Customer Reviews for

Run for Your Life (Michael Bennett Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 450 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(183)

4 Star

(142)

3 Star

(74)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

JAMES PATTERSON DELIVERS, ONCE AGAIN

THIS IS ONE OF THOSE BOOKS YOU BETTER MAKE TIME FOR BECAUSE ONCE YOU START IT YOU WILL NOT WANT TO PUT IT DOWN. I TOTALLY ENJOYED THE STORYLINE, THE CHARACTERS, THE BEGINNING, THE MIDDLE AND THE VERY SATISFYING ENDING.

posted by VICKIDFL on March 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

24 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

Read The Book

Since all of these reviews except one are without reading the book first, it's my turn. James Patterson went from a great author to a miserable one with this co-author army that pumps out 10 150 page books (- the blank spaces) a year that you can read in 2-3 hours. Ev...
Since all of these reviews except one are without reading the book first, it's my turn. James Patterson went from a great author to a miserable one with this co-author army that pumps out 10 150 page books (- the blank spaces) a year that you can read in 2-3 hours. Even Cross Country was terrible, the worst Alex Cross book yet. The Sail? Please - what a Joke. What's next, JP with Donald Duck as that's what we have been getting lately. He'll still make his millions on people who thrive on these mindless reads. Want a real mystery novel? Try Baldacci, Connelley, Deaver and Daniel Kalla for medical mysteries. They will never disappoint you.

posted by Freeway-Mandy on December 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 452 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 23
  • Posted December 25, 2008

    Read The Book

    Since all of these reviews except one are without reading the book first, it's my turn. James Patterson went from a great author to a miserable one with this co-author army that pumps out 10 150 page books (- the blank spaces) a year that you can read in 2-3 hours. Even Cross Country was terrible, the worst Alex Cross book yet. The Sail? Please - what a Joke. What's next, JP with Donald Duck as that's what we have been getting lately. He'll still make his millions on people who thrive on these mindless reads. Want a real mystery novel? Try Baldacci, Connelley, Deaver and Daniel Kalla for medical mysteries. They will never disappoint you.

    24 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Run for Your Life or should have been titled "My kids with the flu"

    I'm an avid Patterson fan - so what happened to this book???? One of the worst I have ever read of his. I'm not sure if I shouldn't buy another Patterson book with Michael Ledwidge on the cover or not. Talk about boring - how you could take a plot that had potential and totally bore the reader to death with details that don't even matter or have anything to do with the book! Who cares if the main character's character has 10 kids - that is unbelievable enough - but how time and detail went into his kids throwing up, him stepping in, smells, etc. - I mean who cares??? Patterson used to be goog - BUT I'm wondering if he just signs his name on to the book cover and never reads it???? So, bottom line, for the cost of hardbacks - at this point - I will make sure I don't ever pick up a book with Patterson/Ledwidge combination again. He used to be the best - maybe he's just too tired to write stories anymore or even care. This would be at best, a bargain store buy, so sorry I waited and bought it as soon as it came out at full price. Very discouraging to say the least!!!

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Unbelievable in a bad way.

    James Patterson is throwing his reputation as a exciting author down the drain. With his partnering of unknown writers, the large print and short chapters, his books are not worth the money. A man with 10 children could not do what Michael Bennett does for a living. I know it's fiction, but it's also unbelievable. Totally......

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    JAMES PATTERSON DELIVERS, ONCE AGAIN

    THIS IS ONE OF THOSE BOOKS YOU BETTER MAKE TIME FOR BECAUSE ONCE YOU START IT YOU WILL NOT WANT TO PUT IT DOWN. I TOTALLY ENJOYED THE STORYLINE, THE CHARACTERS, THE BEGINNING, THE MIDDLE AND THE VERY SATISFYING ENDING.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Killer escalates his killing in NY City

