Customer Reviews for

Run for Your Life (Michael Bennett Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 453 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(185)

4 Star

(142)

3 Star

(75)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

JAMES PATTERSON DELIVERS, ONCE AGAIN

THIS IS ONE OF THOSE BOOKS YOU BETTER MAKE TIME FOR BECAUSE ONCE YOU START IT YOU WILL NOT WANT TO PUT IT DOWN. I TOTALLY ENJOYED THE STORYLINE, THE CHARACTERS, THE BEGINNING, THE MIDDLE AND THE VERY SATISFYING ENDING.

posted by VICKIDFL on March 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

24 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

Read The Book

Since all of these reviews except one are without reading the book first, it's my turn. James Patterson went from a great author to a miserable one with this co-author army that pumps out 10 150 page books (- the blank spaces) a year that you can read in 2-3 hours. Ev...
Since all of these reviews except one are without reading the book first, it's my turn. James Patterson went from a great author to a miserable one with this co-author army that pumps out 10 150 page books (- the blank spaces) a year that you can read in 2-3 hours. Even Cross Country was terrible, the worst Alex Cross book yet. The Sail? Please - what a Joke. What's next, JP with Donald Duck as that's what we have been getting lately. He'll still make his millions on people who thrive on these mindless reads. Want a real mystery novel? Try Baldacci, Connelley, Deaver and Daniel Kalla for medical mysteries. They will never disappoint you.

posted by Freeway-Mandy on December 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted November 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Run for Your Life

    I very much enjoyed Run for Your Life. As all of Patterson's novels, it is fast-paced with continuous action and a sympathetic lead detective. I enjoyed Run for Your Life in part because it had less gore than most other thrillers and even the killer was unusually interesting. How can you not be drawn in by someone whose mission is to teach the wealthy and arrogant of NYC manners?

    Plus, Run for Your Life introduces us to a fun new detective. I was drawn in by Detective Michael Bennett and the insight that comes from his role in NYPD Tactical Assistance Response Unit. The light hint of romance adds to Michael Bennett's charm.

    Publisher: Grand Central Publishing; 1 edition (October 20, 2009), 416 pages.
    Review copy provided by the publisher.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not worth reading

    This is the secord book i read by James Patterson. I read "Sail" and liked it a lot. This book was not believable, not captivating. I though the plot was not complex, and the main character was no appealing. Before this book, i read "The Associate" by Grisham and loved it. I hope this book is just one bad apple for Patterson, i purchased "The 8th Confession" and i am really hoping i like it better. Will let you know.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2009

    not his best work

    This is a good bok for a plane ride but not when you want something to really sink yout teath into. Some parts are completely unbeleivable.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2009

    Not the best of his books

    This was not up to the regular standards. The family story was touching, it is hard for single working parents to do everything, especially with 10 children. But the killer was just too ordinary and not very exciting. I did finish it but would not recomend it.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    JP's #1 fan still has hope!

    I love JP but I am feeling disappointed lately. It is true that he has way too many books out with co-authors that were no good. Even Cross Country was a huge disappointment.<BR/>I have read ALL of James Pattersons books. The very best is The Jester and The Beach House. I sure hope that this new book, Run for your Life, is good cause if not I think James will continue to loss his fans. <BR/>Anyway, on another note,there is a new author by the name of Chelsea Cain that is fantastic. She only has 2 books out, HeartSick (part 1) and Sweetheart (part 2). While part one was good, I must say part 2 will knock your socks off!!!! I am sure looking forward to a part 3. Go pick up these books, they will not disappoint.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Could have been so much more

    I know that there are times where I would like to scream at the obnoxious person talking loudly on their cell phone in a public place without a care to the others around them, but when the Teacher in James Patterson novel, RUN FOR YOUR LIFE talks it to the extreme and pushes her onto the tracks of an income subway train. The Teacher is the latest protagonist in a Patterson story and he continues to murder those he deems rich, obnoxious and not caring about the importance of all our lives. New York City Detective Michael Bennett starts putting the pieces together and tries to track down the Teacher while trying to maintain a family for his ten motherless children. As with many of Patterson's books, this is a fast-paced, easy read. One can devour it one sunny day at the beach. But the thrills are beginning to fade. His stories tend to formulaic and even the twist at the end did not make for a good book. My wife loves James Patterson, but he puts out books too quickly for me to expect anything powerful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2009

    New character not up to Cross.

