Customer Reviews for

Runaway

Average Rating 4.5
( 154 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(112)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

omg a gr8 book!!!!!!!!!!

this is 1 of the best books I have ever read! i am 14 and my mom got this 4 hanukkah! i luved reading about a girl my age who ran away. it really made me wanna read evry page! so far I have red it 4 times and 1 just got it!

posted by Anonymous on December 24, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Runaway

"I want a home! I want a dog! I want someplace where I belong!"

Holly who is a young girl living on the streets is doing what she has to in order to stay alive. This isn't her first time running away, she gets smarter each time. She's not just an ordinary kid running...
"I want a home! I want a dog! I want someplace where I belong!"

Holly who is a young girl living on the streets is doing what she has to in order to stay alive. This isn't her first time running away, she gets smarter each time. She's not just an ordinary kid running away for attention, she had a bad child hood after her mother's death therefore, got taken in by people who treat her horribly. She tries to run away from her past but she is being reminded of the past everywhere she goes.

This book is told in first person point of view, through Holly's notebook where she writes her thoughts and poems. Ms. Leone, who was Holly's teacher, gave Holly this journal to write in everyday. Holly hates the idea but when she runs away she finds herself writing in it all the time. She finds herself opening up and talking about things she tried so long to forget about. The notebook makes time go a lot quicker when she is bored and even helps when she is scared sleeping on the streets, she writes in it to make her feel better.

Holly is on a mission. It's to go as far away from her house as possible. One of her adventures is to get to California, all she can think about is being a sea gypsy. She hops in the luggage compartment of a train so anxious to get there, that's if she don't suffocate first. She gets to California and hates it. Cement everywhere, that's not what she was looking forward to. She heads to the beach and goes through a big adventure getting there.

Holy meats a girl named Sammie who introduces her to two other women, who is a mother and a daughter. After everything she has been through Holly thinks this can be it. She may just actually belong somewhere.

I really like how the author Wendelin Van Draanen makes it feel like I am in Holly's shoes going thought these adventures and close deaths. The author did a great job of not giving to much information and there were no parts where I was bored. She made it as whatever events holly wants us to know about she will tell us. Its just so amazing hearing what Holly goes through how this young girl is dealing with these situations. She's not an average twelve year old, she is a very strong, smart girl. Reading what Holly writes in her journal makes her sound a lot older but the author adds stuff to the book reminding us this is a very young girl.

If you're looking for a book to keep you on your feet, not want to put the book down this is it. The genre of this book is realistic fiction. It's so amazing to just imagine this girl going through the most outrageous situations and surviving through it all. It just reminds us not to give up.

posted by 1153681 on March 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Runaway

    Runaway
    Kimberly Muth

    In Wendelin Van Draanen's book Runaway Holly a 12 year old girl runs away from her old life. A child of cruel foster parents, the idea of running away to the city of Angels will be great. On her own the struggle for survival begins in this heart wrenching, bittersweet book.
    Everybody wants a home with comfort and people who love you, but not everyone has that. Holly is not just running away from her old life she is running away from her mother. I think running away for Holly is trying to forget her mother. Accepting the fact that "my mother loved heroin more than she loved me" is hard.
    This book is great for all kinds of readers; it keeps readers interested. I think running away can happen but Holly keeps getting lucky like she did not get found when she stowed away on a bus and I think that could not happen. The way Wendelin Van Draanen writes I can image the story and plot. Runaway makes readers think that family is important, maybe as important as anything.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    This book is so good!

    I've re-read this book so many times. I love it. I couldn't put it down. (:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2011

    Pretty Good.

    I am reading the book, Runaway. So far I really like this book. I like how its written from the main character's point of view. It helps me understand exactly how the characters feeling and what she's going through. I also like how it is written as a journal. I like this because I think was a creative and interested way to write the story. Lastly, I like how she came from a bad home life, and all these bad things had happened to her. Like having creepy foster parents and being an outcast at school. I felt like this gave the character motivation. What I didn't like was how unrealistic it was. She has been roaming around the states for along time, yet no one has questioned her. The fact that nothing bad really happened to her was unrealistic too. You'd think more bad things would happen to a homeless 12 year. Like, a fellow hobo, trying to steal from her, or touch or hurt her. The last thing I didn't like was how her writing seemed so educated. To me she seemed like a punk, but in her journal all her thoughts were organized and sounded very intelligent. I think the author should've used more slang terms, and made it sound more like a child. Overall I liked the book, and would recommend it to anyone who likes adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2011

    beautiful

    this book is a must read, it's full of adveture, humor, and drama. it tells the story of a unlucky girl and her life. it makes you have a different view of the world, i mea who hasn't seen a homeless person on the streets? if you did you would've most likely ignore that person and him or her as if they didn't exist, it's as if this book uses details and humour to show us the fourtunate people the pain of the unfortunate. but this book is really really amazing, it gave me a new perspective in life........

