Customer Reviews for

Run

Average Rating 4.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Run Reid Run

BEWARE: this is the first book in the trilogy, and as such, the book does not answer a lot of questions at the end.

Background:

Reid, a sixteen year old boy, wakes up in the middle of the night to find himself .in a moving van. He does not remember much from the n...
BEWARE: this is the first book in the trilogy, and as such, the book does not answer a lot of questions at the end.

Background:

Reid, a sixteen year old boy, wakes up in the middle of the night to find himself .in a moving van. He does not remember much from the night before. All he knows is that one moment he goes to sleep at his sister's new house, and the next - he is in a van, kidnapped.

His situation is getting worse by the second. Reid is dropped off in the middle of the woods and left alone. But what seems like possible freedom is, in fact, a cruel game where the rules are simple: run or be killed. Hunters, supernatural cannibalistic creatures, prowl the darkness of the woods, hunting down, killing (and eating) children just like Reid.

To survive this hunt, Reid must run, fight, hide and hope that he will outsmart and outrun the creatures.

What I liked:

1. Run Reid run. The action is intense. The pace is amazing. The title of the book is RUN and believe me, you will run along with Reid. All the way to the last page. My advice: read it when you have a long evening with no plans ahead of you because you will not want to do anything else but read.

2. Twists and turns. Don't make a mistake thinking that you know where the plot is going. You will be disappointed at yourself. It is a high voltage read, so don't guess, don't predict just run read.

3. Reid. I love how fast (almost instantaneously) Reid switches into a survival mode and fights for his life with the wisdom of a grown up. Anyone would definitely feel safe with Reid, a sixteen year old!

What I am not thrilled about:

1. Hunger Games reminiscences. RUN's setting (children are forced to play a cruel game of survival) reminds me of Hunger Games. Was RUN inspired by Hunger Games? I don't know. But I definitely get the feeling that it could have been, and because of that, I wish the plot would be a little bit more original.

2. Female Characters. Along his run, Reid meets other children, who are, just like him, also being hunted. He makes friends and enemies. He also meets girls. I was a little hopeful for some romance (I am a sucker for that) but there is none. Understandably, when your life is in danger, the last thing on your mind is romancing another survivor. I am totally okay with it! However, I am slightly disappointed with the female characters because not enough credit is given to the girls. Even though some of the girls manage to survive in the woods on their own for days, they come across much weaker than boys.

Conclusion: RUN is a very entertaining read.

Appropriateness: It is a young adult thriller but might be not appropriate for children under 16.

I enjoyed it and would definitely recommend it.

posted by Marfutka on October 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

No

This is one of the worst books I have ever read. Dont waste your time.

posted by trumpeter on July 1, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    Run Reid Run

    BEWARE: this is the first book in the trilogy, and as such, the book does not answer a lot of questions at the end.

    Background:

    Reid, a sixteen year old boy, wakes up in the middle of the night to find himself .in a moving van. He does not remember much from the night before. All he knows is that one moment he goes to sleep at his sister's new house, and the next - he is in a van, kidnapped.

    His situation is getting worse by the second. Reid is dropped off in the middle of the woods and left alone. But what seems like possible freedom is, in fact, a cruel game where the rules are simple: run or be killed. Hunters, supernatural cannibalistic creatures, prowl the darkness of the woods, hunting down, killing (and eating) children just like Reid.

    To survive this hunt, Reid must run, fight, hide and hope that he will outsmart and outrun the creatures.

    What I liked:

    1. Run Reid run. The action is intense. The pace is amazing. The title of the book is RUN and believe me, you will run along with Reid. All the way to the last page. My advice: read it when you have a long evening with no plans ahead of you because you will not want to do anything else but read.

    2. Twists and turns. Don't make a mistake thinking that you know where the plot is going. You will be disappointed at yourself. It is a high voltage read, so don't guess, don't predict just run read.

    3. Reid. I love how fast (almost instantaneously) Reid switches into a survival mode and fights for his life with the wisdom of a grown up. Anyone would definitely feel safe with Reid, a sixteen year old!

