Customer Reviews for

The Runaway Duke

Average Rating 4
( 67 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2004

    Runaway Duke

    Rebecca Tremaine is a curious, lively young girl who manages to get herself compromised by a handsome fop in search of a rich, disposable wife (she was trying to catch her sister in the midst of a midnight assignation with him, but her plan went horribly awry). Connor Riordan is the head groom in her father's stables -- and no one knows he is actaully the Duke of Dunbrooke, supposedly killed in battle at Waterloo. Connor never wanted the immense responsibility and gilded trappings of his birthright -- but when Rebecca comes to him for help, his past suddenly comes back for reckoning -- in the form of a blackmailing mistress and a mysterious locket. This book was simply wonderful. I could NOT put it down. The characters were so vivid and likable, even the villain, Edelston, and the villainess, Cordelia, as well as even the minor characters who show up along the way (I loved the gypsies!). The plot sweeps you along, with many surprising twists. And the love between Connor and Rebecca is so sweet and sexy, and almost blushingly real, the way it evolves. The writing is a cut above the usual romance fare -- Julie Anne Long is very skilled at description, and the dialogue is sharp and funny and realistic. I read a lot of romance, Stephanie Laurens in particular, and this is one of the best ones I've read in years. I didn't want it to end! I can't wait for her next book. HOpe this review helps anyone trying to decide to buy the book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Great!

    ***** = 5 star......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    I've just discovered this wonderful author. This is the third bo

    I've just discovered this wonderful author. This is the third book I've read so far. She has a wonderful way with words, the story line and developing the characters. I've enjoyed each and every book. They are easy to read and a;ways make me smile. Thumbs up!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2012

    Fantastic!

    Julie Anne Long knows how to write. There's a reason I keep reading books in the romance genre. I am constantly on the hunt for a good love story, and I found one in The Runaway Duke. It has everything I could possibly want in a story: a fantastic hero whose complexity is believable (anyone else sick to death of reading stories about a hero whose only character trait is that he's been crossed in love before and is now wary of the emotion? Oy...), a plucky and likable heroine, a villain with whom you can sympathize (a tiny bit)... It's pretty fantastic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Great read!

    This is even better than the first Julie Anne Long book that I read. Her characters are very easy to love and are perfect for each other. Rebecca has spirit and a genuine personality that is hard to resist, and has no sense of her own beauty. Connor is at times seems selfish but is really just in denial about his place in life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    A great read

    This has all you could wish for in an historical fiction story - a fun heroine and a hero eho is also just a man - I will definitely try another of her books. This was my first book by this author,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2006

    Read it in one sitting

    I just could not put this book down. I was up until 1:30 in the morning so I could finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2006

    Great, Romantic Regency Adventure!

    This was the first book I've read by Julie Anne Long but it won't be the last! She blends humor, excellent pacing and an intriguing premise with characters who you'll quickly come to care about. They are intelligent and honest and adventurous and the kind of people you want to know! I stayed up late to finish this novel. I highly recommend this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2004

    An Absolute Must Read!!

    This book is a treasure! I read it straight through in one sitting and fell completely in love with the characters! I am not usually a fan of historically-set stories, but this one sure broke the mold! I gave it to a friend of mine to read when I was done, and she raves about it as well! Get your hands on a copy of this book as soon as possible--you'll love it (and Connor Riordan)!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2004

    Very Entertaining!

    I enjoyed this book very much! It was a welcome escape from reality. Once I started it I couldn't put this book down. I would gladly read more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2004

    Runaway Duke

    What a find! I read the RT review, and this book got a Top Pick. The plot sounded fun and different, so I decided to check it out, though I'm not crazy about all of RT's picks. But I LOVED this! ONe thing that really stands out is that Julie Anne Long has a gift for dialogue -- I swear, she should write screenplays! The story moves quickly and you just can't put the book down, and each scene is like a wonderful little surprise. The hero, Connor, is vivid and sexy, and Rebecca is adorable. I read several scenes with a lump in my throat while i was smiling. But mostly I smiled the whole way through this book. All in all, It's sweet, sexy and unique. The publisher did a good job of summarizing the plot up top, so I won't go into it.I'll just say, you won't regret buying this book, and I doubt you'll be able to put it down once you do! I hope she writes more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2004

    Made my flight in coach bearable

    I was desparate for something to read on my flight home from San Francisco to Chicago. My sister-in-law works with the author, and she had a copy Ms. Long gave her. I was hesitant because it was this big printed and bound thing like the annual reports I deal with at work,(not a paperback yet)but I was desparate. Let me just say it made up for it's weight and bulkiness in pure enjoyment!I didn't care that I was smashed in the middle seat in coach - I never even noticed what was going on around me because I was so caught up in the story. I love to read but I tend to be a little snobbish when it comes to 'romance' novels, but this book transcends the typical romance novel formula. The pace is exciting and engaging, the characters are realistic, and I really have to compliment the author on her flair for dialogue. I even found the primary villians to be fully developed characters, not hokey-straight-out-of-central-casting caricatures. Oh - and there are great steamy scenes, too. Yummy!There is also alot of humor in it, too, which I adore. I hope this writer writes more books. I've already passed around the 'book report' as I call it, and so far everybody loves it. I pre-ordered a copy so I can read it again. I don't usually take the time to do this kind of thing (writing a review)but this book deserves as much praise as it can get. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2004

    A charming, witty book that you won't forget!

    A wonderful debut novel! Romance and adventure, intrigue and wit. I don't want to spoil the plot if you haven't read it (I was lucky enough to get an early printing), but the story involves a Duke in disguise and a genteel young woman on the run from an arranged marriage. A sensitively told story filled with real emotion, and enough twists to the plot to keep you turning the pages. I loved every word!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2004

    WOW! Get the word out -- stunning!

    I'm a member of a California book group, and we passed an ARC of this book around. It's nothing short of stunning! The characters are so unique and unforgettable, and the storyline is touching and very funny and original. We've never read anything quite like this book before, and we couldn't put it down. The love story between the hero and the heroine, Connor and Rebecca, unfolds so beautifully and convincingly, and Connor is one of the sexiest, realistic heros I've ever encountered. We recommend it highly. Hope Julie Anne Long plans to write many more books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2