Customer Reviews for

Rumors (Luxe Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 378 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(181)

4 Star

(125)

3 Star

(50)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by The Story Siren for TeensReadToo.com

The mysterious death of Elizabeth Holland still hangs onto the hearts of those whom she was close to. Her fiancé remembers the look she gave him the last time their eyes met and it continues to haunt him. Only Diana Holland and Penelope Hayes know the truth behind Eliza...
The mysterious death of Elizabeth Holland still hangs onto the hearts of those whom she was close to. Her fiancé remembers the look she gave him the last time their eyes met and it continues to haunt him. Only Diana Holland and Penelope Hayes know the truth behind Elizabeth's death. That she didn't in fact perish, but fled New York to follow her one true love, Will Keller.

Penelope has her heart set on claiming everything that Elizabeth left behind, including her fiancé, Henry Schoonmaker. Henry, however, is even more aware of his feelings for the younger Holland sister, Diana.

Lina Broud, the Holland's former maid, continues to rise into society as she had often dreamed. Box seats at the Opera and lavish parties are now her reality. She also continues to be a cause of trouble for the Holland sisters, with the help of Penelope Hayes.

When Elizabeth receives word that her mother is ill and that the family is in financial disarray, she knows that she must return to New York. Even if it means revealing the scandalous nature of her true disappearance. Elizabeth never could have imagined what events would unfold next.

RUMORS was an entertaining and captivating sequel to THE LUXE. If possible, it may be even better than its predecessor! Godbersen continues to impress me with her writing and flair for the dramatic. Although I initially started reading this book for its historical fiction aspect, I couldn't help but become engrossed in all components of the story!

Diana continues her reign as my favorite character. I admire her strength and compassion. Penelope, unfortunately, continues to be her evil, conniving self, and I only hope that she gets what she deserves in the end. I have come to know and care for these characters and I was very surprised and shocked by the ending! I have to say I was a little disappointed at first and thought that certain aspects were unnecessary, but not every book can have a happy ending.

I have faith in Godbersen's creative mind and I can't wait to see what she has devised next. I will eagerly be waiting for the release of ENVY.

posted by TeensReadToo on November 14, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Yuck

I really hated this book.

posted by Cup_of_doom on November 2, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 125 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted November 14, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by The Story Siren for TeensReadToo.com

    The mysterious death of Elizabeth Holland still hangs onto the hearts of those whom she was close to. Her fiancé remembers the look she gave him the last time their eyes met and it continues to haunt him. Only Diana Holland and Penelope Hayes know the truth behind Elizabeth's death. That she didn't in fact perish, but fled New York to follow her one true love, Will Keller. <BR/><BR/>Penelope has her heart set on claiming everything that Elizabeth left behind, including her fiancé, Henry Schoonmaker. Henry, however, is even more aware of his feelings for the younger Holland sister, Diana. <BR/><BR/>Lina Broud, the Holland's former maid, continues to rise into society as she had often dreamed. Box seats at the Opera and lavish parties are now her reality. She also continues to be a cause of trouble for the Holland sisters, with the help of Penelope Hayes. <BR/><BR/>When Elizabeth receives word that her mother is ill and that the family is in financial disarray, she knows that she must return to New York. Even if it means revealing the scandalous nature of her true disappearance. Elizabeth never could have imagined what events would unfold next. <BR/><BR/>RUMORS was an entertaining and captivating sequel to THE LUXE. If possible, it may be even better than its predecessor! Godbersen continues to impress me with her writing and flair for the dramatic. Although I initially started reading this book for its historical fiction aspect, I couldn't help but become engrossed in all components of the story! <BR/><BR/>Diana continues her reign as my favorite character. I admire her strength and compassion. Penelope, unfortunately, continues to be her evil, conniving self, and I only hope that she gets what she deserves in the end. I have come to know and care for these characters and I was very surprised and shocked by the ending! I have to say I was a little disappointed at first and thought that certain aspects were unnecessary, but not every book can have a happy ending. <BR/><BR/>I have faith in Godbersen's creative mind and I can't wait to see what she has devised next. I will eagerly be waiting for the release of ENVY.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome!