    Being a cop in a large city such as New York can be a very difficult job in the work you perform, the job you take home with you, and the perpetrators that are always in your mind. Detective Michael Bennett had been a cop for quite a few years and thought he had met some weird criminals but this new perp that called himself The Teacher was possibly the worst ever. He was killing, seemingly taking no definite direction regarding his victims as to location or individuality. And his killing was increasing too quickly to keep up with or where he would next strike. Bennett had lost his wife, Mauve, less than a year ago. She was his rock and salvation being there to give Michael comfort when he came home downhearted because of work problems. Mauve knew how to "be there" for him whether it was a hug, a beer, words of encouragement, or anything else that caused him to be out of sorts. But Mauve wasn't there now, only his nanny, Mary Catherine, who lived in a nearby apartment, filled in caring for the ten adopted children he and Mauve had adopted and loved so much. Huge problems existed in the Bennett apartment when the kids started coming down with some bug and were vomiting, sometimes not in the proper place! Thank God Mary Catherine was there to assist with the kids. Amidst the sickness Bennett was trying to find this killer that struck anywhere, anytime, and dressed himself in ways that made it even more difficult to track and find. Several task forces were formed due to pressure the Police Commissioner was placing on Bennett and all that had been thrown into the fray. Days went on with no further progress in the killers search but Bennett's kids still were taking their turns puking. Poor Michael and poor Mary Catherine. Rest for both was hard to get. A reporter had broken some news not released and Bennett's superiors accused him of leaking the information. The Teacher escalated his killing using more disguises and appearing in the least likely areas to do his killing. The police always seemed to be one step behind. The Teacher sent his "mission statement" to the reporter who took it to Bennett. She wanted to get on his good side now. The statement made no sense other than he would kill more unless certain statements he wanted published we so done. Eventually the Teacher and Bennett made contact by email but there was still no information on where this guy was or where he would strike next. You certainly have the gist of the story now and I consider "Run For Your Life" one of the best these authors have written in some time. I used to always read every James Patterson book, even the ones he co-authored. The last book I was very disappointed in after reading and did not even write a review. This book is very well written with a very good story and great characters.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Run for Your Life

    I very much enjoyed Run for Your Life. As all of Patterson's novels, it is fast-paced with continuous action and a sympathetic lead detective. I enjoyed Run for Your Life in part because it had less gore than most other thrillers and even the killer was unusually interesting. How can you not be drawn in by someone whose mission is to teach the wealthy and arrogant of NYC manners?

    Plus, Run for Your Life introduces us to a fun new detective. I was drawn in by Detective Michael Bennett and the insight that comes from his role in NYPD Tactical Assistance Response Unit. The light hint of romance adds to Michael Bennett's charm.

    Publisher: Grand Central Publishing; 1 edition (October 20, 2009), 416 pages.
    Review copy provided by the publisher.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not worth reading

    This is the secord book i read by James Patterson. I read "Sail" and liked it a lot. This book was not believable, not captivating. I though the plot was not complex, and the main character was no appealing. Before this book, i read "The Associate" by Grisham and loved it. I hope this book is just one bad apple for Patterson, i purchased "The 8th Confession" and i am really hoping i like it better. Will let you know.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2009

    not his best work

    This is a good bok for a plane ride but not when you want something to really sink yout teath into. Some parts are completely unbeleivable.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2009

    Not the best of his books

    This was not up to the regular standards. The family story was touching, it is hard for single working parents to do everything, especially with 10 children. But the killer was just too ordinary and not very exciting. I did finish it but would not recomend it.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2009

    Couldn't get through it.

    I am a HUGE fan of James Patterson. While I do very much like the character Michael Bennett, this book was just boring. The villain couldn't be more uninteresting. It's the only James Patterson book I've put down in the middle of reading. He has so many other greats..this one just didn't do it for me. Step on a Crack was far better.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    JP's #1 fan still has hope!

