Customer Reviews for

Run

Average Rating 4
( 348 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(174)

4 Star

(101)

3 Star

(48)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Intensely gripping

Well damn. I don't think I can even put into words how much I enjoyed this book. I'm still reeling from it. All I have to say is that I'm so glad I started this on Saturday because had it been during the week I probably would not have made it into work.

This book has...
Well damn. I don't think I can even put into words how much I enjoyed this book. I'm still reeling from it. All I have to say is that I'm so glad I started this on Saturday because had it been during the week I probably would not have made it into work.

This book has definitely usurped Intensity for the most intense book I've read. I swear my stomach was in knots from beginning until end. Even now after having finished it I'm still trying to settle. I think you can tell a good book from just an alright one when you're finished and you can't stop thinking about it.

Jack is packing up his families belongings and food when he hears his colleagues name and address being called out with direction to kill him. Hurrying as fast as they can to pack their Discovery they hear Jack's name next. Now him and his family are on the run.

Wow. What a journey. This was such an exciting book from beginning to end. The nail biting intensity from this book was almost more than I could take. It was exceptional and thought provoking and is definitely now my number one favorite book. Goodbye Koontz, hello Crouch.

posted by Nikki_6 on February 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

A Bit Disappointed

When I downloaded this new book I couldn't wait to get started reading it. It was a pretty quick read but as I finished I realized that I was a little disappointed. I kept thinking 'where are they running to and why'? I didn't expect them to be running for the entire 50...
When I downloaded this new book I couldn't wait to get started reading it. It was a pretty quick read but as I finished I realized that I was a little disappointed. I kept thinking 'where are they running to and why'? I didn't expect them to be running for the entire 500+ pages! Maybe I felt this way because there was never a clear explanation as to why they were running. I also wasn't fond of Blake Crouch's writing style. There are times when he uses very choppy sentences without subjects.

posted by Susan0419 on April 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 348 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18
  • Posted February 27, 2011

    Intensely gripping

    Well damn. I don't think I can even put into words how much I enjoyed this book. I'm still reeling from it. All I have to say is that I'm so glad I started this on Saturday because had it been during the week I probably would not have made it into work.

    This book has definitely usurped Intensity for the most intense book I've read. I swear my stomach was in knots from beginning until end. Even now after having finished it I'm still trying to settle. I think you can tell a good book from just an alright one when you're finished and you can't stop thinking about it.

    Jack is packing up his families belongings and food when he hears his colleagues name and address being called out with direction to kill him. Hurrying as fast as they can to pack their Discovery they hear Jack's name next. Now him and his family are on the run.

    Wow. What a journey. This was such an exciting book from beginning to end. The nail biting intensity from this book was almost more than I could take. It was exceptional and thought provoking and is definitely now my number one favorite book. Goodbye Koontz, hello Crouch.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    A Bit Disappointed

    When I downloaded this new book I couldn't wait to get started reading it. It was a pretty quick read but as I finished I realized that I was a little disappointed. I kept thinking 'where are they running to and why'? I didn't expect them to be running for the entire 500+ pages! Maybe I felt this way because there was never a clear explanation as to why they were running. I also wasn't fond of Blake Crouch's writing style. There are times when he uses very choppy sentences without subjects.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Run and run fast!

    Epic {n}: an episode in the lives of men in which heroic deeds are performed or attempted Don't look into the light...but if you didn't...RUN! Good thing the kid was in school and the house was reasonably clean, and my work was caught up..I wasn't getting to anything else until I finished. RUN is more than a horror/thriller story, it's what happens to a family when all hell has broken loose in their environment. Some people are affected by the lights and others aren't..the unaffected are the ones who need to run and run fast. The Colclough family: Dee, Jack, and their two children, Cole and Naomi, are the center of this epic story. They are the unaffected and the story opens with them packing up everything to flee whatever is happening and find a safe haven somewhere, somehow. Finding out what they have inside them to keep on going, finding out what exactly makes them a stronger family. And what they have inside that makes them do whatever it takes to protect each other and survive. RUN is intense and I found myself involved with the Colcloughs and all that they experienced. I read the book quickly, in less than a day, which is, for me and an 80,000 word thriller, damn fast. Five sparkly damn fast diamonds..

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2011

    Run Will Leave You Breathless

    This is one of the most heartwarming and, yet, most anxiety inducing novels that I've ever read. The family seems so real. They have all the same problems, the same concerns, the same hopes and dreams of a million other families in America. And then they get dropped into this nightmare situation. But they perservere. They keep going, no matter what gets in their way. Sure, they have their problems and there fights but they love each other and try to stay together. Emphasis on the word try. Blake Crouch masterfully creates the Colclough family, making you care about them. Then he starts turning the screws. This poor family goes through hell as they travel across the nightmare that America becomes. The Colclough family are literally raked over the coals in this novel and you will be too. This book makes for a intense and amazing read. One of the other reviewers said this was the best thriller that they'd ever read and I agree.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The equivalent of a 3-D movie

    "Run" is the novel equivalent of a 3-D movie. Things constantly jump out at you at every turn. While this kept me reading, I couldn't help but feel that the action became almost too overblown. There was a show stopper every 10 pages or so. That can be fun, but it doesn't allow a lot of time to build on the plot. Fans of zombie survival movies will find this novel suited to their tastes, since "Run" borrows heavily from the tropes of those films.

