Customer Reviews for

Rump: The True Story of Rumpelstiltskin

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Totally fab!

Totally fab!

posted by 16921292 on April 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not enough new stuff in this story to really keep it interesting

Not enough new stuff in this story to really keep it interesting. However, I really liked the trolls in this book. Red seemed to be a pointless character. Overall, not really impressed.

posted by 224perweek on March 16, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 4 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Title: ┬┐Rump┬┐ Author: Liesl Shurtliff Publication date: 4/9/2013

    Title: “Rump”
    Author: Liesl Shurtliff
    Publication date: 4/9/2013
    Type of book: Young reader fantasy/fairytale.
    Is this a part of a series, If yes, which number? Not part of a series.
    Summary: Rump’s mother dies in childbirth and he never knows the full name that she gave him before she died. He grows up with his grandmother who loves him very much but his life is not an easy one. They are very poor and Rump has to dig for gold in the mines every day just to put a little bit of food on the table. Because he’s small, Rump gets picked on by the other kids in the village on a regular basis. His only friend is Red, a strong no nonsense girl who sticks up for Rump when she can. When Rump finds an old spinning wheel he discovers that he has the ability to spin straw into gold. He thinks that all his problems are solved but he quickly realizes that gifts can become curses in the blink of an eye. 
    Characters: 
    *Rump: He is so sweet and you just feel for him throughout the story. I found him to be a very relatable character. 
    *Red: Spunky and strong. I loved her so much. Plus she is very smart and caring. Rump couldn’t have picked a better friend.
    Favorite bits: 
    *Gold hungry pixies.
    *Rump’s Gran telling him to spin gold in his heart.
    *”A Stiltskin is magic at its greatest. Pure magic, un-meddled-with and more powerful than any enchantment or spell.”
    *Rump’s Gran tells him the story of Snow White. I love when fairytale stories bring other tales into them. I find it really fun.
    *Rump’s aunts Hadel, Balthilda, and Ida are really fun to read about and it’s sweet the way that they care for him.
    *I liked the importance of names in the book.
    *Mard and the other trolls are a wonderful part of this book. They live simple happy lives and they are very smart. They take care of Rump when he needs it the most. 
    *I love that Rump says that meanness is a choice.
    *Overall Rump was a very well written story with a sweet cast of characters. I flew through it and I think that readers will really enjoy this enchanting tale. 
    Problematic bits: I feel like Rump may be a little on the heavy side for some young readers but that is the only issue I had with it. 

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    Ood book

    Great book ybdfgjcfarytgdgfrraaffnvmmnjguv i just wasted
    your time but really good twisy on an old classic

    4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2014

    Arctic p Arctic fox girl

    It was a great book

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2014

    In a story that puts a creative twist on the original Rumblestil

    In a story that puts a creative twist on the original Rumblestiltskin, this book will be sure to delight young readers.  I found the characters interesting from beginning to end.  The problem facing Rump throughout the story leads the reader to instantly like and root for him.  This story will keep you on the edge of your seat wondering what is going to happen to Rump and the other characters in the story.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 4 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1