Customer Reviews for

Run

Average Rating 3.5
( 92 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

The story is unique and something you can relate to.

I started reading this book on vacation ( it was at the rental we were staying at). I didn't expect to finish it but found myself totally hooked on the story line and characters. It is rare when I find a writer that can grab me from the start. I found myself thinking of...
I started reading this book on vacation ( it was at the rental we were staying at). I didn't expect to finish it but found myself totally hooked on the story line and characters. It is rare when I find a writer that can grab me from the start. I found myself thinking of the characters long after I had finished the book.

posted by 1602166 on August 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Not Ann Patchett's best work

I am a huge fan of Ann Patchett. I absolutely hold Bel Canto up as one of my favorite books. In that work, she wove together so many characters and such a complex plot that it was breathtaking. I also have read her non-fiction work, Truth and Beauty about her friendshi...
I am a huge fan of Ann Patchett. I absolutely hold Bel Canto up as one of my favorite books. In that work, she wove together so many characters and such a complex plot that it was breathtaking. I also have read her non-fiction work, Truth and Beauty about her friendship with another writer. That was personal and intense. I thought Run was a light read and an OK story, but not as rich as her other work.

posted by Anonymous on September 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2008

    Run to anything by Ann Patchett!

    A beautiful book! After I read it I gave it to all of my reading friends for Christmas. I am a longtime fan of Ann Patchett. (Bel Canto is gorgeous.) I love that the time frame of Run is 24- hours and yet a rich, wonderful story is told. I would love a book about Sullivan, what an intriguing character.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    Excellent Book

    I've read other books by Ann Patchett but was unprepared for this one. It was very different (and I liked it more) than her others.

    The story was warm and so touching -- with great character development. I loved everything about it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    Fascinating and compelling

    Patchett interweaves the stories of several intriguing and inviting characters until they encounter each other and interact during one life-changing day. A tour de force of character, plot and meaning. Patchett is a masterful storyteller; you'll find you can't put the book down until you've finished it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2007

    Layer Cake

    Ann Patchett is one of our finer story tellers writing today and certainly her latest novel RUN keeps pace (if not exceeds) with her previous works. Patchett has the uncanny ability to introduce 'facsimiles' of characters in very subtle ways, blending her ingredient characters slowly, revealing their full personalities and places in the storyline so gradually that reading about them resembles meeting new acquaintances at a party - some will fade, others will materialize as leads. In RUN, Patchett addresses mixed race adoption, responses to death, biologic versus adoptive mothers, and family dynamics, all in the course of a twenty-four hour period of time, and in doing so she compresses so much information that reading this fine novel begs for a one sitting time frame to read it from cover to cover. Former Boston Mayor Bernard Doyle and his Irish wife Bernadette had one child - Sullivan - a lad who failed to fulfill his father's expectations of entering the political arena. Sullivan was involved in a tragedy that affected not only Sullivan and his girlfriend, but also fragmented Bernard's career. Unable to have further children, the couple adopted an African American newborn 'Teddy' only to have the child's biologic mother (Tennessee Moser) offer her 14-month-old child 'Tip' to the Doyles - an offer the Doyles happily accepted. Bernadette dies too soon and the two African American brothers are raised by Bernard: Sullivan has fled to Africa to work with AIDS patients as a means to assuage his guilt for the tragedy he caused. The story begins on a wintry night after a Jesse Jackson lecture when Tip is saved from a near tragic SUV collision by a woman who pushes him to safety - that woman being Tennessee who had been to the lecture with her eleven-year-old daughter Kenya. Tennessee is critically injured and Kenya is invited by the Doyles to stay with them while her mother is taken to the hospital: Tip's sole injury from the accident is a damaged ankle. It is the manner in which the discovery of kinship between Kenya and Tennessee and Teddy and Tip that shapes the next day's events. Patchett gradually builds this chocolate and vanilla layered cake to allow us to see how Tennessee has secretly followed her two sons Tip and Teddy and their father, keeping her distance, but never forsaking her love and concern for her own boys. Kenya is taken in by the Doyle men, including the now returned from Africa Sullivan, and the melding of this mixed family faces the challenges of discovering roots, loss of adopted mother and re-entry of biologic mother, and the bonding of true family. If the novel has a disappointing ending (Patchett jumps in time to four years hence that tidies up too many loose ends too quickly), that last chapter's slightly hokey summation is minor when the entire novel is considered. Patchett writes with intelligent style, elegant prose, and timely character development, creating a story that remains with the reader long after the last page. It is a fine book, worthy of the attention it is receiving on the Top 10 Lists. Highly Recommended. Grady Harp

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2011

    Engaging

    Although not as riveting as Ann Patchett's latest book, State of Wonder, Run is engaging and very readable. I cared about the characters and wanted to find out what would happen next. Definitely a possible book for a book club, as there are many themes addressed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    You Go Girl !!!

    My thought at the end was......."noooooooo"! I wanted more. In short, an enjoyable read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    Run

    One of my top 10 favorite books. It shows the true meaning of family. The book took me on an entirely different journey than I expected from the first few pages.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    Freshkill

    Freshkill pile

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Fabulous read

    Great Boston classic

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2009

    Run by Ann Patchett

    I feel this is one of those books that you walk away from feeling the world is a better place. Awesome book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2007

    Enthralling

    This is Ann Patchett at her best. The characters are engaging, and the reader is drawn into their lives immediately. A truly wonderful writer, Patchett's novels are treasures and always leave you sorry they end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2