BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Run from Fear

Average Rating 4
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

Could not put it down. Can't wait to see what happens next.

posted by 1310996 on November 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I could not stand Talia! I am all for being independent but she

I could not stand Talia! I am all for being independent but she took it to the point where I had no sympathy for her. She is what I consider a TSTL heroine. Pride and stubborness comes at a cost, and she sure almost cost Jack his life. This is one book I will never rea...
I could not stand Talia! I am all for being independent but she took it to the point where I had no sympathy for her. She is what I consider a TSTL heroine. Pride and stubborness comes at a cost, and she sure almost cost Jack his life. This is one book I will never read again.

posted by elizam on March 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    Awesome

    Could not put it down. Can't wait to see what happens next.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Do the deeply broken parts of us ever heal? Talia Vega has seen

    Do the deeply broken parts of us ever heal?

    Talia Vega has seen the worst in humanity and lived to bring them to their knees. She has a history of less than ideal decision making to account for, and does so every day to redeem her sins. Talia has done her best to shake off the nightmares and take care of her younger sister the best possible way she can.

    However, when the past shows back up enter Talia’s personal white knight, Jack Brooks to help her out. Jack and Talia crossed paths before when Talia was running from her demons and all these years Talia thought him long gone from her life. Talia pretended she never gave Jack a thought when, and it turns out Jack has never left her life. He just lived in the shadows walking in the background making sure everything was okay and no one was bothering her. Jack knows how it is to be manipulated and abused and what happened to Talia is not going to be repeated on his watch. The past always has a way of coming back to haunt you and Talia’s is knocking on the door but Jack is standing there with her holding it back.

    The passion between Jack and Talia is as out of control from the moment they are back in the same room driving down all of the carefully constructed walls surrounding Talia’s heart. Being independent does not mean you have to be alone but Talia is going to take this a day at a time so that when the evil is purged this time it never comes back.

    Jami Alden has a gift to drive her readers to the brink of obsession with being scared. You will be happy to leave the lights on to get through because you have to know how this story comes together.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    I could not stand Talia! I am all for being independent but she

    I could not stand Talia! I am all for being independent but she took it to the point where I had no sympathy for her. She is what I consider a TSTL heroine. Pride and stubborness comes at a cost, and she sure almost cost Jack his life. This is one book I will never read again.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Ugh

    Couldn't stand the female lead. Ugh. 'Nuff said.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Originally posted on Lovey Dovey Books This is my first time re

    Originally posted on Lovey Dovey Books

    This is my first time reading a novel by Jami Alden and I have to say that I'm not quite impressed. Run From Fear is a romantic suspense novel following Talia Vega and her sister as they run from Talia's dangerous past. But, someone may be trying to scare Talia to repay her for all the trouble she caused in bringing down a crime operation. This is where Jack Brooks comes in. He guards over Talia, even when she doesn't want his help, and forces her to face her fear of the past and future.

    I experienced the romance in this story, but the suspense and mystery aspect was shattered. There's a small turn in the story that leads to one temporary unknown, but readers know who the culprit is early on. Run From Fear is written in third person perspective and switches between characters, mostly Jack and Talia, but occasionally we're in the mind of the madman. I'm not saying that this format takes away from suspense and mystery in every novel, but there just wasn't enough subterfuge in this story to cause me to second-guess myself. I felt like I was just watching and waiting for the characters to figure out something I already knew.

    Now comes the action of the story. Talia and her sister eventually become kidnapped, but their rescue was just too easy. I won't give away details, but the scene was only a few pages long. I do appreciate that the last scenes weren't drawn out and boring, but I feel that for all the drama Talia was put through, the ending was slightly anti-climatic.

    *eGallery provided by Netgalley on behalf of publisher*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Talia Vega went through hell in the first two books of this seri

    Talia Vega went through hell in the first two books of this series. We also saw the many faces Talia had to put on to survive throughout those books. Here we get to see her in a new light but very damaged from the entire past trauma she has been through.

    Her sister Rosario now goes to school at Stanford and has adjusted well.

    Jack has never been far from Talia even though he hasn’t let her know he has been keeping an eye on her and helping her behind the scenes for the past 2 years. He has been in love with Talia since he first met her 2 1/2 years ago but knows Talia probably can’t love him back.

    The biggest shock of this book for me was the Security Company Jack works for Gemini Securities and the men that work there. They had their own series before this one. They were all predominantly throughout this book and their wives and children. So now I am going to have to go back and read their stories.