    Also like a 3-D movie, there's a emphasis of style over substance, action over character. There's some nice development within the MCs family unit, but it took a back seat to the almost constant bombardment of action. By the novel's end, I felt as worn out as the characters.

    It's a fun read, though. Perfect for lazy summer days or for a quick action pick-me-up. Author Crouch deserves much credit for creating a feeling of dread with each turn of the page. He knows how to use words efficiently and to great effect.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Awesome Book

    Kept me entertained and wanting to read more!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2011

    Decent

    Good idea for a story but it had several parts that just seemed to drag on and on . I think about 200 pages could be taken out and then I'd definitely give it 4 stars . This was the first book by this author that I have read, and I do think that I will give a few more of his books a try. He seems to have some really great ideas

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2011

    thrill ride

    I have not finished the book yet but I'm scared to finish it. Blake Crouch has set the tone for the end of humanity and actually I think it can happen. I'm going in to lose weight, buy a gun and prepare for some weird crap to happen sometime in 2012. I'll be prepared. Will you be?

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Thrilling RUN

    Reviews Of Unusual Size

    ***Re: Something is changing people. Something that makes people violent, murderous towards their neighbors, friends and beloved family. Across the nation people are being hunted down, maimed and murdered horribly. All you can do is run.

    ***Outstanding: Blake Crouch is a smooth operator, melding horror, despair and a bit of humor deftly. The killers in this are scary and unrelenting. The children are written like real children and you come to care about the main characters. There's some really nice descriptions of the landscape they travel through.

    ***Unacceptable: The story lags a bit in the middle, but nothing horrible. I'm not a huge fan of the cover, it's a bit cartoony.

    ***Summary: A truly gripping thriller with some moments of terrible violence and horror, but centered around a family's love for each other and what it takes to survive in a world gone mad. I really liked the way the world was "infected" it was simple and allowed for some interesting twists.


    ***Notes: Available as an ebook through Barnes and Noble, Smashwords or Amazon for less than $3. A great price for a thriller as fun as this.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    I read this in a matter of hours, I couldn't put it down! I lov

    I read this in a matter of hours, I couldn't put it down! I love post-apocolyptic stories and can forgive a lot of the holes in the story and outrageous scenarios, that's part of the fun - like an action movie! I was disappointed though that there was not more follow up at the end, and I really wanted Cole's character to be explored more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great read!!

    I loved this book and I could not put it down until I finished it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Scary!

    What is so scary is I can see this happening! I got verywraped up in this book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    Absorbing read!

    I could hardly put this book down. This story leaves you wondering what's going to happen next, something all the best suspense/thriller novels do to readers. I found the characters and dialogue believable, although some of their actions (considering circumstances) did strain belief a little -- but not to an unforgivable extent. The settings are meticulously rendered, and all the core literary conflicts are thoughtfully represented. To be sure, *Run* is an allegory for the horrible, evil cruelty that the human monkey is uniquely capable of inflicting on its own species, even the most dear loved ones. I'm not a big fan of the violence genre, but I think I will be reading more Blake Crouch!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    Recommend

    Overlong and could probably make a TV miniseries or serial. Parts of it are straight out of a survivalist's mentality coupled with a zombie story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Total pager turner.....a must read!

    Blake Crouch has become one of my favorite authors. I feel he is right up there with Stephen King, who is my all time favorite. I have read several B. Crouch novels and will read anything now with his name on it. This story was very well told and held my interest until the very end. I can't wait for the next one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    Thrilling

    There were some grammatical errors but overall a good read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Intense & Awesome!

    This is one of the best thrillers I have ever read! Never a dull moment, Crouch just keeps building & building on the intesity until you absolutely cannot wait to find out this one ends. I couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2011

    Thrilling read

    This was a faced paced action horror thriller. Constant twists and turns throughout the book. With how detailed the story was, it ended quickly without some explanations.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    Thrilling

    When I began this book, I was not optimistic. The writing style was quick, imperfect, and imprecise. After an hour of reading, however, I was entirely hooked. The dark story line is brilliant--something that lends itself to the craze of apocalyptic/zombie obsession, without actually being about the apocalypse or zombies. I haven't read a book that left my heart pounding in years, and this managed to do that over and over again. I cared about the characters and found myself invested in the conclusion of the story. I recommend this to anyone who wants to be swept away. I was sad to put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    Unusual but interesting

    Really liked this book and cared for the heroic family. Could not quit reading until i was done! Want to read more from this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 348 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18