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2010

    You won't want to put this book down!

    Runaway-Book Report Sarah Bever Pd.2 I recommend the book Runaway to other students for many reasons. This book is very adventurous, it has lots of poetry, and it has an exciting plot throughout the entire book. To start off, this book is extremely adventurous. For example, the main character, Holly, is twelve years old and she decides to run away alone. Before running away, she lived with many foster parents and some of them were abusive. Moreover, she has to figure out how she is going to get food, from soup kitchens, thrown away school cafeteria food, or stolen food. Also, in the journal she keeps along the way, she has written about all the challenges and different places and things she has seen. Another important reason is that it is full of poems. This is a great quality for this book to have because it makes the book more interesting. Additionally, it tells what Holly is feeling through poems better than her just bluntly stating it. Furthermore, it shows many different types of poems such as cinquain, free verse, and a few others. This shows that the book has an educational value. In short, this book has many pieces of poetry. Along with the other reasons, this book keeps it exciting throughout the whole plot. This is another good quality because if the book has a bad beginning, middle, or end, you won't finish reading the book or you won't ever recommend the book. This book keeps it exciting by the fact she talks about everything she is going through in her journal. Usually, if one challenge just got conquered, another appears. Of course, it gets intense in areas because a twelve year old is trying to survive as a "runaway". It also gets interesting reading about the different strategies she uses of not getting caught. As a result, this book keeps you on your toes. I understand other students might not agree with my opinion. On the other hand, if you like adventurous books, Runaway should be your top pick. Runaway is different by the point of view it comes from. In most books, there is just a narrator telling the story. In Runaway, it comes from Holly's perspective in her journal so you know how she is actually feeling. To sum up, Runaway is one of the best books I have ever read. As I have said, it is very adventurous, it contains much poetry, and its excitement keeps you reading during the whole book. Therefore, if you like these qualities in a book that I have talked about, I suggest Runaway as your first choice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Runaway is good for teen reading

    A good book for a coming of age young lady

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Mechele R. Dillard for TeensReadToo.com

    Twelve-year-old Holly has had enough of "the system." She is not going to let another foster dad touch her, or allow another foster mom to hit her. If she runs away, she knows she will have to fend for herself, but at least she won't have to worry about being locked in a utility room without food, or having her head shoved in a toilet as punishment for refusing to be touched. And, most appealing of all, she will not have to face being called a liar by the adults in "the system." <BR/><BR/>Holly believes that trusting adults can only result in trouble for her, and she cannot bring herself to take a leap of faith with her teacher, Ms. Leone. However, when she gives Holly a journal and suggests she explore writing as a source of comfort, Holly decides to give it a try, even though she is certain it is a waste of time: "Giving me this journal was a totally lame thing to do. You think writing will get me out of here? You think words will make me forget about the past? Get real, Ms. Leone!" (p. 1). However, over the next several months, Holly finds that the journal is the only friend she can trust, the only one that is always there for her and, ultimately, the only guide that keeps her on track to something better. <BR/><BR/>RUNAWAY, presented entirely as journal entries, follows Holly from May 17th until December 1st, as she chronicles her life on the streets and her constant search for food, a bath, and a warm place to sleep. Some of the poems seem a bit much to have come from the pen of a twelve-year-old, until one considers that Holly's life as a "gypsy"--inspired by a way of life one would hope is a bit much to actually exist in the real world, but, unfortunately, is neither farfetched nor unrealistic--makes her mature expression of ideas more than plausible. <BR/><BR/>RUNAWAY could be a real eye-opener for middle school kids, while easily being engaging enough for older teens. Additionally, although at 272 pages the book may appear lengthy for younger readers, the journal format will actually appeal to readers with shorter attention spans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2008

    Read this for a book report

    i liked the book overall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2008

    a book that will touch your heart

    My librarian once told me that there are kids on the street who beg for money. They were called gypsy kids. She thought they were like that because they wanted to until she read the book, Runaway. Now she sees them differently. I read this book and it touched my heart. This book is for kids who don't realize they're lucky to have the parents they have. So stop complaining. To see my point just read this book. It was a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2008

    Runaway Book Review

    ¿Runaway¿ is an intense book about the challenging life of Holly Janquell, a runaway former foster child who is faced with the hardships and dangers of being a homeless twelve year old in Los Angeles California. In this book you will find out how the life of Holly goes from being sexually abused and locked away in the laundry room in her foster homes to free sea gypsy on the sunny beaches of California. This autobiography is a riveting story that will tug at your heartstrings and make you think twice when you see a homeless living on the street. The author, Wendelin Van Draanen, has a captivating way of writing and really has you glued to the pages on which Holly spills her life's secrets into a journal that her teacher Miss Leone gave her and she will never see her again. Two thumbs way up for this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2