Customer Reviews for

Runner (Jane Whitefield Series #6)

Average Rating 4
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Once more into the thick of things

Ah, Jane , back helping people disappear again, even after you retired. All it took, was a bomb, exploding in the hospital where you work. Yes, its been years since she has helped a runner, but she is definitely back in business. Thomas Perry has revived one of my fa...
Ah, Jane , back helping people disappear again, even after you retired. All it took, was a bomb, exploding in the hospital where you work. Yes, its been years since she has helped a runner, but she is definitely back in business. Thomas Perry has revived one of my favorite characters, better written, grittier, and a style that will keep you reading...through the night. Absolute must read for the fans of Jane Whitefield, and any Thomas Perry fan. If you enjoy this book be sure to read the early ones also. I enjoyed 'Runner' a great deal and grade it a Five Star Read.

posted by Anonymous on October 8, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not the one to start with

I adore Perry's work, and was so excited about another Jane Whitefield story that the moment I got my B&N notice about its release, I turned off the computer and drove to the store. They didn't have it yet, so I returned home and ordered it online.

It was both enjob...
I adore Perry's work, and was so excited about another Jane Whitefield story that the moment I got my B&N notice about its release, I turned off the computer and drove to the store. They didn't have it yet, so I returned home and ordered it online.

It was both enjobable and a disappointment. Perry's Jane is still intriguing, and I like the acknowledgment of the changes happening in her ability to hide/run.

What I didn't find believable was the villain's end of the tale. The character Perry created would not have bothered to chase his prey UNTIL the threat presented to him that would have him take that path. Additionally, the opening action felt not only over the top, but didn't quite make sense. The perspective change with chapters didn't work until after the first few chapters.

Jane's angst over her relationship with her spouse felt stale and repetitive and, if you haven't read the previous tales, rather unnecessary for the current tale. That part of the series didn't seem to move forward at all.

Even with all the problems, Perry's writing is still tight, and he moves you along quickly.

I would highly recommend the previous books in his Jane Whitefield series, but this one only to those of us who missed Jane so much we're willing to let this one be the placeholder until we get the next, and hopefully better, one.

posted by reader100 on March 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2008

    Once more into the thick of things

    Ah, Jane , back helping people disappear again, even after you retired. All it took, was a bomb, exploding in the hospital where you work. Yes, its been years since she has helped a runner, but she is definitely back in business. Thomas Perry has revived one of my favorite characters, better written, grittier, and a style that will keep you reading...through the night. Absolute must read for the fans of Jane Whitefield, and any Thomas Perry fan. If you enjoy this book be sure to read the early ones also. I enjoyed 'Runner' a great deal and grade it a Five Star Read.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Jane is back and as good as ever.

    Thomas Perry is one of my favorite story tellers and the Jane Whitefield Series is just a flat out good read. I really like the main character and the story lines are interesting without all the complications of the International Thrillers. Just the kind of straight forward reading that you can enjoy on that long plane ride or settling down for an hour or so before bedtime. I highly recommend. An A

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Much Anticipated - Worth the wait!

    This much anticipated Jane Whitefield mystery is the best yet in Perry's series of the "one who makes you disappear". Jane has matured and moved on in her life, but sustains her tight hold on innate values and thin tensile relationships from the past. This tale blends Jane's "new" life with her former life - not without hiccups along the way, but with a realism that adds pathos to the storyline. I hope it won't be another 10 years before we get the next installment of her tale.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Can Hardly Wait

    I have read all the previous books in this series, and I can hardly wait to get this one! I had thought the series was ended, and I have never been so happy to be wrong. I love all of Thomas Perry's books, but this series is the very best. I have also just discovered author John Twelve Hawks, "The Traveler" series, and I am reading that right now. It is excellent, and will likely appeal to those who like the Jane Whitefield series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2010

    Excellent update on Jane and running in a new decade

    Mr. Perry created a robust, interesting character when he created Jane Whitefield. This continuation of Jane's guide journey is an excellent addition to the series and a joy to those who love Jane. I hope you enjoy this as much as I did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    Jane Whitefield is back!

    Glad to see Perry returning to one of the best characters in the past decade. He has allowed time to pass, the character to age and change and grow - bravo! Jane is fascinating, strong and very smart.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2009

    Thomas Perry Does It Again!

    Thomas Perry is one of my favorite authors and I especially loved his original Jane Whitefield series. Was really happy to see that he's writing about her again. His books are so good I can't put them down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2014

    Good for me Good for me!

    It is hard to find good new authors somtimes, so going back to someone you know makes it a good enjoyable read********* and I was not disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    Nightkit

    Thanks." Nightkit meows and rolls it over to the outher kit and curls up in a dufferent cornee. (Gtgtb bbt night at about 9:00 central at the latest.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    Hawk

    A brown tom sits in a tree.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    M

    Gffjksskdadkregefghdbnvrssfr24&12'/+&,0854:wg`¿\?¿¿\[[{}]{?|¿¿\<^€ hrgnjxhm

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2012

    Have enjoyed this series.

    This whole series is interesting because it includes cross cultural beliefs. Plus the are action filled.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    Should have been named Run For Your Life

    Great read.. kept me turning pages and up all night. Just enough Characters to keep you involved in the story. First one of this series I have ever read and now looking for the first 5 of the series and more from this author. Keeps you on the edge and out of breath all through the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    Another winner

    Perry has brought back Jane Whitefield after a long absence and she was worth waiting for. I don't think it quite equals the previous novels about her but it was close.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    Good read

    I have read all of Steven Perry's books and he is a very good writer in the mold of James Patterson and Michael Connelly.

    The Jane Whitefield series never lets you down.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2