Customer Reviews for

The Running Dream

Average Rating 4.5
( 166 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(142)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 166 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted February 9, 2011

    Inspirational!

    This book makes you realize that you dont know what you have until its gone. I loved this book so much!

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Review from Blkosiner's Book Blog

    The Running Dream is very inspirational, and I love books that make me feel, think and moves my heart.
    Jessica is a great narrator- she has a concise voice, and I like how the emotion comes out in this book. It is fictional, but it all feels real. From the details, the emotions, the responses of friends and family, down to financial matters.
    I love the message that comes through both Jessica and Rose- do not see the disability- see the person. I love that even though Jessica has her own physical problems, she must overcome her prejudices and notions with Rose.
    This is a great story and I recommend it

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    Best book ever

    This was honestley the BEST BOOK EVER I personaly thoght that this was bettre than the Hunger Games .GET IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Sally Kruger aka "Readingjunky" for TeensReadToo

    An accident involving a junk-hauling truck and a school bus leaves one high school track team member dead and one team member with her leg amputated below the knee. When Jessica wakes up after surgery, she learns that her leg was hopelessly crushed, leaving doctors no choice but to amputate it. At the same time she is facing her own crippling injury, she learns that her fellow teammate, Lucy, didn't survive. Her world looks pretty bleak and hopeless. Because she is young and healthy, Jessica's recovery goes smoothly and she soon heads home from the hospital. Physical therapists have been preparing what remains of her leg for a prosthetic replacement. Her wish is to walk, but she doesn't hold out much hope that she will ever run again. Supportive family and friends work hard to convince her that she needs to be patient and keep a positive outlook. Of course, this is easier said than done. Upon returning to school, Jessica finds herself working hard to catch up on the work she has missed, especially Algebra II. Because of her wheelchair, she sits in the back of the classroom with Rosa, also wheelchair-bound due to cerebral palsy. Jessica discovers that Rose is a math whiz and can explain the concepts even better than the teacher. It's amazing how Jessica never really noticed Rosa before the accident, but now she understands that cerebral palsy is just an outside condition and that there is much more to Rosa on the inside. Meanwhile, medical expenses are challenging the family budget, and when the track coach mentions the idea of a "running" leg for Jessica, the $20,000 expense seems impossible. But, once again, her friends step forward and decide to make Jessica's ability to someday run again their cause. There are bake sales, car washes, and anonymous donations to raise money for a special prosthetic running leg. All this enthusiastic support encourages Jessica to begin dreaming of one day running again. THE RUNNING DREAM by Wendelin Van Draanen explores the heartbreak resulting from a tragic accident. Being a teen is difficult enough, but add to that the loss of a limb and life seems too depressing to go on. Not only is Jessica battling the loss of her running dream, but also the self-esteem issues of how others now view her and how she fits into the world of other healthy, happy teens around her. Van Draanen proves that determination, courage, and empathy for others can sustain hope in what might be considered a hopeless situation. Readers from middle school on up will find this one a rewarding read.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Excellent!!!

    This book had me in tears at some parts. Its truly one of THE BEST books I have ever read & I would recommend it to anyone. Wendelin Van Draanen became one of my absolute favorite authors after finishing this book!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2011

    A must read!!!!

    This book rocks!! Had my nose in it4 2 days and i fnished it!!!! So good:)

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Love love love!!!!

    This is a great inspirational story for any runner or athlete...it makes you really appreciate what you have and what you often take for granted. In the book the main character, Jessica nearly escapes death in a bus accident. In result she loses her right shin and foot. She has to learn how to do everything over again. And when she starts to give up all hope in running again, a CP girl, Rosa, puts the sparkle back in her eyes. With her kinds words she reassures jessica that she will run again. With everyones help jessica gets her dream! Great book overall!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    This book is the best!

    This book is really touching. I recommend this book to everyone who has a dream.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Must read

    BEST BOOK EVER

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2011

    highly recommend

    Jessica, a track star, is in a serious bus accident where she loses her leg. Now she has to deal with a new life that at first is a challenge but with the help of others she starts to walk and eventually run again. I will be recommending this one to many students. Hopefully a class set!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    LOVE THIS BOOK

    I enjoyed this heart fealt moving book
    READ FOREVER

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Thoroughly Enjoyed

    You do not have to be a runner to find this book interesting and inspiring because I sure as heck am not a runner but this book was a very good read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Best Book EVER

    This book is both emotional and inspiring. Its so fast-paced any reader is sure to fly by it. The awesome Jessica has a huge heart which really made me realize and see a lot of the new things she did. I will never froget this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    The Running Dream

    This is an amazing book! One of the best books I have ever read. I would definitely reccomend this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!

    If i could i would give it more stars this was the best book i have ever read. It is a MUST READ!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    I love this book!:D

    This book is one of the best books l have ever read!!!!!:D lt is so inspiring!!!!:D ln my opinion, it is a true must-read!!!:D At least try iut the sample, and you will realize, you need to invest in the entire boik!!!!:D Give it a shot! At least try the sample!!!:D

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    The book ;)

    I luv this book! Go book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    I love it soo much

    The running dream is the best book ever.i am a runner for are scgools track and it made me think what would i do. Wow that has to be hard. Or i would donate to the cause.. i recremend this book to every one i know!!! I love it u must read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    This book was amazing!! It really moved my heart and now makes m

    This book was amazing!! It really moved my heart and now makes me think twice about looking at people with conditions instead of looking at who that person really is, because a lot of the time people r looking at people because they have some type of condition when yet all they want is for people to look at them for who they r instead. The running dream is a down to earth heart felt book. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2013

    The Running Dream is a great book. The character is realistic, w

    The Running Dream is a great book. The character is realistic, with no fake, cheery, constantly upbeat attitude you sometimes see in these type of books.  She DOES get upset, and she IS scared.  But she overcomes many challenges, her own and those of other's.  This book has a clear message that will easily be understood. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 166 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9