Customer Reviews for

Run

Average Rating 3.5
( 91 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

The story is unique and something you can relate to.

I started reading this book on vacation ( it was at the rental we were staying at). I didn't expect to finish it but found myself totally hooked on the story line and characters. It is rare when I find a writer that can grab me from the start. I found myself thinking of...
I started reading this book on vacation ( it was at the rental we were staying at). I didn't expect to finish it but found myself totally hooked on the story line and characters. It is rare when I find a writer that can grab me from the start. I found myself thinking of the characters long after I had finished the book.

posted by 1602166 on August 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not Ann Patchett's best work

I am a huge fan of Ann Patchett. I absolutely hold Bel Canto up as one of my favorite books. In that work, she wove together so many characters and such a complex plot that it was breathtaking. I also have read her non-fiction work, Truth and Beauty about her friendshi...
I am a huge fan of Ann Patchett. I absolutely hold Bel Canto up as one of my favorite books. In that work, she wove together so many characters and such a complex plot that it was breathtaking. I also have read her non-fiction work, Truth and Beauty about her friendship with another writer. That was personal and intense. I thought Run was a light read and an OK story, but not as rich as her other work.

posted by Anonymous on September 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    The story is unique and something you can relate to.

    I started reading this book on vacation ( it was at the rental we were staying at). I didn't expect to finish it but found myself totally hooked on the story line and characters. It is rare when I find a writer that can grab me from the start. I found myself thinking of the characters long after I had finished the book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    good story, but

    While the story is original with a twist or two (and one crucial piece of information that is revealed to the reader, but not to the characters), the writing is simple, prosaic even. Did the same author write both Run and Bel Canto? It hardly seems possible. Yet to its credit the "easy read" of Run makes it accessible to a casual teen reader as well as to adults and offers fodder for many supper conversations--race relations, adoption, father-son/mother-daughter relations, secrets, life choices, career determination, college work, mentoring, sports, and more. Despite the conventionality of the writing style, I recommend it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A small story with big emotional range...

    Run has the cold, dark atmosphere of winter in Boston, and as such the setting reminded me of Benjamin Black's Christine Falls. All but one chapter of Run takes place in a short time frame (24 hours), and I would argue, is more successful in creating a tension and bringing it to resolution.

    The characterizations are interesting: young black men, adopted sons of the former mayor of Boston who is a white man, find their birth mother accidentally. The sons' voices are true to their upbringing. One can completely forget their black skins because their voices and sensibilities are wealthy white. The birth mother is raising a young girl, whose voice also seems unique and true. This group interacts in tentative, revealing ways as tragedy befalls them.

    Run is an intimate novel resonant with emotional depth. If the novel feels "small" because of the short time frame, it also feels alive and precious, like a jewel in the hand. If one were to turn the story over in one's mind and hold it to the light, it might just refract and split with all the colors of a prism.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2009

    Run to read

    Run is a very engaging and entertaining read. I found it more compelling a read than Bel Canto, and loved the unusual plot and its turns of events. The title is a good metaphor for many elements of the story, and the inclusion of real time folks in a fictional story make it even more fun to read. Patchett creates a cast of characters you like and want to find happiness and fulfillment. I really liked it and read it quickly which is my late life barometer of a good read. It is a satisfying, neatly wrapped up story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Maybe not her best work, which for me is State of Wonder, but I

    Maybe not her best work, which for me is State of Wonder, but I have not been disappointed by writing in the four novels of hers that I've read so far. An interesting look at what it means to be a family thru the eyes of all the family members. Could it have been better? Probably, but it was in no way a badly written story. Ms. Patchett definitely has a way with words and can paint portraits of characters as well as anyone.

    I think it's worth the time to read, and would recommend it and any of her works. She is my new favorite author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2013

    Well written with good plot and good character development.  Pla

    Well written with good plot and good character development.  Plan to read more by this author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good, but not great.

    I began reading this book with high expectations, and I was a little disappointed. It was a nice story, but I didn't feel like I wanted to keep on reading. When I get a book, I want to be exited when I find time to read it. But with this one, I wasn't that thrilled. It's a nice story though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2009

    Run by Ann Patchett

    Run by Ann Patchett takes place over a twenty-four hour period. Patchett grabs readers right at the beginning by starting the story at the end of a very important event, Bernadette Doyle's death. With the first line, "Bernadette had been dead two weeks when her sisters showed up in Doyle's living room asking for the statue back." Patchett starts the story right away drawing in readers from the very first sentence.
    Patchett continues with a story of a statue of the Virgin Mary that has been passed down through Bernadette's family. Each generation, the statue is given to one daughter. Bernadette had been the one in her generation to receive it. Because of Bernadette's untimely death and her failure to produce any daughters, Bernadette's sisters believed they had a right to the statue. Bernard Doyle, the former mayor of Boston, would not have this. He believed that any one of his and Bernadette's children, including two adoptive African American sons, Tip and Teddy, and biological son Sullivan, had just as much the right to the statue as anyone. Patchett uses the story of the statue to set the scene of the book, laying out the specific details and characters necessary for the storyline to come. After the story of the statue, the plot jumps ahead about fifteen years.
    Every one of the characters in Run is complex with very real emotions. Throughout Patchett's use of third person point of view alternating between characters, readers are able to fully see the extent of each character's personality and emotions. The emotions that Patchett gives her characters are very believable and relatable. Seeing through each of the main character's eyes shows the contrast between the characters; each of the characters is very unique. Teddy is the "friendly", "loving" one of the brothers while Tip is the "smart" one. The third person point-of-view in Run is what allows the story to flow so well.
    Patchett uses imagery throughout Run to draw readers into the setting of the story. The character's emotions in the story are not the only things felt by readers. It is Patchett's use of imagery that makes Run seem so real, whether it be Tip, when he "closed his eyes and felt the snow melting on his tongue," or "the sound of Sullivan calling their names." Patchett does a great job of combining human emotion and imagery to allow readers to experience the book.
    The title of Run depicts the many races that take place in the book both metaphorically and literally, whether it be Tip and Teddy racing to meet their father or Doyle's race to keep all of his children safe. This title also refers to the book's fast pace and the little amount of time that the story takes place in.
    While Run is a fast paced book, the plot never seems rushed. Patchett allows plenty of time for the personalities and relationships of the characters to be known and developed in a very short time. The ties between family are very strong throughout this book. It is within these family ties and that the themes lie. The themes that Patchett is trying to get across become evident as the ties between families are tested and as new ties form. These ties are first tested with an unexpected event during a heavy snow storm.
    After dragging Teddy and Tip to a political event, Doyle was trying to convince them to come to the reception. Tip, a Harvard student, would rather be at his job as an ichthyolygist's assistant...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2007

    What a Story!

    I love The story the Characters and the way they related to each other.I laughed and cried. Itwas a Joy to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2