Customer Reviews for

Runaway Girl: Escaping Life on the Streets

Average Rating 4.5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    This is one of the best books written on this subject.  I work w

    This is one of the best books written on this subject.  I work with runaways and have read dozens of books, some autobiographical and others biographical or even fiction.  This is in my opinion the best one on the market. 

    She has vivid details, does not glamorize anything, and does not try to "sell" the story.  The book tells the story from her perspective, helping the reader understand what is going on in this girls mind while she is on the streets.  The story then goes into detail about what helped her get off the streets, and what did not.

    It is rare to read a book that is both interesting and educational.  For anyone who wants to understand why children end up on the streets, I strongly encourage you to read this book.  And, for any teens thinking of running, read this first.  Life on the streets is not like a Disney movie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Excellent!

    Learn a little about what a human being can overcome. Kudos Carissa!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    Well written with a surprisingly detailed recollections of her t

    Well written with a surprisingly detailed recollections of her thoughts and feelings. It is not apologetic, whinny, melodramatic or attempting to place blame. Written with enough depth to feel like you can understand why a teenager in that situations would make the bad decisions she did and why she couldn't escape on her own. This book also gives some good insight into why the approaches of the adults in her life worked or didn't work (As a teacher I've struggled with on how to approach the 'bad kids').

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    'Runaway Girl' is a truly moving and uplifting memoir written by

    'Runaway Girl' is a truly moving and uplifting memoir written by Carissa Phelps about her life as a runaway and the subsequent consequences it presented. The story of her childhood and teenage years is absolutely heartbreaking. She takes us through her early home life and what caused her to leave her home. By the tender age of twelve, Carissa had gone through more than most would in their entire lives. The amount of abuse and pain that she endured made me cry at times - my heart felt so deeply for her.

    Carissa's life takes an unexpected turn for the better after a teacher and counselor begin to show her true kindness and to nurture her back to a healthy state. The latter part of the memoir tells of what happened to Carissa after the help of these two people. She flourished in a remarkable way and has even been helping the homeless and at-risk youth.

    'Runaway Girl' is at times heartbreaking and at other times so filled with hope. It's written with such a conversational tone that it's an easy read, and the reader is easily pulled into her story. The book is exceptionally well written and had me engrossed from the first page. I deeply empathized with Carissa and was able to share both her deep pain and her exhilarating joy throughout the novel. Carissa's life story is one that everyone should read - it's full of the harsh realities of life that oftentimes get swept under the rug, but her amazing ability to better herself and eventually to help others is a true inspiration that is direly needed in our world today.

    Disclosure: I received a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2012

    Simply Incredible Inspiring Story

    I could not put this book down. I have never read another book in which the author was so authentic and vulnerable. The way that Carissa chronicles her experiences and how she processes them is beautifully written and transparently descriptive.

    As a social worker, I would recommend “Runaway Girl” be required reading for anyone who works with children, especially children who have experienced trauma or demonstrate troubling behavior. Carissa shares her story in a way that allows us to understand we can all make a positive impact in any child’s life simply by valuing them instead of judging them.

    Although it is clear there are people who could be blamed for Carissa’s incredibly traumatic childhood, she tells her story without blame or self-pity, and without excuses. Her courage and resilience is a message of hope for anyone who has ever felt lost, unloved, abandoned, or valueless.

    After reading the book, I found it difficult to stop constantly thinking about all of the lessons I had gained from it and what I believe others could learn as well. Carissa captivates in the way she describes her inspirational journey.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2014

    Captivating

    Well written, emotional, a bit difficult at times due to the subject matter. This is an amazing and inspirational story of survival.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    Highly recommend

    This book is great ! Carissa is inspiring and takes you through the journey of her like . Being a child care worker and reading this book helps me understand the layers we have to peel back to help our youth . I was able to meet Carissa at a training and I
    So glad I bought this book . Must read!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1