Customer Reviews for

The Runaway Jury

Average Rating 4
( 220 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(94)

4 Star

(77)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Grisham at his Best

Runaway Jury was written when Grisham was at his best, back when he wrote books like A Time to Kill, the Pelican Brief & The Client. This was an excellent book (made into a good but not great movie).

posted by Ruthless on January 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

The Worst Book I Have Ever Read

Undoubtedly the worst book I have ever read. Granted, that I had to read this for school I was somewhat 'open-minded' to begin this book, but after a hundred pages I realized something, this is the most predictable and dragging book I have ever read. Trust me folks this...
Undoubtedly the worst book I have ever read. Granted, that I had to read this for school I was somewhat 'open-minded' to begin this book, but after a hundred pages I realized something, this is the most predictable and dragging book I have ever read. Trust me folks this a 550 page book you do not want to read. I can easily describe this book in 5 words 'The Biggest Hunk of Dirt',(because I wasn't allowed to say otherwise). Of course, everyone is entitled to their own opinion but I simply did not enjoy this book what so ever. If there was anything lower than one star that is what this would have recieved. (A generous -5 stars if you ask me). Do not waste the time or money on this, trust me.

posted by Anonymous on July 27, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 221 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Grisham at his Best

    Runaway Jury was written when Grisham was at his best, back when he wrote books like A Time to Kill, the Pelican Brief & The Client. This was an excellent book (made into a good but not great movie).

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2011

    One of the Greatest from Grisham

    I have read 6 books so far from John Grisham because I love the way he writes. This was actually the first book I read after becoming hooked on the author. Great plot and keep my wanting more and more. Ever since they came out with the Nook, and receiving one as a present, it makes me want to read more and I'm glad 'cause I've been missing out! Book is much better and different than the movie.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2012

    Loved the tension.The story gets better and better as the story

    Loved the tension.The story gets better and better as the story
    develops.The most i loved about this book, was that each character had
    his own stamp throughout the novel. Another great legal thriller from Grisham.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2011

    Fantastic

    So many great subplots it is too good not to put down!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    Loved Runaway Jury!

    This is the first book I've read by John Grisham and I think I will have to read more. I had seen some of the movies based on his books so I thought I'd give one of his books a try. As usual the book was way better than the movie. I just got a Nook so this was the first book I downloaded and read! I loved the detailed plot and the suspense. I think teens and adults will enjoy this book. The reading level is about 7th grade. There is minimumal sexuality or profanity; therefore, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend to my teenage daughter. If you thought about smoking this book will help change your mind. The main characters were very well developed. I'm trying to decide which Grisham novel to read next.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2013

    Fast moving story with many twists. A real page turner!

    Would recommend this book to anyone who appreciates the twists and turns of a jury trial. Grisham is at his best in this book as the story is so wild you think it can't be happening the way it is and then the twist at the end is terrific.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2005

    The Worst Book I Have Ever Read

    Undoubtedly the worst book I have ever read. Granted, that I had to read this for school I was somewhat 'open-minded' to begin this book, but after a hundred pages I realized something, this is the most predictable and dragging book I have ever read. Trust me folks this a 550 page book you do not want to read. I can easily describe this book in 5 words 'The Biggest Hunk of Dirt',(because I wasn't allowed to say otherwise). Of course, everyone is entitled to their own opinion but I simply did not enjoy this book what so ever. If there was anything lower than one star that is what this would have recieved. (A generous -5 stars if you ask me). Do not waste the time or money on this, trust me.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2014

    The Key of Life~ Comments

    I hoped by now you get this is a lot like Harry Potter. It is all about Voldemort's relative, Bellatrix Lestrange, who feels like if she tortures and even kills some wizards, Lord Voldemort would be pleased. 3 friends named Michael, Lilly and Shaun are first seeking to hide, but that plan gets turned around- it all starts when the Wilson family gets split up by Deaths- Bellatrix's Death eaters. Fred has gone missing and Shaun is determined to find him. When they find him in the Wilson's old house, Bellatrix herself shows up, and leaves abruptly- leaving the 5 to 1,000 Deaths- and that's just the start of the long war between Good and Evil... Please ask questions and comment! ~SKY

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2014

    Great read

    Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    A great read!

    I truly enjoyed this book. It kept you focused and riveted and very hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    The Runaway Jury

    Very detailed and not my "cup of tea".

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    Noooo

    I absouletly hated it? I had to read it for book club and it was afull.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    Another boring one.

    A whole bunch of nothing happened.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    What a watse of my time....:(((

    The reason why is because it does not take you in once you start reading like his other books for example A Time to Kill. I am very dissapointed with this book and i wasted my time and hope you dont watse yours.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Good

    Enjoyed very much.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    don't waste your time!

    The movie was so much better than this book. Has Grisham never heard of metaphores?????????

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2012

    Solid legal thriller As a fan of Grisham's legal thrillers, th

    Solid legal thriller

    As a fan of Grisham's legal thrillers, this one did not disappoint. While I didn't think it was a can't-put-down kind of story, I did really enjoy reading it. Grisham is able to take a timely subject (big tobacco) and create a (somewhat unbelievable) plot that wraps the reader in with some good suspense. Overall, the Runaway Jury is well worth it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    Another great book by my favorite author John Grisham. Enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    OMG

    Probably the most singularly boring book that I have read in a very long time. Every chapter is a minor modification of the one before, with a dull cast of characters and no action to speak of. I just want to finish it to say that I didn't totally waste my money.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    good read

    Keeps you at the edge of your seat. Hooks you from the start of the book. Can't wait to see the movie...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 221 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12