Customer Reviews for

The Runaway Jury

Average Rating 4
( 218 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(93)

4 Star

(76)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Grisham at his Best

Runaway Jury was written when Grisham was at his best, back when he wrote books like A Time to Kill, the Pelican Brief & The Client. This was an excellent book (made into a good but not great movie).

posted by Ruthless on January 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

The Worst Book I Have Ever Read

Undoubtedly the worst book I have ever read. Granted, that I had to read this for school I was somewhat 'open-minded' to begin this book, but after a hundred pages I realized something, this is the most predictable and dragging book I have ever read. Trust me folks this...
Undoubtedly the worst book I have ever read. Granted, that I had to read this for school I was somewhat 'open-minded' to begin this book, but after a hundred pages I realized something, this is the most predictable and dragging book I have ever read. Trust me folks this a 550 page book you do not want to read. I can easily describe this book in 5 words 'The Biggest Hunk of Dirt',(because I wasn't allowed to say otherwise). Of course, everyone is entitled to their own opinion but I simply did not enjoy this book what so ever. If there was anything lower than one star that is what this would have recieved. (A generous -5 stars if you ask me). Do not waste the time or money on this, trust me.

posted by Anonymous on July 27, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 93 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2004

    Long, but worth the effort

    'The Runaway Jury' is not John Grisham's best work... but it is still a great piece of fiction. The story holds the reader firmly to the pages. It is not a fast read;you will want to pay close attention to the details. I recommend 'The Runaway Jury' highly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2004

    One of Grisham's best works yet!

    Grisham amazes all with his greatest book. The plot was great and the action was spectacular. I would recommend this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2004

    A Great Book

    This Grisham novel is more than terrific! I couldn't stop reading and found myself reading 200 pages a day. Will keep you on your toes the whole way through, and the twist will stike you with utmost suprise. Truly one of Grisham's best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2004

    A great read

    This book kept me up every night- it was had a lot of suspense and had plenty of details.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2004

    Runaway Jury Review

    This book, which I consider one of the best books I have ever read, is a very interesting story of deception, bribery , and the lengths one man will go to to find justice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2003

    A top notch thriller by the author of The Firm.

    A top notch thriller to say the least. Its hard hitting and nail bitinbg! UNDOWNPUTABLE

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2004

    Grisham is a master! An edge-of-your-seat thriller!

    The Runaway Jury is the best book of all the Grisham novels that I have read so far! It is also the best book that I have read period (besides The Crucible). Great writing and character build-up in the beginning which leads to suspense and constanat page turning. You can't put it down! The Runaway Jury comes to a very surprising conclustion that will make you want to read it again and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2003

    One of Grishams Best

    The story was compelling and very suspenceful..Taking you through the ins and outs of Big Tobbacco...Brilliant!!!! HIs best novel 2nd only to a time to kill...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2003

    Grisham! Grisham! Grisham!

    I liked this book very much. It was the fourth or so Grisham book I read. I loved it! It's one of my favorites along with "The Testament". They're working on making this one into a movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2003

    Best Grisham book

    I have read almost all of Grisham's books, but this is probably my favorite. Suspensful as always, and a great ending. Highly reccommendend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2003

    Grisham's BEST Book Ever ... !

    I am a Grisham fan from the word GO and the Runaway Jury is by far the best book I have read. Grisham manages to have not only a plot but a sub-plot and as an onion is peeled, more layers (plots) are uncovered. I was spellbound by the layers of intrigue, deceit and roll playing. Surprisingly I was able to follow the web of deceit easily and actually looked forward to what the character was going to pull next. This is by far Grisham's best book. Definately worth a second read (which I never do).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2002

    Absolutely fabulous!!!

    John Grisham is the most wonderful legal writer I have ever read. He really kept me in suspense with Runaway Jury. The plot until the end will have you thinking that Nicholas is working for the defense when he's not. I couldn't believe some of the figures I read during the trial portion. It's inspired me to quit smoking and take up a healthier habit. I give this book a million stars and hope they keep coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2002

    The Runaway Jury

    This is one of Grisham's best. I couldn't put it down once I picked it up. The verdict is shocking, and wrong in my opinion however it is one of my favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2002

    Amazing

    I have never been a big reader until I picked up this book. Grisham keeps you turning the pages by giving you a little more info on every page. He also keeps it amusingly comical. Reading this book as sparked my intereset in reading and I will pick up more Grisham novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2002

    exceptional

    A great lawsuite thriller

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2001

    Gripping!

    I really got into it and I didn't want to put it down. I found out a lot about cigarettes too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2001

    Exceptional!

    You can't put this book down. It is an extremely sophisticated and interesting novel. Highly recommended reading! You will be amazed at how fast you fly through it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2001

    Riveting

    I started this book around 9 PM and i ended up not going to sleep that night! What i found so interesting is just how corrupt our justice system is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2000

    ABSOLUTLEY FABULOUS

    This book has to be the BEST Grisham novel of all time. The others were good, but this has the legal suspense that will throw you across the room. I read it all night and into the next morning and cried when i finished it because it was over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2000

    This is the best book I've ever read

    This book was a tremendous novel. defenitley one of John Grisham's finest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 93 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5