Customer Reviews for

Runner

Average Rating 4.5
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 27, 2012

    Great Book!!!!!!!!

    Runner- Carl Deuker
    The book “Runner” by Carl Deuker is about a high school student named Chance Taylor, who lives with his borderline alcoholic dad on a small boat. Chance has had to take care of his dad and himself ever since his mom died. One thing he does every day is run. He runs the same route at almost the same time every day. One day, a big man came to his locker at the showers one day after his run. He offers Chance two-hundred dollars per week to do what he already does, run. All he has to do is wear a small backpack when he does it. If he finds a small package hidden in a tree by where he runs, he takes it back and puts It in a locker. With his dad’s poor job and the moorage fee rising, he takes the job. He has no idea what he is carrying, nor does he care. He now has money to live on. Little did he know that this job would take him on a journey that had some great costs.
    This book is one of my all time favorites. It is an action-packed novel with more twists and turns that a back road in West Virginia. As soon as you suspect something will happen, you find out that the book went in a completely different direction. Carl Deuker has written a masterpiece. Its mystery will keep you on the edge of your seat for the entire two hundred sixteen pages.
    I would recommend this book to anybody eighth grade and up. It is definitely not a book for elementary school kids, but may be a good choice for middle and high school students. Deuker wrote a magnificent book that I would read again and again without getting the slightest bit bored.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Ed

    It is a good book but it needs to be about two hundred pages longer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2010

    runner review

    The main character of the book is Chance. This book was written by Carl Deuker. Chance and his dad live on a boat. His dad is having problems paying mortgage fees and other expenses. Chance's dad is an alcoholic by spending the rest of his spare change on beer. The father would rather sit out on his tiny boat drinking than helping his son. To me that is a bad dad. Chance never sees his mom because the she want to actually do something with her life, like work for example. A random person known as stranger who nobody has seen before works in the marina office and asks Chance if he wants money to help his father. Chance accepted that deal. All he had to do was jog a mile to a point to look for a package and bring it back. If there is a package at the point, Chance returns it to the office marina guy. Every week Chance receives $200 dollars every time he ran. Chance is desperate for money to keep his boat and his spot on the pier. In this great thrilling book, Carl Deuker combines global concerns and the threat of terrorism with the everyday worries of a teen. Supported by a smart, politically aware girl in his history class, Chance learns there's a lot more to patriotism than just waving a flag, and a lot more to courage than just following rules he knows may be wrong. To me it was the greatest book I ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2009

    Runner!

    Runner was a face paced thriller. This story had moments of suspenseful action aand dialouge. A book that i recomend to young redaers. It had a story line that had you waitning to find out what happend next! There was was good charecterization and ivolved Chance the main charecter in a suspenseful terriorist smugggling chain.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Nice

    I read this book when I picked it up off the shelf. I never even read the back of the book. I originally picked this book because my parents left me at the bookstore and I just picked it up and started reading because I am a runner and that was the title. I loved this book and made my parents buy it so I could finish it when they came back to pick me up! Now I am reading other books by Carl and loving it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2008

    Runner By Carl Deuker

    This book was very good. I have to admit I don't really like reading but I didn't want to stop reading this book. It does take a very unusual turn at the end in which a death occurs. The story reminded me a lot of 9/11 because none of the people on the plane knew what they had gotten into until it was too late. Chance thought he was just going to make some easy money at first but doesn't find out until it is too late that he is smuggling plastic explosives. He also finds himself not being able to talk to his only friend about what he is doing because he his self doesn't know exactly what he is doing. His dad has some idea about it but really keeps quiet because he had a little bit of an alcohol problem and didn't really have the money to pay their moorage fee.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2008

    Running in the wrong direction

    The Runner is about a kid named chance. Chance is about 13 years old and he lives with his dad in a boat named the Marina. Chance and his dad have a money issue and are trying their best to stay in there boat. Chance goes running every day and one day he sees a fat man and the guy tells him that he will give him a job and if he takes It he will give him 100 dollars if he takes it and 200 dollars a week. But he didn¿t know that he will be a smuggler (drug dealer) if he takes the job. The book to me is a very good book. I liked it a lot because I was interested in what was going to happen next and I never wanted to put the book down. The book is really good and I would recommend this book to anybody that likes a good mystery. If you start this book you will always wonder what will happen next and will never want to put the book down.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2008

    An overall good book

    Runner was overall a pretty good book. I like it because Chance got involved in a terrorist act and didn't even know it. All he did was run and pick up packages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2008

    Great Book

    I really enjoyed reading this book. It's a great story and there is a lot of action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1