Customer Reviews for

Rumpelstiltskin

Average Rating 4.5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2008

    Rumpelstitlskin

    This is a wonderful children's book filled with great illustrations. This is a great book for teaching the moral of the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2012

    An Angry Little Man!

    This was a book I loved as a child and I still enjoy reading it to this day. I remember checking it out from my elementary school library. Then to my delight, the show “Reading Rainbow” featured this book with animation and great storytelling which I remember to this day. I’ve read this folktale to my own daughter and now she enjoys this storybook just as much as I did many years ago. How I wished I could actually spin straw into gold! The book cover gives a preview of the amazing oil-painting illustrations contained within, and these beautiful illustrations are complemented by the story retold by Paul Zelinsky. The layout of this book makes it natural for his artwork on some of the pages to overflow into the facing page, almost as if the story itself is overflowing from the book into the realm of our existence. Parents would do anything to prevent harm from coming to their children, and the story of the queen outsmarting the little man known as Rumpelstiltskin makes for a happy ending. This book manages to bring the magical folktale of Rumpelstiltskin to life, and is sure to be a children’s favorite for many years to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Nicely written and well illustrated

    This book is nicely written and well illustrated. It was a too easy for my 9 year old, but he wanted to know the story of Rumpelstiltskin after seeing the character on TV's Once Upon a Time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2008

    This is one of my favorite books

    I love Rumpelstiltskin a lot! Because my grandmother tolled it to a few days and me later I did a play with my cousin about it for my mother and grandmother. And I grew you love it! The story is a little about a millers daughter is ordered to make strew into gold because her father tolled the king she could. And to help her a little she has to trust a little man when she makes big bargains with him to make the gold for her. But when she gets to the third bargains the mills daughter has to save her baby by answering a riddle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2006

    Wonderful Fairytale

    This story never gets old with me. I think that the pictures were very cute.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2003

    Love Fairy Tales

    I bought this book because I love classic fairy tales. It is a wonderful book with great vocabulary words. I strongly recommend this book for children of all ages. They will truly love it. I also used this book for a fourth grade classroom. The children really loved this book they loved these beautiful illustrations that portray what is being said in the text.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2001

    A Confusing Grimm Brothers Tale with Beautiful Illustrations

    This version of Rumpelstiltskin is based on the second edition of the Grimms' work in 1819, with some language from later versions and a few additions by Mr. Zelinsky. All of this is detailed in the author's note at the end of the book. The high points here are the matchless, detailed illustrations that mimic oil paintings in delicate, detailed pastels. These images create a majesty and power that add to the mystery of this most powerful story. This version will leave some unsatisfied for the apparent foolishness of the miller and the needless cruelty of the king. The miller visits the king and brags that his daughter can spin straw into gold. The king sends for her, and bids her to do this overnight, or be killed the following morning. She is locked up with a spinning wheel and straw. She weeps in despair because she has no idea of how to do that . . . until a little man comes in and offers to help. She trades her necklace for his aid, and soon the straw becomes golden bobbins of thread. The king likes this and demands that she do it again the next night. The little man again offers to help. She trades her ring this time for his assistance. The king then comes and says she must do it a third time or die. If she succeeds, he will marry her. With nothing left to pay the little man, she has to agree to his request for her first born child. After the child is born, the little man returns for his reward. She persuades him to give her three days to guess his name. If she succeeds, she does not have to give up her child. A servant follows him into the woods and hears him say, 'Rumpelstiltskin is my name.' The queen 'guesses' correctly and he rides off on a spoon never to be heard from again. This story always bothered me when I was a child. Why were the men all so unreasonable? I still find myself feeling that way 50 years later. I avoided reading this story to my children when they were little. I didn't think it had the redeeming values of most folk talkes. The reason for reading this book is to enjoy the illustrations, so I recommend that you get it for yourself (rather than for your child) if you liked the story as a youngster. If you didn't like the story, even the illustrations won't save it for you. The book won a Caldecott Honor for its illustrations. After you finish reading the book or thinking about the story (if you don't read it), I suggest you consider your own conduct to locate any places where you make promises or say things that create problems for others. Be sure you aren't acting like the miller. Act honorably, and inspire that in others! Donald Mitchell, co-author of The Irresistible Growth Enterprise and The 2,000 Percent Solution

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1