Customer Reviews for

Run for Your Life (Michael Bennett Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 450 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(183)

4 Star

(142)

3 Star

(74)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

JAMES PATTERSON DELIVERS, ONCE AGAIN

THIS IS ONE OF THOSE BOOKS YOU BETTER MAKE TIME FOR BECAUSE ONCE YOU START IT YOU WILL NOT WANT TO PUT IT DOWN. I TOTALLY ENJOYED THE STORYLINE, THE CHARACTERS, THE BEGINNING, THE MIDDLE AND THE VERY SATISFYING ENDING.

posted by VICKIDFL on March 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

23 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

Read The Book

Since all of these reviews except one are without reading the book first, it's my turn. James Patterson went from a great author to a miserable one with this co-author army that pumps out 10 150 page books (- the blank spaces) a year that you can read in 2-3 hours. Ev...
Since all of these reviews except one are without reading the book first, it's my turn. James Patterson went from a great author to a miserable one with this co-author army that pumps out 10 150 page books (- the blank spaces) a year that you can read in 2-3 hours. Even Cross Country was terrible, the worst Alex Cross book yet. The Sail? Please - what a Joke. What's next, JP with Donald Duck as that's what we have been getting lately. He'll still make his millions on people who thrive on these mindless reads. Want a real mystery novel? Try Baldacci, Connelley, Deaver and Daniel Kalla for medical mysteries. They will never disappoint you.

posted by Freeway-Mandy on December 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 142 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted December 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Likeable Lead Character Makes Book Enjoyable

    Wide margins and double-spacing suggest this is a bit of a potboiler, but it's still fun. NYPD detective Michael Bennett faces down a serial killer who targets the city's snootier denizens. He also has a brood of ten kids at home who are down with the flu. How a cop can afford the monthly fees on an "inherited" luxury coop, as well as feed his ten kids and pay a nanny is never explained. But never mind. Expect the usual harrowing climax, complete with highly unlikely come-back-from-the-dead recoveries after serious throttling, not to mention hairbreadth escapes.
    Still, it's a good escapist book that can be finished within the day.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2009

    Run For Your Life- by James Patterson and Michael Ledwidge

    In this heart racing novel, many good and bad points surface about people and society as a whole. The author's ability to truly capture the thought process of a calculating murderer in such detail really helps the reader understand the overall situations throughout the book. As seen by this example 'but so was the profane hollowness she called her life that she either hadn't noticed or didn't care that she had offended a fellow human being.'(page 41) Not only is this novel narrated through the protagonist's point of view, but also the antagonist's. This made the story more interesting as the readers would have to pay close attention, but also required of them to remember details about each character. Although this novel is fiction Patterson managed to create real life situations and captured the society's reactions to people and events quite accurately. As seen on page 44, 'people still watched him, but no one was going to challenge a man who looked like him, on the word of a woman who looked like her...' However, due to the usage of some strong, unnecessary and overall offensive language did take away from the story. Overall this story is a definite 'must have' to any reader who enjoys action, ingenious plots, and thrilling suspense within a novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2009

    He's BAck

    Patterson has been up and down in his mass attack of book over the past few years but this one is back to Patterson spot on. A page turner that will leave you sweating. Like Cross it gets back to the roots! Read you be happy you'll did

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Run to your book store!

    I must admit that I have been a fan of Patterson for years, so when I heard Bill O'Reilly recommending this book I ordered my copy ASAP! Ok, Patterson is not a great literary talent, he writes pulp fiction but it is entertaining pulp fiction. Fast paced reads with great action and plenty of twist and turns. This time out Detective Mike Bennet is trying to put his life back together after losing his wife and struggling with single parenthood (you might want to read "Step on a Crack" first). Patterson has come up with an especially evil villain for this story. The Teacher is out to teach New York's wealthy and powerful a lesson (this is especially timely given current events) and some seem to actually enjoy seeing the rich get what they deserve; talk about class warfare! If tracking down this crazed killer is not enough Bennett must also deal with a house full of sick kids (ten children all coming down with the flu at once!). I won't give away any more but expect typical fast pacing with plenty of twists and turns. Its kind of like eating popcorn, not a lot of nutritional value but tough to stop eating! I also got to recommend A Tourist In The Yucatan for a thriller with Patterson like pacing!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Another Great Patterson Thriller