    I love JP but I am feeling disappointed lately. It is true that he has way too many books out with co-authors that were no good. Even Cross Country was a huge disappointment.<BR/>I have read ALL of James Pattersons books. The very best is The Jester and The Beach House. I sure hope that this new book, Run for your Life, is good cause if not I think James will continue to loss his fans. <BR/>Anyway, on another note,there is a new author by the name of Chelsea Cain that is fantastic. She only has 2 books out, HeartSick (part 1) and Sweetheart (part 2). While part one was good, I must say part 2 will knock your socks off!!!! I am sure looking forward to a part 3. Go pick up these books, they will not disappoint.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2008

    Run Away

    Being a detective can be pretty intense, but being a detective who has to save all of New York can be the hardest detective work of all. In Run for Your Life by James Patterson, James brings a whole new meaning to detective work. James will make you want to keep reading this book. <BR/>Mike Bennett is a detective with 10 children all sick with the flu. They are all under 12 years old too. So with managing his six children, he also had to work this new case. A killer who says his name is the teacher has been killing people all over. Now he has come to New York and is killing all the people that think they¿re better then everyone else. At first people are happy because now they are getting what they should have gotten a long time ago, but eventually it gets really bad and now New York is in danger. James is an amazing author with many other books like this one. A lot of his books are mysterious and are so intense that you just can¿t stop reading.<BR/>This book is an intense thriller that you will probably get a little worried in, but it all gets better in the end.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2008

    BIGGEST FAN

    This book will be a page turner like all of your other books.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Likeable Lead Character Makes Book Enjoyable

    Wide margins and double-spacing suggest this is a bit of a potboiler, but it's still fun. NYPD detective Michael Bennett faces down a serial killer who targets the city's snootier denizens. He also has a brood of ten kids at home who are down with the flu. How a cop can afford the monthly fees on an "inherited" luxury coop, as well as feed his ten kids and pay a nanny is never explained. But never mind. Expect the usual harrowing climax, complete with highly unlikely come-back-from-the-dead recoveries after serious throttling, not to mention hairbreadth escapes.
    Still, it's a good escapist book that can be finished within the day.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2009

    Run For Your Life- by James Patterson and Michael Ledwidge

    In this heart racing novel, many good and bad points surface about people and society as a whole. The author's ability to truly capture the thought process of a calculating murderer in such detail really helps the reader understand the overall situations throughout the book. As seen by this example 'but so was the profane hollowness she called her life that she either hadn't noticed or didn't care that she had offended a fellow human being.'(page 41) Not only is this novel narrated through the protagonist's point of view, but also the antagonist's. This made the story more interesting as the readers would have to pay close attention, but also required of them to remember details about each character. Although this novel is fiction Patterson managed to create real life situations and captured the society's reactions to people and events quite accurately. As seen on page 44, 'people still watched him, but no one was going to challenge a man who looked like him, on the word of a woman who looked like her...' However, due to the usage of some strong, unnecessary and overall offensive language did take away from the story. Overall this story is a definite 'must have' to any reader who enjoys action, ingenious plots, and thrilling suspense within a novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2009

    He's BAck

    Patterson has been up and down in his mass attack of book over the past few years but this one is back to Patterson spot on. A page turner that will leave you sweating. Like Cross it gets back to the roots! Read you be happy you'll did

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Hard to put down...twists and turns...a non-guesser!

    Whilst I agree with others that co-authored James Patterson books in general are lack-luster and are for the most part disappointing, this one's a gem. It's every bit as good as a true James Patterson endeavor! This partnership with Michael Ledwidge is a winner. Looking forward to another!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Could have been so much more

    I know that there are times where I would like to scream at the obnoxious person talking loudly on their cell phone in a public place without a care to the others around them, but when the Teacher in James Patterson novel, RUN FOR YOUR LIFE talks it to the extreme and pushes her onto the tracks of an income subway train. The Teacher is the latest protagonist in a Patterson story and he continues to murder those he deems rich, obnoxious and not caring about the importance of all our lives. New York City Detective Michael Bennett starts putting the pieces together and tries to track down the Teacher while trying to maintain a family for his ten motherless children. As with many of Patterson's books, this is a fast-paced, easy read. One can devour it one sunny day at the beach. But the thrills are beginning to fade. His stories tend to formulaic and even the twist at the end did not make for a good book. My wife loves James Patterson, but he puts out books too quickly for me to expect anything powerful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2009

    patterson

    He is my man I adore his book I wait for every book of his and I have to get it immediately. He is exciting and dont want the book to find can't wait for his new ones to come out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2009

    Great

    Great new series for Patterson

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 452 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 23