Customer Reviews for

The Runaway Bunny

Average Rating 4.5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    TIMELESS AND CLASSIC!

    My mom read this to me when I was a child and now that I am 7 1/2 months pregnant with my first child, it takes on a whole new meaning. This book is wonderful and I think it defines what being a good mother is. I would highly recommend it to any mother with children of all ages.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    Stupid. When I read this book to my kids, they got bored and so

    Stupid. When I read this book to my kids, they got bored and so did I. The little bunny tells his mother he wants to escape for no reason at all. The mother says she will change into whatever she needs to change into in order to keep stalking him. That's it. There's nothing more to it. . . . Yawn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2013

    This is one of those books that I can't believe I haven't writte

    This is one of those books that I can't believe I haven't written about sooner.  I started reading this book to my son early in his first year.  He is well into his fifth year and I still read it to him, when I can find it.  It's that finding it thing that might explain the delay in the review.  This is one of those books that he likes to read himself.  At night.  When he is supposed to be sleeping.  I found it under his bed tonight when I was chasing the cat out of his room.
    I think it is best to have a healthy sense of humor when reading Runaway Bunny; otherwise, it might seem a bit strange or creepy.  The premise is that the young rabbit has decided that he wants to run away from home, so he decides to turn into another creature or object, like a crocus, to hide or run away.  His mother then says she will turn into another creature or object, like a gardener, to find him.  After of few of these proposed transitions, the young rabbit decides to stay home.  And his mother gives him a carrot.  Early on, my son laughed at the exaggeration of the story.  That, as I've said, is the best way to enjoy the book.
    Clarence Hurd's illustrations also help set the stage for levity and not gravity.  They also are extreme in their exaggeration and imbibed with subtle humor.  The sailboat and cloud is particularly wonderfully silly. His illustrations are, in short, perfect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2011

    a real classic

    a timeless message of reassurance for a young child

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    A MUST for kids

    My daughter is 3years old she loves this book. I highly recommend the "lap Edition" after reading each page the next one has all the things you can point out to, she takes her time to find every little thing I just read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    My automatic new-baby book

    I have loved this book since I was little, finding it even more of a classic than the classic Goodnight Moon. I think its message is timeless (no matter what the little bunny does, mommy will find him and come to him and take care of him); the illustrations are beautiful, and the rhythm of the text itself is soothing. Every friend of mine that has a baby gets a copy of this book from me; it's become my "signature baby gift"!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Classic story with unique and beautiful illustration

    This book is a favorite for my daughter with autism. She enjoys the black and white illustrations mixed with color illustrations. The board book version is sturdy. I recommend it for both typical and special needs children who enjoy books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Simply Wonderful!

    I read this ages ago and recently gave it as a gift to a friend. Her daughter was having some anxiety issues when being dropped off to her classroom. They read this daily and it has become her favorite story. It has also reassured her that her mom will never leave her. It's a beautiful story and a must have for anyone's collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    Mother's Love Always Unconditional

    When I used to read Runaway Bunny to my son (now 21), I still remember the look of absolute awe in his face that a mommy could love her child with her whole heart no matter what the child did. After we would read it, he would come up with all kinds of imaginative scenarios to test it, and I would reply the same way the mother in the Runaway Bunny did -- you are my child, and I will always love you. Over the years he has had many real life opportunities to test it, and the answer has always remained the same (sometimes with difficulty during the teenage years!). I recommend this lovely story for all new moms -- and dads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    Baby Classic

    This is my traditional baby shower gift! It was given to me when my daughter was born 20 yeats ago and has been a favorite ever since. My daughter loved to read it with me and now my grandchildren are doing the same. A great "Mommy" book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2009

    Touching Story of a Mother's Love

    Runaway Bunny is wonderful for kids in that it reveals how deep a mother's love is/can be and how far she is willing to go for the good of her child. It has good illustrations. They are simple but demonstrative. The story line is easy to follow and engaging. It has one of the most important lessons for kids to learn -- the nature of maternal love. The interactivity comes from the fact that the story is moving and the analogy to life is clear, so my daughter was consistently interactive because of its impact. Great for reading aloud. It is a comforting story, so it is good for bedtime and other times of unease. Wonderful book for small children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    Runaway Bunny, a special book.

    This is one my favorite children's book. I still have my son's book given to him twenty eight years ago and just recently bought a new one for a first time mother. I was amazed when I read just this year that the author did not have children which makes this story all the more special. She truly captures the essence of a mother's love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2008

    Wholesome

    This is the type of book that teaches a child how very much their mother (parents) love them and to what extents they will go to protect them. More books like this are needed for children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2008

    MY FAVORITE BOOK FOR MY KIDS

    LOVE LOVE this book. It is my all time favorite book to read to my kids as they were growing up. It is a great gift to anyone having a baby. Such a clever story. A must read for any mom to their kids!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2008

    Bunny Runs Away with Excellence

    This beautifully illustrated book allows any child to identify with the main character, easily making this story a keepsake and one of those 'never forget' stories. A mother's unconditional love, and a child's need for independence and safety brings this story to an outstanding level.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2007

    Fantastically Ageless

    i love, love ,love this book. the pictures are great and so expressive. my sister read it to me when i was young, i read it to my son and now he reads it to his little sister and he's only 5.he follows the pictures when he lost on the words ,and has not missed a beat yet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book brings back such great childhood memories for me. I loved the pictures and the story then and I love the pictures and story now. I recommend this book for every child's library. What a great display of unconditional love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2007

    Building kids' imaginations

    My son and I go on day trips all the time like bike rides, to parks, to rivers, streams and ponds, in the woods, etc. This is one of the books that taught him that 'There's a whole big world out there!' It also taught him that above all, your mom and dad love you most.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2007

    It is a fiction book

    I love this book because it has really detailed pictures and color. The words are good and kind of funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2007

    It's Ageless!

    My 49-year old daughter GAVE THIS BOOK TO ME several years ago! She and her family live in Maine...her Dad and I are in New Mexico. I read this book every few months, and get teary-eyed each time. Just thinking about it now has me 'on the verge.' Love It!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3