    This book is another great thriller from James Patterson. A cold-hearted killer who calls himself The Teacher is taking out the rich and the obnoxious people of New York City. As one body after another turns up murdered and a city is up in arms, Bennett has to deal with a flu epidemic among his 8 kids at the same time he's hunting down the killer. This is a story that can only end one way - lots's and lot's of action! This is a great book and I'd heartily recommend it. This book was so good I couldn't put it down and read it in a day.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2012

    recommend

    I have not finech the book at this time but I think it is a good one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    highly recommended

    all of the michael bennett books are great including this one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Another Patterson Winner

    First Michael Bennett series read for me and I was very impressed. Have followed all Alex Cross stories and read many other Patterson stories and this one did not disappoint. Certainly this character is as interesting and deep as Alex Cross. The storyline was fast paced and exciting. A real page turner with a great ending. I look forward to reading other Michael Bennet stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    Recommended

    Love the Bennett series and James Paterson

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    A-freaken-mazing

    this book as well as all the others was amazing. a refreshing change from the alex cross series, this book has the same james patterson action packed chapters but a slightly less drawn it story. like other patterson books this book can get a little slow when he gets super super detailed about the anatagonists every move. bennet's family and romanyic life are never boring, and his religion plays a big role without being overbearing. my mother read this book without reading the others, or any patterson novels, and loved it. four stars because i feel the could be a bit more detailed about the romance/action and less about the serial killer walking around. lol.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read!!!!!!

    I really enjoy reading the James Patterson novels and this book was no exception. It draws you and hold you tight until the end the ride. I really enjoyed that did not have any low points and that it shows a single parent home from a different perspective. A father balancing work and family. The lead character is a strong caring man that is still dealing with the loss of a spouse while having to be the super dad to adoptive and well as his own children while trying to save rude New Yorkers from the discipline being handed out by the Teacher. Very well balanced read. I can't wait to read the next book. I am about to purchase the e book version.
    If this series is ever made into a motion picture(i hope so!!!!) I think Brad Pitt would be the perfect choice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    Good reading but ...

    I really enjoyed this book. Exciting and fast paced until near the end when it turns down a different street and ends. Overall, I liked it though. --K--

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Exhilirating Ride

    I found that I couldn't put the book down. My main qualms with Mr. Patterson et. al is that conversations in his novels are often clipped and sometimes sound false. I often think, "who would say that?" At the same time, the plot captures me everytime. The juxtaposition of the flu ridden Bennet clan with the serial killer was just right. We got a sense of Mike's personal and professional woes. I enjoy this character and hope to see more of him in future novels.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    Page Turner

    Great page turner if you want to read a fast-paced book. Be prepared to not put this book down. Great pulp fiction read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Run For Your Life

    I just finished this book and I am sooooo loving the charecter, Detective Michael Bennett almost as much as I love Alex Cross (the Alex Cross series) and Lindsey Boxer (Women's Murder Club)! The action is great and keeps you on the edge of your seat and asking, WHAT NEXT!!?? All I can say is........MORE PLEASE!!!!!!! James Patterson is an awesome author!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Run for Your Life Keeps you turning pages faster and faster...

    This is a very fast past, and typical james Patterson novel. Very suspensful. Charactors are interesting, you like Michael Bennet more in this second novel that in in "Step on a Crack" when he was intoduced.
    Look forward to more books with his NY Cop story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    So-so!

    I can't put my finger on any particular reason...but I was slightly disappointed with this book. I just couldn't become a "participant" in this tale..although it was well written. Having lived in New York city at one time...I had no trouble accepting the "attitude" of the characters...but the book left me convinced that it would make a much better action movie than a book. Perhaps therein lies my disappointment. This book was written for prime time...or the big screen. Not as a literary companion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    Run For Your Life to Get This Book

    This is a must read. It is an exceptionally easy book to read. You get caught up in it from the first page and , it is a very difficult book to put down. Once you start to read Run For Your Life, you keep reading it to see what happens next. All three members of my family read it and loved it. Run to Barnes and Noble to buy it immediately !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    James Patterson keeping you guessing

    Good antidote to too much bad news - real escapism

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    The book was great and i could not put it down. My daughter has read and felt the same way. We think it would make a great movie. Patterson at his best.

    i did not care for his last book or two and thought i would be disappointed but certainly much better than i expected. If you are a Patterson fan, read the book you will not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 142 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8