart set on claiming everything that Elizabeth left behind, including her fiancé, Henry Schoonmaker. Henry, however, is even more aware of his feelings for the younger Holland sister, Diana.

Lina Broud, the Holland's former maid, continues to rise into society as she had often dreamed. Box seats at the Opera and lavish parties are now her reality. She also continues to be a cause of trouble for the Holland sisters, with the help of Penelope Hayes.

When Elizabeth receives word that her mother is ill and that the family is in financial disarray, she knows that she must return to New York. Even if it means revealing the scandalous nature of her true disappearance. Elizabeth never could have imagined what events would unfold next.

RUMORS was an entertaining and captivating sequel to THE LUXE. If possible, it may be even better than its predecessor! Godbersen continues to impress me with her writing and flair for the dramatic. Although I initially started reading this book for its historical fiction aspect, I couldn't help but become engrossed in all components of the story!

Diana continues her reign as my favorite character. I admire her strength and compassion. Penelope, unfortunately, continues to be her evil, conniving self, and I only hope that she gets what she deserves in the end. I have come to know and care for these characters and I was very surprised and shocked by the ending! I have to say I was a little disappointed at first and thought that certain aspects were unnecessary, but not every book can have a happy ending.

I have faith in Godbersen's creative mind and I can't wait to see what she has devised next. I will eagerly be waiting for the release of ENVY.

posted by TeensReadToo on November 14, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Yuck

I really hated this book.

posted by Cup_of_doom on November 2, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Angieville: RUMORS

    Well, everyone's in love with the one person they can't have and no one seems to be able to communicate their woe to anyone who could help. Must be Tuesday in Luxeland. RUMORS is the second volume in the Luxe series and, as the deep red dress and haughty gaze of the cover model suggest, things are just getting worse and worse for our crew of Manhattan debutantes/bachelors/scheming underlings. I checked this copy out from the library and the girl at the checkout desk smiled knowingly and said, "I liked this one." I smiled and said, "I just finished THE LUXE." Her grin got bigger. "I liked this one much better," she said. So. There you go. I was beginning to get the impression that lovers of THE LUXE fell into two categories: even bigger lovers or big time haters of RUMORS. I was interested to see which category I fell into (if any).<BR/><BR/>So everyone thinks Elizabeth Holland is dead. And pretty soon (oh, let's go ahead and say it) shockingly soon, everyone thinks Henry Schoonmaker should just say enough with the mourning and go ahead and marry Penelope Hayes since it is clear they were Meant To Be. What with the being rich and hot and whatnot. But then Elizabeth Holland is not actually dead, is she? And Henry is not actually in love with Penelope, is he? Meanwhile, Lina is masquerading about as a mining heiress from Utah (LOL), Penelope is advancing on Henry like a post-coital black widow, and the weight of the world rests squarely on Diana's little shoulders as she is the one who is now expected to make a most advantageous marriage to save the family name. Just not the advantageous marriage she'd like to make.<BR/><BR/>I liked this one. Liked it just as much as the first one, in fact. I continue to enjoy Diana and Henry and what's going on there. I continue to hate Penelope unreservedly and feel almost unbearably embarrassed for Lina around the clock. Although I do wonder about Tristan. As I was never a fan of the whole Elizabeth and Will thing, I was perfectly happy to have them off screen (for the most part). And I have to say, I really liked the ending. I mean it was exactly the awful thing you were expecting down to the last dewy glance. In slow motion. But then the last page was just so awesome and fierce in its way, that I'm really looking forward to reading ENVY and consuming another volume of decadent treats on display.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Wish had ended differntly

    Shocking and depressing at end, if you cry easily i wouldnt read this unless you have a tissue box at hand. And right when i thought everything was going to be ok for everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2011

    Low point for the series (From the Tealeaf Review)