    This seems like Patterson has run out of steam with Alex Cross so is trying to invent a new detective. It DOES NOT WORK. A detective with 10 adopted kids whose characters do not truly develop (and who cares). Far too much time trying to create a family we care about rather than concentrating on the case in hand which should be the thrill of the chase. I love reading Patterson but this reminded me of too many recent movies I have seen. Certainly not one of his best.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2012

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    Michael Bennett, widower, 10 kids, and a priest for a grandfather, does it get any better? This new character is excellant and very compelling! JP has done it again!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    Over priced

    Would have given this five stars until i realized that i paid 9.99 for a book with a 5.99 cover price. That makes no sense at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Title says it all...

    While all of Patterson's books are page turners the plot of this one was a little weak. Spoilers** I did not appreciate the puking kids... the Teacher dies in kind of a cheap (& easy) way and you never find out what happens to his kid that stole money from the church.
    I liked Seamus though.
    Average.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Until Story Cut Short

    I am a BIG fan of James Patterson. I have read most of both the Alex Cross and Women's Murder Club series as well as the Michael Bennett book "Step On A Crack".

    I must say that this book was very intising until the last couple of chapters where I feel the story took a turn out of context just to get it done. Patterson hasn't done this in any other book that I read, so I was disappointed to see it happen here.

    I definitely suggest this book for Patterson Series fans, but don't expect a fulfilling ending to the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    Alex Cross was a little dumb in this, he was getting beat up too much. He wasn't careful at trying to find the killers. and he had the air of "Do you know who I am"

    It was not his best work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not one of his best

    Having read every book he has written, I can honestly say I was disappointed in my favorite author's latest work. The Alex Cross series is my favorite but this was subpar. I did not like the African setting. I had trouble with the story line holding my interest which is very rare with his books. Looking forward to his next book. He is still my favorite and realize people cannot be perfect all the time. I highly recommend his early works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    Dissapointing

    I couldn't wait to read this book but after starting it I couldn't wait to get through it without falling asleep. The plot was boring and the characters had no depth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    Not one Of his best

    This is not one of Patterson's best. Like many of his co-written books doesan't measure up to those written by himself.
    Grammatical errors in descriptions should have been caught ny editor....as well as improbable climax where the hero is first described as crammed into the co-pilots seat so he could barely move to having him pummel the bad guy into submission with his feet and hands.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2009

    Good Read, but . . .

    When I started the book, I had just finished the first in the "Jesse Stone" series by Robert B. Parker. It was an ajustment going from a complex character story to a very simple character story. I read this book in two days. It is a good read, when you don't want to think or analyze too much. The very end was disappointing. I would like to see more Alex Cross similar to the series first books or more Women's Murder Club.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2009

    EEHH it was OK

    Its your typical cop stoy: lovable detective, psycho killer, and an ending that was predictable and blan. the story of the killer resembles the killer fron the saw movies, a man whose out to "teach a lesson", This was my first Patterson novel and i must admit that after hearing all the hype about patterson I was a little dissapointed to see what he actually had to offer. Its in no way a bad story, it just doesnt offer anything unique or original

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2009

    An okay read...

    I read this in two days. I agree with many other reviews that the quality of JP's writing has declined. Additionally, I too, feel there is too much white space within his books. Lastly, I thought the ending was too far-fetched. Wait and get this one from your public library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Surprisingly dissapointing

    I am so dissapointed in this book. I am or was a huge James Patterson fan but slowly I am beginning to not care for him anymore. I have read several of his books in cluding the murders club series and the Cross series. Even the cross series lately are kind of a thumbs down. I am not sure what is going on with Mr. Patterson but he needs to stick to writing himself or get dome new co-writers.

    This book is basically a copycat of Cross I feel. Cross in the series is a detective who has a family with multiple children and he plays an excellent do it all detective hero. In the last book I read the wife dies and he is left with the grandmother and himself to take care of the children and solve a murder. This book kind of is like that, this detective Mike Bennete has multiple children some who have been adopted and his wife has died to leave him to care for all of them. Also instead of a grandmother to help he has a preist father n' law and a Irish Nanny. In the middle of this all the kids come down with this flu and a killer goes on a killing spree for people with money and attitudes. I felt like this was a boring spin off of some of the latest Cross series. I got through the book only because I didn't want to not finish a book. I hope that he comes up with some better stuff because i am slowly going towards another author as being my favorite, think I will give Patterson a break and read someone else for a while. SAD!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2009

    Not complicated

    I have always loved James Patterson's novels; however, this one is extremely simple, not much to it. I felt as though I was reading a kid's book, except for some of the descriptions. I went through this book in less than a week. Extremely watered down. Where's the old James Patterson exicting quality????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4