    I couldn't put rumors down! Rumors was so much better than luxe. this whole series is petty good. it makes you keep guessing then makes a huge twist

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    OMG!!

    i just read the book, and overall i like the book. I don't know why i didn't pick up this book earlier and i always see this book right in front of me but idk. Penelope is such a witch, i can't think of anyone to be so evil and exhausting just reading whats going through this characters mind. I feel so sorry for Diana and Elizabeth, the way it had end in this book for them. Lina, i don't know what to think about her, i somewhat feel bad for her and i get how shes trying to fit in with the high class crowd but i also think its so wrong for her to sell out the Hollands of all their secrets, when she has one of her own. Although i like how detailed the author is to make the scenes of the book suck you in and like your right their watching every move these characters make. Oh yah i love the covers of the books its very eyes catching and gorgeous!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    Enticing...

    This series of books are very entertaining and are hard to put down. I read this particular book in an entire day. I love the detail the author uses that paints a picture of 19th century America. I love these novels although i must say the only characters I am hoping come out on top are Diana and Henry. Elizabeth was unconventionally mean to Lina and Lina has just taken things way too far. Penelope sucks...point, blank, period. But I must say i was so sad because of what happened to Will and I found it odd how easily Lina got over it. Hmmmmm juicy stuff! Cant wait to find out what happens next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2012

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great series based in America 1900!!

    This series really suprised me on how easily it drew me into their world. Set in the early 1900's, you get a feel for how select groups of people lived their lives. Full of love, deceit, betrayal, happiness- these books take you on a roller coaster full of emotions! Fairly easy read but really entraps you in this world that is so different yet so similar to our society today!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Pretty good.

    The first one is better but this book is still pretty good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Meh. Not too shabby!

    Well, I bought this and the first one hoping for a Pride and Prejudicesque read. Not what I was expecting. Botg of the books were slow reads. I finally got into this one when Lina was caught by Mr. Something or other. I was actually interested in Lina for once.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    This book was great. ;)

    Okay, i love this book! The luxe series is now a series ibreally look forward to reading... BUT i really hated the ending. :( Still, this is an overall amazing book for drama lovers!!!!!!!! :) :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very good 2nd book

    Liked this one better than the 1st book. In this one, more secrets, more rumors, and more scandaloous drama. A good reading. Recommended for the readers who love high class society.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Anna Godbersen does it again!

    Anna Godsbersen brings us the second book in The Luxe Series and it does not disappoint. The novel starts by treating the reader to a glimpse of a scandal right from the very beginning. The way in which Godsbersen fills in the details of the scandal as the novel unfolds is crafty and it captures the readers attention and holds it to the very end. Lina, Elizabeth's former maid, now known as Carolina Broud and Penelope are shown to have more in common than I would have expected. The pair work towards the same goal, but for very different reasons. We see Carolina claw her way up the social ladder as we see Penelope unwavering in her commitment to secure Henry for herself. Penelope's pursuit is not made easy because of Henry and Diane remaining hopelessly in their forbidden love. Penelope may be even more conniving in Rumors than we had seen her before. On the other side of the country, Elizabeth starts her new life with Will. There are rumors throughout New York's high society that she is still alive. I will leave it to the reader to find out if Elizabeth makes her presence known or if we will have to wait until the nest book in the series. The ending leaves some loose ends that make it necessary to read the third in the series to get fulfilled. Although I found that to me a little disappointing, I was still pleased to find an ending that is such a shocker, the reader will not see it coming. Like The Luxe, I recommend this book to teens through adult.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Surprising end.

