Customer Reviews for

The Runelords: The Sum of All Men (Runelords Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    5 Star Book IMHO

    One of my favorite books. I liked how his logic was incorporated into some of his characters as well as the way the story went. It is nice to have a book where the main character isn't an airhead.

    Warning, If you like a clear cut definition of good and evil in your books you may not like this one or the series. Furthermore if you do not like the type of logic that suggest that everyone has the capacity for good and evil or the logic that causes you to actually think about the characters motives this book may not be for you either.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Really good

    Really refreshing story. Brings back memories from when i was younger and was real big into reading still. A truely epic saga a honest MUST read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2006

    The Runelords

    This is a book that I could never put down after reading the first fifty pages. Once I stepped into Farland's creative imagination, I couldn't help but want more. I've read all of the books in this saga and I could tell you that I was never disappointed at all. I've given the Runelord books to many of my friends and I strongly suggest that you read these breathtaking stories. I can promise you that you will not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2006

    I love it!

    I freakin love this series!! As everyone else has said, it is so original and unique, I couldn't put the book down. I'm not the biggest sci-fi fan, so for me to love this, means a lot. I definitely recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2005

    Unique and Amazing

    This was a wonderful book to read. It flowed smoothly and the characters were wonderfully crafted. One of the best books I have read in several months, on level with The Lord of the Rings and The Wheel of Time .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2005

    Flippin Sweet!

    The Runelords book series is simply the best series in the world. When I finished the last book of the series i was almost depressed that i was done reading the series. Since then i have read each book in the series multiple times and enjoyed every single time. If u like fantasy then come buy this book. It's worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2004

    one of the best

    Farland by far has created a deeply captivating tale that will keep readers up all night and day. Definitely true for the rest of the series as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2002

    The best book ever

    Here a captivating and and exciting story about the trials and tribulations of Gaborn Val Orden, and other subjects of Rofehaven. I absolutely loved this book, and I just bought Brotherhood of the wolf. David Farland is an awe inspiring writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2002

    origioanl, great book

    David Farland's has created an entire New World with the use of the magic using dedicates and taking upon the attributes of others was incredibly fascinating, and completely original to anything else that I have read. I recommend this series for anyone who loves fantasy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2002

    Praise the EarthBorn

    Great book. It is the perfect tale, though a little slow in the begginning. This is a tale of fun, peril, runelords and pyscotic warlords who believe the only way to save the people was to imprison and destroy the people. I am in the phase of buying Brotherhood, And I am sure it will be the best that it can be

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2001

    Farland- excellent writer

    Great story with fast action. I enjoy reading medieval inspired books, and this book topped Robert Jordan's Wheel of Time series. A must for an avid fantasy reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2001

    Definetly enjoyable!

    It has taken me months to read this book but, I enjoyed every minute of it. It is really rare for me to find a book I like. This book really got my attention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2000

    Wow, what a wonderful world I had discovered!

    The beginning was a little hard to envision, but just stick with it. It was worth every second! I have short attention span, so 2 or 3 parts seemed overly described, so I just skimmed them and was never ever dissappointed in the book. This guy is very very poetic, but not hard to follow. He seems to have portrayed his vision of a beautiful world that is being invaded and destroyed by its own inhabitants, and how a handful can change themselves and the final outcome. I wouldn't typically give 5 stars, but 4 seemed to sell him short.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2000

    I can't believe it.

    When I first started to read the book I wasn't sure if it would capture my interest. But it turned out that I couldn't put it down. I enjoyed the book very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2000

    One of the BEST of the current crop of Epic Fantasy series.

    I've been reading fantasy for decades, so it takes something a bit more intriguing and innovative to catch my attention. The magic system, integral to the plot and motivations and theme, manages to put this book above the ordinary. The cost of using these Runes is immediate and devistatingly obvious. It highlights what is implied in other books, that there is a cost to magic, or power of any kind; whether it's the power a leader has over his men, or the power man has over nature. This adds immensely to the meaning of all the action. --And the action is great. The story is fast-paced and the author doesn't play about with the reader, providing many confrontations between the protagonist and antagonist, and lively scenes with the supporting characters. The writing is self-assured and straight-forward, the characters are a little nebulous but show great promise of growth, the world seems vast and fascinating with well-developed and intriguing cultures. I will eagerly look forward to reading more in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2000

    So Incredible SO Utterly Awesome

    The book enters an entire new world by adding a strategic and political twist with runes that give special attributes. If you have not read this book something is missing from your life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2000

    Bought it in 2 formats

    bought the book in paperback, halfway through I bought the ReB edition. A great read (and no more unbelievable than other books of this genre)guess that's why they call it FANTASY! I am looking forward to the next book in the Trilogy --- David Farland you've got a new fan!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2000

    Farland has more than 1 endowment of wit

    Farland did an excellant job weaving the patterns of charecters together. He writes in the style of Brooks and Jordan but with a pleasant twist. Farlands plots are not discernable from mid-way through the book like many writers. He keeps you guessing till the end. Great Book..Can't wait for the next one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2