Customer Reviews for

Running Blind (Jack Reacher Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 472 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(213)

4 Star

(127)

3 Star

(81)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

All the Reacher books are well worth reading. It's truly a trave

All the Reacher books are well worth reading. It's truly a travesty that a short, wimpy man like Tom Cruise has been cast to play a 6ft tall military man. This typecast of characters will totally ruin the imagination while reading the Reacher series, so I suggest you re...
All the Reacher books are well worth reading. It's truly a travesty that a short, wimpy man like Tom Cruise has been cast to play a 6ft tall military man. This typecast of characters will totally ruin the imagination while reading the Reacher series, so I suggest you read them all now before Tom Cruise's bad acting ruins the books for you.

posted by Niky333 on September 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Another Good Reacher Book

Worth the read if you're into the series.

posted by 4029661 on July 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 480 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 24
  • Posted September 16, 2012

    All the Reacher books are well worth reading. It's truly a trave

    All the Reacher books are well worth reading. It's truly a travesty that a short, wimpy man like Tom Cruise has been cast to play a 6ft tall military man. This typecast of characters will totally ruin the imagination while reading the Reacher series, so I suggest you read them all now before Tom Cruise's bad acting ruins the books for you.

    18 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    Best so far

    I am reading the Jack Reacher series in order and this is definately the best of the series so far. It caught me early and held my attention throughout.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent serial killer tale

    He is a hero, trying to right the injustices in his part of the world. Though at times he goes outside the law, he always makes life better for the person he is protecting. At a new Italian restaurant in New York City, former MP Jack Reacher observes two thugs hitting on the owner for protection money. When they return to collect their fee, Jack provides personal payment, sending both punks to the hospital. <P>FBI agents greet Jack with the knowledge that they believe he is a serial killer targeting female soldiers complaining about sexual harassment. Apparently, Jack knew three victims, but he has the perfect alibi since FBI agents had Jack under surveillance at the time the fourth murder occurred. The agents want Jack to help them uncover the identity of the killer because a department profiler insists that his personality is a match to that of the perpetrator. Jack refuses until they threaten his girlfriend. Jack begins his unique gathering of information that leads him to conclude that the FBI is traveling down the wrong paradigm, leaving former women in uniform in jeopardy unless he can persuade the department to change course. <P>RUNNING BLIND is an exciting thriller starring a sensitive, honorable person struggling with keeping one foot in the civilized world. Anyone who has ¿profiled¿ F. Paul Wilson¿s ¿Repairman Jack¿ novels will realize the characters share many traits with the biggest difference being that Reacher is grounded in the physical realm while Repairman Jack deals with supernatural elements. The crux of this mystery lies in the intensity of the killer whose extraordinary energy matches that of Jack, thus freshening up the serial killer tale. With more novels like this one, Lee Child has the talent to become a superstar. <P>Harriet Klausner

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2011

    Fast read

    Love the series...it gets better and better with every book.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2010

    Another Good Reacher Book

    Worth the read if you're into the series.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Recommended!

    Pretty good story! I felt bad I had figured out the murder before I was 1/2 way through. He had almost convinced me I was wrong 50 pages from the end, but it turned out the other way. Looking back I can't tell you what clues led to my decision, but one happened really early in the book and the other was something that never happened to any of the victims.

    It is a good mystery and I'm interested to see if anyone else figures it out.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2011

    I liked parts of this...read on...

    I read all of this book (sort of) and I rated it high because I enjoyed it but...it has sections in Italics that are the thoughts of the "bad guy". I do not like to read this kind of jumping back and forth thing so I did not read any one of those areas. I don't want to have an idea of what is going to happen before I read it. So if you don't mind skipping a few pages every chapter so to speak, I really liked the parts of this book that were not the "bad guy parts" and I love Jack Reacher and his attitude!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2009

    Good for all Jack Reracher fans

    Good fun. Exciting and unpredictable. Good beach reading.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2007

    One of his worst

    I usually enjoy his books but this one fell so flat. You figure out who did it and how 1/2 way through the book. So implausible too. I wish I wouldn't have spent my time reading this one. It started out promising but then fell real flat. Didn't even seem like the same author. And it was released under another name over in the UK, people are mad about that but it does state inside that it was previously released under the other name. I hope his next book is better.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Good read

    Good book. Little predictable but some good twists also. See what JR has in store next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Great series!

    I love the Jack Reacher character. I started at book one which is the best way to go as it is a continuous story. Some of the plot lines are a little far fetched but still a great read. I find it hard to put the book down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    Loved it!

    This book keeps you guessing and, true to Jack Reacher form, on the edge of your seat!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    Jack Reacher

    What can I say. Another great Jack Reacher story. So far this is a great series of books.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    :)

    I really like the Jack Reacher series. This book was interesting and hard to figure out. I feel like I get a suspenseful and thrilling story while learning new things every time I pick up a Lee Child book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    It was okay

    Fairly predictable but fun overall. The method used to kill the victims though is not possible. That was a huge problem for me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2011

    Another Fun Quick Read

    Spent another short week with Jack Reacher. Love the book and keeps me reading long into the night, even missing a stop on the train.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    NO.

    This is shockingly bad considering the first 3 Reacher books. Three main problems:

    1. Reacher is completely infallible compared to everyone else. It's bad enough that his chest is bulletproof, but in this book an MP is smarter than everyone at the FBI. The Behavioral Science Unit is not perfect, but they are certainly smart. This idea that Reacher is the only intelligent person is ridiculous. Consider the scene where he tells the profiler/hypnotist extraordinaire that what she calls 'profiling' he calls 'common sense.' So, that means that although the art/science of profiling took years and years of refining, failure, attempts and effort, our little MP-turned-Navy Seal-turned Sherlock Holmes-turned Clarice Starling has the same investigative abilities because of....common sense. He isn't superman, don't make him out to be. By the middle of the book I hated Reacher, hated what happened to character and was legitimately rooting for him to be wrong at every turn.

    2. Learn the absolute most basic, fundamental information about hypnosis before writing a ham-fisted Manchurian Candidate plot. Ridiculous.

    3. The "just in time" ending is preposterous. Like a bad episode of Criminal Minds without the attractive people to look at. If you can't find a way to get Reacher/Harper in the same area as the murder fluidly, then don't do it. Let the murder happen and go about your business. The contrived deus ex machina of Reacher keeping things to himself so no one else can be involved and go check on the victim first is nonsense.

    Don't buy this book. Really. For the reasons above, and others, it is a weak, contrived book showing how the author's work must suffer when he cranks these out so quickly. Personally, I'm giving Reacher and Child one more shot. Unfortunately, I expect that Reacher learns to fly and becomes omnipotent in the next book changing this from some decent thriller fare to out and out superhero-fantasy.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    Another great Reacher story

    Jack Reacher is the greatest vigilanty detective character of all time. If you've read other Reacher Novels you already know how much of a bad ass Jack Reacher is. THE FBI ISN'T SO INOCENT? And Jack Reacher learns a little to late that they play by a different set of rules. This book has many great twist and as usual beautiful women Lee Child puts up on of my top ten Reacher stories.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    good book

    a fast read

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2010

    Page Turner

    A Fast paced, fun read. One of my favorite Reacher novels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 480 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 24