    So I'm really having a love/hate relationship with this series right now. Maybe it was the lack of sleep and the fact that it was 2 am when I finished it, but as soon as I turned the last page, I had the deepest urge to just rip the book to shreds and throw it in the garbage. But, it's a library copy, so I can't. I cried instead. But let's start with the positive. Anna Godbersen really knows how to write a prologue that hooks you, but is so vague it's almost maddening. I get sucked right back in, and there's no stopping it. I stay up way later than I should reading these books. The flow is perfect, and it's sososo hard to put them down! Not to mention all the lovely descriptions of all the dresses. I would want to see these made into movies just for the costumes. Follow the jump for more character-specific details! When I started reading this, I felt like I'd actually missed seeing into all these peoples lives. Hands down, Diana is my favorite character. She's so sweet and romantic and vivacious it's hard not to like her. When she's rejected, my heart breaks. When she's happy, I'm absolutely elated. Henry with Diana is magical, and I made girly squeaky sounds whenever they interacted. I swear, these books make me act like a ditzy, girly idiot. And on my god, am I jealous of their little romantic scene! Bottle of wine, bearskin rug, and glowing embers in the fireplace? Totes perfection! And Henry is just as sad and charming as before. Penelope is evil, but in an understandable way. I don't like her, but I know where's she's coming from. She's a very good antagonist. And Lina. Where do I even begin? In book one I hated her, in book two I loathed her. Her chapters are actually really hard for me to get through, and that's one of the reasons I'm rating this one lower than the first book. I just can't stand her! She ruins practically everything. When she falls, she better fall hard. She deserves it. (Can you tell I'm still rage-y right now?) I don't even want to touch on the subject of Elizabeth. While she's not my absolute favorite, she's a close second, especially when she's with Will. I thought the ending was incredibly unfair, and it's another reason this one rates lower. To me, there was no redeeming factor for anyone. Everyone reaches a peak, and then just plummets. No one ends up happy, except maybe Lina, who I'd like to just punch in the face. Will I continue with the series, even though I'm so disappointed with how everything turned out in this one? Sure. But book three better have something redeeming in it, or I may just have to quit the series out of frustration. Someone should put a warning label on these books that nothing turns out good, and no one ends up happy. I thought the fact that there was no redemption for anyone was annoying - it left the book on such a low note, I almost thought about not continuing. However, it was really good until maybe the last forty pages. Worth a read if you're trying to go through the whole series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    And I'm Done with the Series

    I knew what I was getting into with Rumors after having read Luxe but this book proved too vapid even for me. (This is saying something considering I was looking to read something light; this was the Diet Coke of light reading) Again, for the Gossip Girl lover, you might find some entertainment value here but all you're really doing is picturing Chase Crawford in a top hat and Leighton Meester asphyxiating herself with a corset.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Tween Book Reader

    I like to read my daughter's Gossip and It girl series bookes. This is a little bit harder to read but I think its great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not the best, or the worst.

    Not something I could reread, but, I became very close with a few of the characters,almost brought me to tears, the death of Elizabeth Holland, who is truly missed by loved ones. The title says it all : Rumors. Scandalous Gossip, A good Read. Not my favortie book of this series. Still I enjoyed it . I look forward to the next book ; Envy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Insightful

    This book takes you back to a time where celebrities were the rich. Where lavish balls were thrown and appearances were normally not what they seemed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Details

    This book had a great details but was a slow reader. Still a good book to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Better

    I didn't like the first one. But hey, it was Christmas and my dad took me to the bookstore and offered to buy any books I wanted, so I picked this one up and was like "why not?". It was better than the first one at any rate, maybe she will finally have hit the mark on the next one. It was compusively readable, and there were points where I couldn't put it down. I still find this novel lacking depth, but it's getting there. I must say the end of the book was such a surprise, even though I thought it was sad, I have to give the author props. I'm actually anticipating the next novel in the series (Envy?).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2008

    Not so Satisfied! Waste of Time!

    So I read about half of this book and it was so so so so boring. The first book, the Luxe, was really good. This one was terribly boring. I am not going to finish Rumours and definietly am stopping the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3