    I was going to give this book 3 stars, as I found myself mostly breezing through it. However, the ending is quite surprising and heartbreaking. So now I am confused, it was quite sad that I don't want to continue the series, but it was good enough that I do want to know what happens!
    I think I liked the fluffy moments between Elizabeth and Will and the possibility of Will getting his oil money. I also enjoyed Diana's involvement with Davis. Diana taking charge and care of her family is far more interesting than the shallow Diana from the Luxe book. I enjoyed what moments the couples got in this book, both Will/Elizabeth and Diana/Henry. Also, I'm anticipating an all evil team in the form of Lina and Penelope!
    What I didn't like: I find the character of Lina somewhat boring, at least near the end of this book she realized she does not care about Will as much as she cares about status and pretty things, but before when she didn't admit this she was quite frankly boring and a hypocrite. I assume the reader is not suppose to like either Penelope or Lina and I can safely say that I thoroughly dislike both of them so good writing there.
    There are two sad moments that while made the book far more interesting they managed to scared me away. What happens to Will and what happens between Penelope and Henry.
    I wish I knew if rest of the series is this sad since I am afraid to continue it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2010

    Thrilling!

    Rumors was a very entertaining book. It kept me guessing. I read it right after finishing The Luxe not too long ago, and found that I liked Rumors a lot more than the first book. However, I would have liked it more if it wasn't for the ending, which is why I gave it a 4. I was caught up in all of the romance, and for a moment I thought everybody would turn out victorious; everyone would be happy. Something told me it was too good to be true. Before I knew it I found myself teary eyed. I kept reading through hoping things would get better. It didn't. Evil had triumphed. I am definitely going to read the next book. I so desperately want things to turn out well for the Hollands and for a house to fall on Penelope and her little dog too. I don't like the bitter taste Rumors left in my mouth, and I hope Envy will have a sweeter ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Gossip and scandal equals fun read

    I'm still drawn to the covers of these books. The dresses featured are gorgeous! I rated this 4 stars but I didn't enjoy it quite as much as the first. This seems to be common for me. The second in the series tends to be my least favorite. Still, there's plenty of gossip, scandal, and surprises in this one. I hoping Penelope redeems herself at some point in the series because she's currently winning for biggest witch. I was shocked at the ending. I have Envy in store for next week. I've read in a couple places in its the best in the series so far.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Still a entertaining series

    This is even better than the first book. The plot gets much better. Good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Rumors

    This is a beautifully written book,i just finished it today and i love it,it is a great sequel to the luxe and you definitely need to read the Luxe first.The ending was really,really sad and i have great expectations for Envy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Sequel is better than first

    Even though I really enjoyed the first book in this series I found it pretty predictable. This sequel is better because it is less predictable and the author seems to have polished her writing style. Rumors is a fast and enjoyable read. I would definitely recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2009

    A Little Sad

    I really enjoyed the Luxe series but the ending of this one sort of ruined it for me. The plot with Diana and Henry is pretty unforgettable but what happends to Elizabeth and Will just devastated me and I really looked forward to them having a happy ending. But otherwise the sequel is pretty exciting when it comes to Diana and Henry but I really wanted a happier ending=\

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Depressed.

    Okay, first of all. I love (LOVE!) the Luxe series. I thought Rumors was really good and it had a lot more action than the first. I love the secret romance between Diana and Henry and I love how there were chapters of Elizabeth and Will all the way in California.
    But I'm not going to lie, I kind of lost interest when I found out what happened in the end. I'm not saying that it should be a happy ending, but the end was a shocker. I have not started Envy yet, and usually, I start the next book in a series right away, but I'm still in shock and I teared up (which I never do for a book). I don't know, I read Rumors mainly for the romance of Will and Elizabeth but I guess I just have to cool off and suck it up...

    but in conclusion, I thought it was a great sequel :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2009

    pretty decent...

    I enjoyed the book so far this ones my favorite. The only parts that i had to force myself to read were the ones about Lina. But alltogether it was good, i just hate the ending with Elizabeth and Will it made me cry really hard. =[

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 125 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7