Customer Reviews for

Runaway

Average Rating 3.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2006

    Very Pleased

    This is the first book of Munro's that I have read and I bought it because of all the good reviews. I was very pleased with it and hope to read more of Munro's work. The stories here truly put you in someone else's shoes and touch your heart. Highly recommended!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    So perfect and simple!

    These stories are so unassuming, so. . ., well, I don't want to say ordinary, so let's say quotidian. You don't realize how they are affecting you, until you finish them, and everything that has filled you up leaves you. Through the simplest words and action, she creates something so vivid and relatable. I can see why she's so famous.

    I loved the stories about Juliet. (CHANCE, SOON, SILENCE). The first story (RUNAWAY) was great as well. I was totally thrown on any motivations of the characters. She gave you just enough to try and figure everything out. Such subtlety is appreciated. Also, PASSION, was wonderful. The plot was a shocker, but the motivations, one's ability to act impulsively, in a dream-like state almost, was captured here. We have all certainly had inexplicable moments such as these. I think my favorite, plotwise, was "Tricks", seeing as I'm simultaneously reading Stephen King's THE DARK HALF.

    All in all---really wonderful stuff. I read this collection because I was so moved by THE LOVE OF A GOOD WOMAN. I'm adding something else to my list to read right now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2005

    Look no more

    Looking for a truly great collection of stories, say along the lines of Jackson McCrae's 'Children's Corner' or possibly those of Flannery O'Connor? Then look no more----you've just found it. Alice Munro is one great writer and these little gems are worth every cent you'll pay for them. A Canadian treasure!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2005

    A masterpiece, pure and simple, deep and true.

    This book is a pleasure to read. By the end of this gripping story, the plots and subplots are interwoven to make one plot that could only be thought up by a genius. I won't say any more so I don't spoil the book. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2005

    Inspirational

    This is a beautifully written work and a pleasure to read. I had not read Munro before until I laid my hands on this book. That is why I consider this book as a revelation .The stories are heart-touching, full of lessons and inspirational. The characters are rich, vividly drawn and genuine. I must add that the stories are very insightful, and with that comes the boundlessness and timelessness of it all, as they show how small events can change lives, and how different those events appear to us after. Munro's unique portrayal of everyday aspects of life is rare around and the richness of it will make you want to read all of her other books. Most of the stories tell us how the characters that are easy to relate to are changed by events for forever The fact that this book is a series of well written stories that delve into the thoughts and dreams of the characters, thoughts and dreams that we all share, makes RUNAWAY and the other stories a recommended read. It is a superbly written work that takes its time to work its charm on you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2004

    Beautifully Written

    This is a charming book that is beautifully written. It is a pleasure to read. It is the type of book that any woman can enjoy, and I recommend it for yourself or as a gift.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2004

    I'm telling everyone about this book

    I feel like I am the first one to discover a treasure. My copy arrived on a Friday and by Saturday afternoon I had read the entire book. It was wonderful! The stories are heart touching and inspirational, and the characters genuine. The minute I finished reading I picked up the phone and called my dearest friends, none of whom had heard of this great book. We share our favorites and I am sure they are going to love this one. One of them had recommended a great book to me last month: A YEAR SINCE YESTERDAY by George Edward Zintel. That book was as good as this one so I feel we are even now. ha ha. If you love great stories and great writing get these two wonderful books. A YEAR SINCE YESTERDAY lists as paperback but comes as a large softcover. RUNAWAY comes hardcover. And remember, Christmas is just around the corner. Books make great presents.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2004

    Stellar collection of insight into the human heart

    When recommend a book to someone, I try to keep in mind what they¿re interested in. The joy of Munro¿s books is that you don¿t have to do this¿they¿re really about any and everything and the writing is so accessible and intelligent that anyone can pick these up and like them. If you enjoyed Jackson McCrae¿s THE CHILDREN¿S CORNER or David Egger¿s HOW WE ARE HUNGRY, then you¿ll love Munro¿s latest collection. Of all the stories in this staggering little bunch, ¿Powers¿ was, for me, the most riveting. Dealing with a young woman who has the ability to read the future, her escapades start the ball rolling (not always in a good direction) for family and friends. Munro is a Canadian, and one might suspect she would be somewhat limited in her material. Not so. These stories are filled with insight that cuts across geography and time. If you enjoy good writing that takes its time to work its charm on you, then I strongly suggest you try RUNAWAY. If you haven¿t read the Eggers or the McCrae yet, those are musts. With the short story form coming back into vogue, these are all winners.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1