Customer Reviews for

Runner

Average Rating 4.5
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 27, 2012

    Great Book!!!!!!!!

    Runner- Carl Deuker
    The book “Runner” by Carl Deuker is about a high school student named Chance Taylor, who lives with his borderline alcoholic dad on a small boat. Chance has had to take care of his dad and himself ever since his mom died. One thing he does every day is run. He runs the same route at almost the same time every day. One day, a big man came to his locker at the showers one day after his run. He offers Chance two-hundred dollars per week to do what he already does, run. All he has to do is wear a small backpack when he does it. If he finds a small package hidden in a tree by where he runs, he takes it back and puts It in a locker. With his dad’s poor job and the moorage fee rising, he takes the job. He has no idea what he is carrying, nor does he care. He now has money to live on. Little did he know that this job would take him on a journey that had some great costs.
    This book is one of my all time favorites. It is an action-packed novel with more twists and turns that a back road in West Virginia. As soon as you suspect something will happen, you find out that the book went in a completely different direction. Carl Deuker has written a masterpiece. Its mystery will keep you on the edge of your seat for the entire two hundred sixteen pages.
    I would recommend this book to anybody eighth grade and up. It is definitely not a book for elementary school kids, but may be a good choice for middle and high school students. Deuker wrote a magnificent book that I would read again and again without getting the slightest bit bored.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    I love it

    This book made me stay up until 3:00 a.m, lose points on my Social Studies Test, and made me get grounded for 5 days. I FREAKIN' LOVE THIS BOOK!!! I love how Chance is independent, and how Melissa is nosy @ the right times. Awesome book. Buy it. Read it. Love it.
    Peace, Ma peeps! >•<

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Reading right now

    I got it from my library and im loving it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    Spottedstorm

    She purred

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2013

    The book is very ineteresting and I recommend this book to anyon

    The book is very ineteresting and I recommend this book to anyone who likes reading books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2012

    ┬┐Great heartbreaking book!!! Runner -Carl Deuker By-Jesse Adams

    ¿Great heartbreaking book!!!
    Runner -Carl Deuker
    By-Jesse Adamski
    What if you helped terrorism happen without knowing, would you? Would you keep it a secret to earn money to pay bills? These are questions that will face Chance Jones in the book Runner, by Carl Deuker. When Chance&rsquo;s family is in trouble he must forget his dreams to save it. What would you do to keep a boat you call home?
    The book takes place in Seattle. It is a realistic fiction, fast pace book based on corruption/terrorism. The main character Chance Jones is the narrator of this first person point of view novel. The character goes through much frustration and changes throughout the story.
    Chance is a track runner at his school and by far the fastest. When his old bully Pvt. Miller talks about the war Melisa, Chance&rsquo;s future girlfriend ask him if he read about Afghanistan, then Chance tells her Miller will not read about the war. Miller tells Chance after school &ldquo;you had a lot to say in the classroom than out here Chance.&rdquo; Chance father later loses his job &amp; Chance decides he should get one to pay bills.
    When Chance gets a job for delivery &amp; quits his old one at Randy&rsquo;s restraunt. His new job is to deliver packages to a locker after running the same path each day. His dad finds out Chance is hiding something, so Chance gives him a red package, and inside is a plastic explosive. Will Chance stop a Terrorist plot or will he lose his father? What if you were in Chance&rsquo;s position?
    Runner is one of my favorite books. It shows the struggle teens face today. Part of this book will break your heart &amp; leave you questioning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Ed

    It is a good book but it needs to be about two hundred pages longer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Amazing!!

    An amazing book! finished it in two days! I couldnt put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Runner

    Awesome book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Wondeful book just wonderful

    Great book. Couldn't put it down. Anybody that likes action novels should buy this book. You wont be wasting your money

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This is the best book I have ever read!

