Customer Reviews for

Runaway

Average Rating 4.5
( 74 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Highly recommend it to horse lovers

I really enjoyed the book. I read it all in one sitting it was so good!!! I rocommend it to horse lovers and the series to animal lovers too.

posted by ANIMALLOVER0987 on November 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Shelby

*surfaces and whistle* dam duckie ur looking good xD*gets on the edge of the pool*

posted by Anonymous on July 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 26, 2011

    Highly recommend it to horse lovers

    I really enjoyed the book. I read it all in one sitting it was so good!!! I rocommend it to horse lovers and the series to animal lovers too.

    18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    Loved it

    Dakota Brown is a foster kid who is constantly planning to run away. Even prior to arriving at Starlight Animal Rescue ("Where problem horses are trained and loved, where abandoned dogs become heroes, where stray cats become loyal companions, and where people with nowhere to fit in find a place to belong"), she is already plotting her escape. She loves to make lists, because they make her feel in control.
    What she doesn't yet know is that this family is perfect for her. They love Jesus, animals, and her. Speaking of animals, even though Dakota has never been around horses (she's only studied them in books), turns out....she's a horse whisperer. :)
    An abused horse she names Blackfire just may save her life.

    This is a great new series by Dandi Daley Mackall.

    11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    A truly wonderful book

    Recently I sat down and read Runaway, the first book in Dandi Daley Mackall's Starlight Animal Rescue series. Having never read one of Mackall's books before, I wasn't quite sure what to expect, even though I had heard a lot of really good things about some of her other teen book series. All in all, I have to say that I was very much pleased, and that this book exceeded my expectations.
    Runaway tells the story of Dakota Brown, an orphan who has a penchant for running away from the foster homes she gets placed in. So when she gets dropped off at the Starlight Animal Rescue farm, she has no plans of sticking around. Once she hears back from her friend in Chicago and formulates a plan she'll be away from this place for good. That is, until she meets Blackfire, a horse who just might be more afraid of life then she is. But will this horse, and the crazy cast of characters who reside at the farm with her, be able to soften her heart and show her what truly matters in life before it's too late?
    Wow, I have to say that I was extremely impressed with this book. Mackall definitely has a love for all animals, especially horses, and that truly shines through in this book. The way she describes the horses, how they act, what they smell like, and how a person feels when they're around them is truly amazing. I honestly don't think anyone can write about horses the way she does. So if you are looking for an enjoyable, faith based book for a young reader, I would most definitely recommend this book, because I know that whoever reads it will absolutely love it.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    Great book!

    This book is about a teenage girl, Dakota Brown, who is a foster kid. She has run away from many other foster homes and before she even gets to the Coolidges farm, Starlight Animal Rescue, she has begun to form her plan to run away. At the farm she meets a runaway horse and they understand each other well. As Dakota works with the horse, which she renames Blackfire, she begins to learn about love, God, horses and why she always runs away. Another great read. This book also includes a bit Winnie the Horse Gentler, through e-mails that Dakota writes to the pet help line, which was great because I wasn't ready to let her go yet!

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    Highly recommended

    A fast moving book and a very good story.

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Outstanding

    I really enjoyed this book it was sooo amazing!! Its a true feel good story

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Awesome book

    This book is aawesomi recamend you read this amazing story

    6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    X Best book ever

    Such a good book! One of the best books ive ever read

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    great story

    Dakota Brown, a 15 year-old girl who has been in seven foster homes is on her way to the next one and has already decided she will run away. Turns out, this foster home is an animal rescue farm and Dakota takes a liking to a horse named Blackfire who she has an effect on.
    A new series by Dandi Daley Mackall, author of the best-selling Winnie the Horse Gentler series!

    I've run away seven times-never once to anything, just away from. Maybe that's why they call me a "runaway," and not a "run-to."

    Meet 16-year-old Dakota Brown. She used to love all things "horse" until she lost everything, including hope. The minute she sets foot on her foster parents' farm-Starlight Animal Rescue-she plans her escape. But can an "impossible" horse named Blackfire and this quirky collection of animal lovers be the home she's always dreamed of?
    Starlight Animal Rescue: Where problem horses are trained and loved, where abandoned dogs become heroes, where stray cats become loyal companions. And where people with nowhere to fit in find a place to belong.

    My thoughts...

    Dakota goes through a lot and learns valuable lessons from this family, including two other foster kids. She learns to love and to be loved. I loved the warm characters, even the animal ones. The interaction between them is amazing.

    This was a very easy-to-read story for all ages, a nice story of transformation, not overly pushy with the preaching but a story that does lead to the love of God.

    I give it 5 stars.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    I really loved this book:)

    Guys, this is really a great book you will love it!:)

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Great book

    Loved everything about it

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    From tapp here - it' the firs non sad horse book ive read!!!

    I read runaway and it was NOT sad at all it is now one of my favorite books. But thanks for answering to below any how

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Jackson

    "The party god is here!!!!" Fireworks and other pyrotechnics explode behind him dramatically.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    To jackson

    Are u hot and how old r u

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Tanner to shelby

    Hey baby cakes *takes my shirt off showing my six pack Nd nice tan*

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    Sky G

    Ok

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Runaway

    I love this book so good

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Great

    I think if you like horse books then this is a great book. Their are big changes in the book. Its very good. I would recomend it for 8+.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    Anonymous

    Hi everyone i really enjoyed reading this bookwith my sissys an bros it is a cute book it is not a waste of money



    Xoxo,lov this book buy it






    YOLO

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Great book especaly r Great book for animal lovers

    Great book for animal and vet lovers

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3