Customer Reviews for

Run

Average Rating 3.5
( 92 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

The story is unique and something you can relate to.

I started reading this book on vacation ( it was at the rental we were staying at). I didn't expect to finish it but found myself totally hooked on the story line and characters. It is rare when I find a writer that can grab me from the start. I found myself thinking of...
I started reading this book on vacation ( it was at the rental we were staying at). I didn't expect to finish it but found myself totally hooked on the story line and characters. It is rare when I find a writer that can grab me from the start. I found myself thinking of the characters long after I had finished the book.

posted by 1602166 on August 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Not Ann Patchett's best work

I am a huge fan of Ann Patchett. I absolutely hold Bel Canto up as one of my favorite books. In that work, she wove together so many characters and such a complex plot that it was breathtaking. I also have read her non-fiction work, Truth and Beauty about her friendshi...
I am a huge fan of Ann Patchett. I absolutely hold Bel Canto up as one of my favorite books. In that work, she wove together so many characters and such a complex plot that it was breathtaking. I also have read her non-fiction work, Truth and Beauty about her friendship with another writer. That was personal and intense. I thought Run was a light read and an OK story, but not as rich as her other work.

posted by Anonymous on September 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 92 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Posted September 29, 2009

    Would not recommend.

    The plot is very weak. The Ivy League family in this story is not realistic here. Patchet should have focused more on Sullivan and his relationship with his father, that would have been more realistic in an Ivy League family where the only blood son is a great disappointment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2009

    easy reading with poor character development

    Suspension of disbelief is required. The characters are all "outstanding" and consequently not believable. The writing is clear. The story is satisfying.

    The problem is characters that are the best and brightest, i.e. casually outstanding ivy league students, fastest runners ever, immediately successful politician, perfectly redeemed miscreant and single parent father who behaves with motherly love. Come on! These characters were so perfect, success was available as soon as they allowed it to happen.

    We all have a spectrum of characteristics. Unless we are from Lake Wobegone, we are not all above average. For instance, Richard Price creates believable characters and I love Jane Smiley's characters in "Liddie Newton." Steinbeck's East of Eden is filled with "normal" people.

    Bizarre characters are fun. Cormac McCarthy develops them remarkably.

    So...believable is good and bizarre is good. The best, the brightest, the strongest, the fastest, the most beautiful etc...not so much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    OK, But Not Ann Patchett's Best

    I really enjoyed Bel Canto, so I may have been expecting too much. The story was OK. It was simply hard to believe that this plot would actually happen... too much coincidence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2009

    A book of family and choices

    I enjoyed this book about biological and adopted children. I enjoyed learning how those children made life choices. I enjoyed learning about a mother's decision to give up her children for adoption and the life she made as a result of that decision. I anjoy the author's writing style and have enjoyed several of her other books including Patron Saint of Liars and Bel Canto. I look forward to more of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2009

    Run by Ann Patchett

    I feel this is one of those books that you walk away from feeling the world is a better place. Awesome book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2008

    Awful

    This book is an incredibly disappointing. It reads like it was written by a middle school student. The story was so contrived.Save your money! AND it isn't worth checking out from the library.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2008

    contrived for soap opera

    what a disappointment. I felt like I was reading a feel good adolescent novel.The only thing missing was a fluffy family pet. Twenty four hours seemed liked 24 months.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2007

    Enthralling

    This is Ann Patchett at her best. The characters are engaging, and the reader is drawn into their lives immediately. A truly wonderful writer, Patchett's novels are treasures and always leave you sorry they end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2007

    What a Story!

    I love The story the Characters and the way they related to each other.I laughed and cried. Itwas a Joy to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 92 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5