    The book “Runner” is about a boy that is in his senior year of high school. He and his father are on their own living on a boat. You might think to yourself that they are very lucky, but you’re wrong. Their boat is no bigger than a one car garage and it doesn’t even have a bathroom. To make matters worse, the boy’s dad lost his job and is a drunk. This boy, that is not even considered an adult yet, is practically living on his own. He is paying the mortgage bill all by himself and both he and his dad are barely able to afford food and water to survive. One day when the boy is out for his daily two mile run around the harbor, a strange man approached him. The boy thought that the man looked very suspicious. The man then told the boy that he’s been watching him. The boy’s first reaction was to run and not look back, but he kept listening. The man then offered him a job that deals with running by a rock and picking up a package. The boys first thought was that he was not getting into smuggling drugs, but then the man caught the boy’s attention. He was offering two hundred dollars a week. The boy took the job right away. This teenage boy might think that he has a dream job that will fix all of his family’s problems, but he doesn’t know what he is getting himself into. I really like this book because it was fast pace and I was on the edge of my seat throughout the entire book. I would recommend this book to anyone that is into action filled books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    runner

    Best book ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    Great Book

    I really enjoyed this book. I am new to Carl Deuker but after reading this book I am interested in others by him. Action packed and suspensefull. I highly recommend it. A book that I didnt want to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    Awesome book

    You can't get yourself to pull away from this book. Get story, it leads you into how everything happens.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    FANTASTIC!!!!

    i loved this book and i want to read again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2010

    runner review

    The main character of the book is Chance. This book was written by Carl Deuker. Chance and his dad live on a boat. His dad is having problems paying mortgage fees and other expenses. Chance's dad is an alcoholic by spending the rest of his spare change on beer. The father would rather sit out on his tiny boat drinking than helping his son. To me that is a bad dad. Chance never sees his mom because the she want to actually do something with her life, like work for example. A random person known as stranger who nobody has seen before works in the marina office and asks Chance if he wants money to help his father. Chance accepted that deal. All he had to do was jog a mile to a point to look for a package and bring it back. If there is a package at the point, Chance returns it to the office marina guy. Every week Chance receives $200 dollars every time he ran. Chance is desperate for money to keep his boat and his spot on the pier. In this great thrilling book, Carl Deuker combines global concerns and the threat of terrorism with the everyday worries of a teen. Supported by a smart, politically aware girl in his history class, Chance learns there's a lot more to patriotism than just waving a flag, and a lot more to courage than just following rules he knows may be wrong. To me it was the greatest book I ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2010

    Runner Review ~ by Michael C.

    I love this book with a passion and recommend it to anyone and everyone! It is very well written, very exciting, and very intense. Runner is a fast paced thriller from start to finish with moments of suspenseful action and impressive dialogue. Chance Taylor is a boy in his senior year that runs every day. I guess it's something he got into. But one day a man notices, and confronts Chance. He pays him a hundred dollars up front to work for him. Chance jumps at the opportunity, becoming a runner who picks up strange packages. Chance knows how much he will earn but what he doesn't know is how much he will pay. It is a powerful read you won't be able to put down until the very end. There is plenty of drama for anyone who likes that sort of stuff as well as mystery. You won't be disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    RUNNER: AMAZING!

    I bought this book a few days ago and finished it so quickly it was suspenseful from start to finish and again Carl Deuker leaves me thinking wow. The characters in this book particularly Chase is unforgettable and as you find yourself in his shoes you are constantly wondering how he will make it. I cried at the end when his father dies and Mellisa's family takes him in. But i reccomend this book to anyone looking for a good book to read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Runner will run threw your head for days

    Runner....Was a really good book. The book just goes to show that even the poorest of people can keep the biggest of secrets.
    Chance is a boy in his senior year, who runs every day. Its just something he got into. But one day this guy notices, and confronts him. He pays him a hundred bucks up front. He tells him to run everyday, and go to this tree. Were he will look for "packages" and at the end of the week on Sunday he will pay him 200 bucks. Chance takes it, not really minding. He NEEDED the money...for bills, for food, for clothes. Because his father is to passed out drunk to do it himself.
    But after a while chance starts wondering what could be on the packages...But he already knows....Deep Down. Drugs.

    The book was touching. In the beginning alitte boring. But i would totally recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2009

    Runner!

    Runner was a face paced thriller. This story had moments of suspenseful action aand dialouge. A book that i recomend to young redaers. It had a story line that had you waitning to find out what happend next! There was was good charecterization and ivolved Chance the main charecter in a suspenseful terriorist smugggling chain.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3