Customer Reviews for

Runemarks

Average Rating 4
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2008

    Do yourself a favour.

    Read this book. If you're 10, if you're 25, if you're 50. Read it if you loved Joanne Harris's adult fiction like Chocolat, or if you love Norse mythology, or if you love a great fantasy book, or if you just love a well written engaging story. It's fast, interesting, well done and above all else entertaining. A coming of age story with mythology and fantasy thrown in. Believe me you can't miss with this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    This is one of my favorite books ever! Even if you have little b

    This is one of my favorite books ever! Even if you have little background knowledge of the myths its still amazing,
    but knowing the myths makes it much more amazing. Every time I read it I get something new from it. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2008

    A riveting read

    I was riveted to this book from the moment I began to read. Maddy just doesn't fit into her traditional, tightly constrained village. She has magic, and that makes her suspect, as does the 'ruinmark' on her arm. It is the vagabond One-Eye, who comes through town on a yearly basis, who teaches her about the old gods and the last battle, the Ragnarok, that was supposed to have been the death of them all. He teaches her some of the uses of the power that is her, but One-Eye has his secrets. As the story unfolds, Maddy begins to learn them, and to learn that she is far more important than she ever imagined. The problem is, she is also important to One-Eye's enemies and to her own enemies, the Examiners, who want to do away with all magic, even if it means the destruction of the world. It's when Maddy starts freeing Norse gods that everything comes unglued. She has the power to undo the world, or to save it, if only she can get some very unruly, and very powerful, newly found relatives to cooperate. Commoners like the pastor's wife and an unimportant goblin also have their roles to play in this new end of the world, and Loki is left to balance on the edge of the difference between Good and Evil. It's a breathless ride! Decision after decision must be faced by the characters, with everything or nothing as the ultimate price to be paid, and one nine-year-old girl affecting the existence of all life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2008

    Truly Awsome

    This book has a mix of mythology and fantasy. I could not put it down!! I had to make myself stop or else i would become a zombie in school. I would definatly recomend it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    excellent young adult Norse fantasy

    Five centuries have past since the battle of Ragnarok in which the gods lost and eternal winter became the norm. With the gods gone and allegedly no more magic existing, filling the leadership vacuum of the Middle World of the Nine Worlds is the Order, who rule with an iron fisted theocracy. Maddy Smith born with a runemark on her palm knows some residue magic still exists. However the eight hundred villagers of Malbry in the Strond Valley region of the civilized Inland island scorn her because her ¿ruinmark¿ make them believe she is a witch. They would exile her except that their hamlet is on the edge of Red Horse Hill, a locale containing the pre-Ragnarok power. Thus they need the witch¿s skills to control the goblin plague that comes with being so close to the ancient magic. Everything changes for the needed pariah when a traveler One-Eye enters the village. He recognizes her having a world destiny if she can believe in herself he offers to teach Maddy in Faerie she avidly accepts. 000 The biggest problem for parents with this excellent young adult Norse fantasy is their children will be so hooked with the Potter syndrome they will stay up several nights to read this wonderful five hundred plus page tale. The story line is fast-paced from the first rune to the last while the supportive cast is fully developed from Adam the Bully to the heroine¿s family to the Devotees to the goblins Lucky and Sugar and Sack, etc. However, Maddy and to a lesser degree her mentor own this coming of age Middle World saga. 000 Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1