    What I am not thrilled about:

    1. Hunger Games reminiscences. RUN's setting (children are forced to play a cruel game of survival) reminds me of Hunger Games. Was RUN inspired by Hunger Games? I don't know. But I definitely get the feeling that it could have been, and because of that, I wish the plot would be a little bit more original.

    2. Female Characters. Along his run, Reid meets other children, who are, just like him, also being hunted. He makes friends and enemies. He also meets girls. I was a little hopeful for some romance (I am a sucker for that) but there is none. Understandably, when your life is in danger, the last thing on your mind is romancing another survivor. I am totally okay with it! However, I am slightly disappointed with the female characters because not enough credit is given to the girls. Even though some of the girls manage to survive in the woods on their own for days, they come across much weaker than boys.

    Conclusion: RUN is a very entertaining read.

    Appropriateness: It is a young adult thriller but might be not appropriate for children under 16.

    I enjoyed it and would definitely recommend it.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2015

    Never a dull moment from start to finish! A must read!

    This book kept me up all night...could not put it down. It's twists and turns were chilling and had you so involved from beginning to end. I can't wait to read the other books in the series, since this is only book #1!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2014

    No

    This is one of the worst books I have ever read. Dont waste your time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    GREAT SERIES

    I swear that I will quit reading series books as most times I cannot afford to purchase the NEVER ending books that make up a series...thankfully these were FREE selections and ALL of Patti Larsens in this series are excellent! Good character development and pace in book leaves you wanting to read more!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2015

    liked it

    liked it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2015

    Well written

    Would definitely recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2014

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Kind of modern day with a splash

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Kind of modern day with a splash of aliens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2014

    Unexpected

    Did not expect to get hooked, but I did, good reads , all the books in the series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2014

    Dunno

    Kay, i never read this book before but it sounds like The Most Dangerous Game which ia a short story. Look it up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2014

    Great

    Loved this story line. Solid characters and very disturbing story. Looking forward to more, hope they aren't too much $$.
    BrynnS

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2014

    150 PAGES

    This 150 page YA adult book is the first in a series of three. There is no conclusion. It is very violent and bloody. There is cannibalism, which is a taboo of mine as it freaks me out. This book has a strange writting style, while third person, it is also present tense, which took some getting used too. The author made the characters and events realistic, while a good thing, made this reader feel as if I were there, in the moment. Majorly creepy. If there was not humans feasting on each other, I would have given this book a higher rating., but four stars is still pretty good. I do not plain on reading the other two books. For ages 14 and up, if they have nerves of steel.

    AD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2014

    Wow!

    Really great book! I cant wait to find out what happens next! This book may be a little disturbing but its a MUST READ!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2014

    Awkward but good.

    I found this book awkward to read, it was the writing. The characte development is pretty good and things are described well. Some of the spelling and grammar i soff but not overly so. Overall, this one wasn't a bad read and I will probably read book two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    Great read!

    Honestly better than I expected. A fast paced page turner, with good character development. I'll read the rest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2014

    Short story

    Don't know if I'll get the rest of the series. Needs to be longer, put books togather.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2014

    Excellent

    Very thrilling. Can hardly wait to find outwhat happens next. Highly recomend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2014

    Nail Biting

    Good book. Kept me awake too late because I couldn't put it down until I finished it. Immediately bought the other three which I applaud Patti Larsen for making them affordable and lendable, which tells me she loves for people to read her books! Now, on to book 2!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    Great book

    How can anyone say that being a trilogy is a negative in their review!! If I'm really into a story line.... I do not want it to end!
    Only my first book was free, the rest are 3.99.
    Be ready for tense, horrific situations involving kids.
    Very well written, some editing errors but nothing that makes you stumble in your reading.
    The plot is fairly original and action packed. Not a dull moment!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2012

    Recommended

    Hard hitting and full of surprizes

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2012

    Different read - real good

    Liked this book - wasn't sure at first, but turned out to be a real good read. Only drawback - it's a trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2