    This was the weakest of the three books but I am glad and Talia and Jack got here HEA they both deserved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Roseblood

    Dips her head

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Just Ok

    Did not like Talia. Found her annoying and selfish. Would not read another book with her as lead. Beyond that I enjoyed the previous books in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2012

    Very good read

    I really liked this book. Will probably be buying more of Jami Alden's writings. Characters were very likeable. Story was easy to follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2012

    I was very cautious about reading Talia's book as it could have

    I was very cautious about reading Talia's book as it could have easily become very cheesy with her past and the fact that Jack rescued her once before. I was not disappointed at all. I love that Talia wanted nothing more than to make it on her own. I think that it was expertly written how she was incredibly pissed that decisions were made for her and without her knowledge. The connection between Talia and Jack was evident from the first sighting in the bar with his first visit, but the fact that she didn't give an inch made watching their union all that more fun. The villain was uber creepy, I kind of wish there had been a little more back story on him, from him being this genius with a horrible mother turning in to a serial rapist didn't jibe all that well with me. I hope this series continues, I have enjoyed the Gemini men.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    "Run From Fear" by Jami Alden was a good romantic su



    "Run From Fear" by Jami Alden was a good romantic suspense read for me. The story is of Talia Vega who was trying to have a normal life... in Northern California with her eighteen year old sister (Roseario) after she had earlier gone through a living hell of a life with Nat Brewster, David Maxwell, and Margaret Grayson-Maxwell.

    Life was looking up for Talia until she started receiving 'gifts' that had been previously given to her by David Maxwell. Talia had made some bad mistakes with her life and was trying to put it all behind her and started a new life for herself and her sister. And then an old friend comes back into her life....Jack Brooks. Talia did not know that Jack had been watching over her for the past two years... and there the story really takes off presenting many twist and turns all over the place.... in that Talia was still having to deal with all the fear from being kidnapped to her now trying to rebuild a normal her life with her sister. What part is Jack in her life and does she care of him? These are questions that will be answered in the read. Jack had been there for Talia and her sister for he had always been very protective of Talia... waiting patiently for her that maybe there would be a romantic relationship for them ...oneday....


    Jack had a very horrible life with his own family life . He had also had trouble trying to save a friend .... a Green Beret teammate then later the aftermath of the murder-suicide and now he was back to help with Talia and the threats that were going on in her life. There was
    indeed a up and down situations that you will only have to read this for yourself to truly understand just what was going on between these two people (Talia and Jack). Sometimes Talia was truly a headache... in that could she not see what was in front of her own eyes? But I can understand .... Talia had been through so much pain!


    In the end you will see that "Run From Fear" was mainly about keeping Talia safe from the maniac who now wanted her dead. The characters were all very well played and the vicious villains.... wow! Will you find that this hero and heroine were really made for each other? You must read this good read to find out. Truly, I would not mind having a hero like Jack!

    "Run From Fear" was indeed a very interesting suspenseful romantic read and if you are in for that.... you will love this read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2012

    Excellent book.

    Mystery ...fear... romance.
    It is nice to have a female be proactive in her safty. Great book- storyline pulls you in and does not let go.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Jami Alden Run from Fear

    Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2012

    Jack has always protected Talia, even from afar when he had to.


    Jack has always protected Talia, even from afar when he had to. Now she's in need of his protection again. He's patiently waited for Talia, in the hope that someday she may be ready for a romantic relationship after her horrific ordeal. Talia needs Jack, but could she…ever…be ready for more? She fears the answer will always be no.

    I think Run From Fear is another awesome romantic suspense from Jami Alden! She knows how to mix the romance with the suspense in such a riveting way, you'll be hooked. You'll be wrapped up in the events as they occur, fidgeting in your seat all the way. It all seems so real you just want to jump right in and tell everyone what's going to happen. The romance between Jack and Talia has underlying currents of sexual tension and when that explodes, all I can say is ooh la la! I highly recommend Run From Fear and will be anxiously awaiting Ms. Alden's next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    Talia Vega has been running from her past for two years and Jac

    Talia Vega has been running from her past for two years and Jack Brooks was the one to pull her out of her hell. Talia can't leave her past in the past. When she is working and Jack shows up for the first time in two years. She wonders why now. She was just getting her life on tack. Her sister Rose thinks of him a god. Later that night when Rose and Talia are home and the alarm is set it goes off. They lock themselves in a room and Rose secretly calls Jack and when he shows up, he tells Talia that she needs to upgrade her alarm system. She tells him that she can't afford it and he offers to pay it or do it for free. She won't have any of that and tells him no. When Talia and Rose return home from the gym they find Jack and a few men putting in a new alarm system. She freaks out and can't believe that he went behind her back. When Jack points out that someone tried to break in the night before she quickly changes her mind. When more things start to show up from her horrible past she turns to the only man she has ever trusted with her life. The problem is can she trust him with her heart?

    I really like how this books leaves you guessing who is stalking Talia. And I also love she can take care of herself. She has been training and now knows how to defend herself. The love that Jack has for Talia makes my heart melt! This book has everything for action to steamy love scenes! I highly recommend this book to anyone that like Cynthia Eden's Deadly series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2