Customer Reviews for

Runaway Mistress

Average Rating 4
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

This is an easy and fun read!!!!

I had a really good time reading this book and look forward to all of Robyn Carrs books. It is a quick and easy read. Enjoy!!!

posted by raeswords on August 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I found the dialog really stilted and the characters one-dimensi

I found the dialog really stilted and the characters one-dimensional. It was okay for a light summer read, but definitely didn't make me want to check out more of Robyn Carr's work.

posted by 10966212 on July 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    What a great read! really enjoyed it. I could really connect wi

    What a great read! really enjoyed it. I could really connect with the characters. Can only recommend

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Teriffic suspense

    Wealthy Nick Noble takes his mistress Jennifer Chase with him to Las Vegas. Jennifer enjoys her stay until she overhears a fight between Nick and his wife Barbara who is irate that he chose his whore over his spouse. Jennifer sneaks away for a couple of hours, but returns in time to overhear Nick tell his men to take care of the bimbo. She sees blood all over the place and Barbara¿s corpse. Jennifer flees Vegas, cuts off all her hair, flushes her colored contacts down the toilet, and changes into army surplus................ Jennifer stops in Boulder City, Nevada where she accepts a job as a waitress at a local café using the name of Doris Bailey. Five days later she reads a newspaper account that reports she is missing along with money and jewelry. Nick will use the cops to find her for him. As she hides, Jennifer falls in love with her next door neighbor, Las Vegas police officer Alex Nichols, who reciprocates her deep feelings. However, Nick¿s thugs arrive in town devastating her dreams of a picket fence, kids, and Alex...................... Though readers will have problems reconciling the seemingly materialistic Florida-Vegas Jennifer with the caring from the onset Boulder City Doris, fans will appreciate this tense romantic suspense as the heroine keeps looking over her shoulder. Once she realizes that she is in love, Jennifer knows she must clean up her previous life if she is going to have a future especially when her past arrives in town. Robyn Carr provides her fans with a fine tale held together by a brave heroine, whose past, present and future converge in Boulder City..................... Harriet Klausner

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Jennifer Chaise has spent her whole adult life being some rich m

    Jennifer Chaise has spent her whole adult life being some rich man's mistress. After a rocky childhood, she was determined to have security. But when she finds her boyfriend's wife dead in their Vegas hotel room, she takes off into hiding, thinking she's next. In the small Nevada town, she meets officer Alex Nichols, who knows she's hiding something. Jennifer also discovers herself, a community determined to help her, and a new lease and purpose in life. But when her past finds her, everything she's grown to love is threatened.

    I like Carr, and I have to admit, I was hesitant on the premise behind this story. Some may find Jennifer hard to relate to with her background, but I think Carr pulled this off. The setting and scenery made me wish I was there. I fell in love with the town. There's quite a few small side stories from the secondary characters, which was such a delightful addition. Without issuing a spoiler alert, my heart broke near the end of this book with Louise and Alice. A touch of humor, and a lot of heart, makes this a highly recommended read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2012

    a must read book

    you do not want to put book down, very enjoyable story

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    For any woman who has fantasized about being the Damsel-in-distr

    For any woman who has fantasized about being the Damsel-in-distress, forced to save herself from an impossible situation, may you be as smart as Jennifer. This book was so much more than the sum of its parts, starting with a "reverse makeover," providing counseling to a grieving doggie, and ending with "semaphore aerobics", you'll laugh, cry, and fall in love with the characters of this novel and hate for it to end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Anonymous

    What a great feel good book! Will read more Robyn Carr!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    R

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    Ember

    I like you austin. Like like you..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Very good book, could not stop reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Agent J

    What did i do

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Jessie

    Takes her siblings to there appartment

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Alex

    Leaves*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Kaitlynn

    *wipes her eyes and goes to her room*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Ali

    Im allergic...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    I really enjoyed this book.

    I really enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A wonderful book ... did not want to put down

    A wonderful book ... did not want to put down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    LOVED THIS BOOK!!!

    I have read every one of Robyn Carr's books. Especially LOVE the Virgin River series. This was so good, that I couldn't put it down. It had suspense and drama and of course our hero! She knocks another one out of the park!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    Great book

    Loved this book great reading wanted to be a part of their lives right amount of everything to keep your interest dont pass this one up

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2