Customer Reviews for

The Runelords: The Sum of All Men (Runelords Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    5 Star Book IMHO

    One of my favorite books. I liked how his logic was incorporated into some of his characters as well as the way the story went. It is nice to have a book where the main character isn't an airhead.

    Warning, If you like a clear cut definition of good and evil in your books you may not like this one or the series. Furthermore if you do not like the type of logic that suggest that everyone has the capacity for good and evil or the logic that causes you to actually think about the characters motives this book may not be for you either.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    An adventure worth reading

    Oddly enough, for me, this book alternated between i cant put it down and i can hardly pick it up. You just hate to see what ills befall your favorite characters but you also cant help but hang in anticipation for the next chace or the next challenge. All in all, i loved every minute of it. Well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Bchgijjhhobubkuv. Jugkh

    Gjcgvgchgyufkoycuv

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Really good

    Really refreshing story. Brings back memories from when i was younger and was real big into reading still. A truely epic saga a honest MUST read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not Impressed

    This book was Kind of disappointing to me. It was hard for me to get into it and i actually didn't even finish it. I read all the reviews and went and bought it. The characters were okay the love story was good but not enough to make me want to read more.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2009

    If One is Good, the Series is Better

    I enjoyed this book so much that I went out and bought the rest of the series. It was thrilling escapism. I read it in 2 days, and enjoyed every minute.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2006

    The Runelords

    This is a book that I could never put down after reading the first fifty pages. Once I stepped into Farland's creative imagination, I couldn't help but want more. I've read all of the books in this saga and I could tell you that I was never disappointed at all. I've given the Runelord books to many of my friends and I strongly suggest that you read these breathtaking stories. I can promise you that you will not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2006

    I love it!

    I freakin love this series!! As everyone else has said, it is so original and unique, I couldn't put the book down. I'm not the biggest sci-fi fan, so for me to love this, means a lot. I definitely recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2006

    Original and Fascinating

    The runelords is just a book I picked up because I was bored and it looked good and im happy to tell you it was a great book. Runelords takes place around a young prince who is going to marry the nearby princess. But during all of this a evil sorcerer who is nearly invicible starts war.. An epic fantasy about love, war, and kings, Runelords is definitly original and encaptivating storytelling make this a huge sucess. Email me if you want to talk about books I read most fantasy and Sci-Fi

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2005

    Unique and Amazing

    This was a wonderful book to read. It flowed smoothly and the characters were wonderfully crafted. One of the best books I have read in several months, on level with The Lord of the Rings and The Wheel of Time .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2005

    Flippin Sweet!

    The Runelords book series is simply the best series in the world. When I finished the last book of the series i was almost depressed that i was done reading the series. Since then i have read each book in the series multiple times and enjoyed every single time. If u like fantasy then come buy this book. It's worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2004

    one of the best

    Farland by far has created a deeply captivating tale that will keep readers up all night and day. Definitely true for the rest of the series as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2002

    The best book ever

    Here a captivating and and exciting story about the trials and tribulations of Gaborn Val Orden, and other subjects of Rofehaven. I absolutely loved this book, and I just bought Brotherhood of the wolf. David Farland is an awe inspiring writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2002

    A good read, but short of an Epic tale

    The Rulelord series thus far has been an above avarage read with an original magical universe where anyone can becoe powerfull. Farland has clearly set out to write an epic tale, however the plot falls short of the many pathed branching that we have come to expect from Jordan and others... still a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2002

    origioanl, great book

    David Farland's has created an entire New World with the use of the magic using dedicates and taking upon the attributes of others was incredibly fascinating, and completely original to anything else that I have read. I recommend this series for anyone who loves fantasy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2002

    Praise the EarthBorn

    Great book. It is the perfect tale, though a little slow in the begginning. This is a tale of fun, peril, runelords and pyscotic warlords who believe the only way to save the people was to imprison and destroy the people. I am in the phase of buying Brotherhood, And I am sure it will be the best that it can be

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2001

    Farland- excellent writer

    Great story with fast action. I enjoy reading medieval inspired books, and this book topped Robert Jordan's Wheel of Time series. A must for an avid fantasy reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2001

    Interesting, but faulty

    The system of magic--the transfer of dedicates to make true superhumand--is extermely interesting and fraught with tension. However, I found it to be largely unexploited. Rather than a terse acknowledgement of a sect of people who disagree with such a system (and only one sect at that!) there is not much treatment on the subject other than the experience of Gaborn. A society based upon such a thing should have a vast and intricate economy and political structure, not merely a ruling class and a willing public with small and seemingly mute adverse sect. Also, while Farland has some skill at writing, I never found myself truly inspired by any of the characters involved. That a lacked a reality and remained flat throughout the storyline. They suffer when the plot makes them suffer, triumph when the plot makes them triumph, and in general seem to get swept along by the story rather than the reverse. Read it for the interesting magical diversion, but I think you'll find that in thinking of the magic you'll more often be speculating further on what that society would look like rather than mulling over the events of the book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2001

    Definetly enjoyable!

    It has taken me months to read this book but, I enjoyed every minute of it. It is really rare for me to find a book I like. This book really got my attention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2000

    The start of a FANTASTIC series

    What a GREAT story!! The magic in this book outshines just about ANYTHING in print today no matter HOW imaginative. This one takes the cake. The idea of taking 'attributes' from others, such as brawn, wisdom and eyesight, and transferring them to yourself was incredibly interesting to me, and as I continued to read, it became completely and totally facinating. David Farland has written an exceptional fantasy story that has the incredible potential for a great continuing series (which I LOVE) and as long as the series moves onward with a plot as entertaining as this one, he'll see a very positive response for several years to come. Some have announced Farland as Jordan's successor, however I would say that Jordan holds no crown to pass down since I have never been able to enjoy the 'Wheel of Time' series beyond a few books that were just 'okay' at best. I would be more inclined to compare 'The Runelords' to Terry Brooks or Terry Goodkind (whether or not you like these guys, I DO) because as different as they are in style and plotting, I STILL enjoyed them very much. Give 'The Runelords' a shot and you might be surprised at how much you look forward to the sequel (which I might add is as good if not better than the original...) and if THAT intrigues you (and if it doesn't you are just brain dead) go for the 3rd book--which comes out beginning of next year as I understand it. Congratulations to Mr. Farland on a great concept and a totally captivating storyline. It really IS worth your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4