Customer Reviews for

Running Hot (Arcane Society Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 121 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Running Hot by Jayne Ann Krentz

I love Krentz's 'Arcane Society' books. Her latest in this series is the contemporary "Running Hot". This series is about a society of individuals with paranormal 'talents'. The series began with historicals, but a few years ago Krentz came out with a contemporary about...
I love Krentz's 'Arcane Society' books. Her latest in this series is the contemporary "Running Hot". This series is about a society of individuals with paranormal 'talents'. The series began with historicals, but a few years ago Krentz came out with a contemporary about the descendents of the characters in her historicals. Are you following? Anyway, her books have sizzling attraction, suspense, light action, and mystery. I enjoy getting to know each new player in this series along with their particular 'talent'.

What happens when two off-the-chart aura talents get together? Immediate attraction, for one. Grace and Luther are much more comfortable working alone, so when they're assigned the cover of a married couple, neither is too sold on the idea...until they meet. It doesn't take them long to realize how well they mesh, both psychically and physically! Now if they could just get rid of the bad guys and the wacko opera singer (that's right, wacko opera singer) they could get on with their lives!

Fun and engaging. Onto my keeper shelf it goes.

posted by jjmachshev on December 30, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Running Hot

I was not crazy about this particular book. It was just too "out there" for me to enjoy. But if you like reading about the paranormal and psychic ablities then this one is for you.

posted by SherryTX on February 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 121 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7
  • Posted March 3, 2009

    Great read

    Wonderful author does it again. Jayne Krentz never lets me down. Fun!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Always a Good Author

    You can't go wrong with Jayne Ann Krentz and her new novel is no different. Try any of her books and you'll be satisified. In Running Hot the characters are engaging the plot is exciting. An always fun look into the world of the paranormal within reality and a glimpse into the Arcane Society. Read and you won't regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2009

    LOVED IT.

    Jayne Ann Krentz has an amazing imagination and she draws readers into the story as if it were happening to my neighbors. The characters become real and I can't put the book down until I know what's going to happen next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    Running hot was!

    Along with the others in this series, this was a great read. I like the newer books in the Arcane Society Series, rather than the ones set in previous centuries - late 1800s.

    I would certainly recommend this to a friend and would buy as a gift for a person that loves to read offbeat stuff like I do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    Running Hot

    Very exciting . I enjoy the paranormal plots.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I love anything Jayne Krentz writes.

    I don't read a lot of romance, but Jayne Krentz has enough other interesting things going on in her books that they can't be strictly classified as romances. If you like a little supernatural mixed in with your mystery and romance this is a book for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    Great paranormal escape reading

    I love all of JAK's contemporary paranormal suspense novels. This newest book is a great addition. I love the balmy Maui setting and the quirky side characters. I would recommend it to anyone who wants a romantic getaway in their brain!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Jayne Ann Krentz "Running Hot"

    I love all her books so far. The characters are intelligent and her theme with mystery and romance keeps you wanting to read it until the end. I like her use of the sexy but slightly flawed hero and intelligent something to hide female. She also writes under the pen name Amanda Quick and Jayne Castle. If you haven't read her books and you like hot but intelligent romance, try this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    Different

    The story hooks you right away with a suspensful death. The interesting concept is to be able to read people by the heat they produce or auras. The story for the most part, moves along quickly. Ending is predictable, but I went along for the ride. I would read more books of this type.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    An excellent additon to the Arcane Series

    I enjoyed the book and the overall series. I would like to have more interaction between prior characters from prior books more involved. All the potential harm to the characters but no one gets hurt is not plausible in all the books. Would like more detail on the nemises and why they exists.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Love Janye Ann Krentz!!

    I have read all of her books (Jayne Castle, Amanda Quick and Jayne Ann Krentz) and am never disappointed. Well except that the stories come to an end. I will read this book again along with the others in the series.<BR/><BR/>Keep them coming and I will keep reading them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2009

    Really Jayne. You can do better.

    I was waiting for our heroine to escape an awkward situation - it didn't happen. I was waiting for interesting character specific dialogue - it wasn't there. I was waiting for a better plot but death by an opera singer is pretty lame. This one was written in her sleep.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2009

    Different location but the same story from the plot to the characterization!

    Having been a long time fan of Ms. Krentz's books (all of them including her writings as Amanda Quick and Jayne Castle), I have have to say the stories are all becoming very predicable. On the one hand, I did enjoy this book but on the other hand, I could have plugged in the characters and the storyline from her one of her previous books and it wouldn't have been any different really.<BR/>I just hope her upcoming books will be a bit different and not so predicable. Perhaps a "nontalent" with a "talent" relationship?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    a fast-paced exhilarating romantic suspense

    The psychic investigative firm Jones & Jones sends Arcane Society member Grace Renquist, who can envision the evil in a person¿s aura to Hawaii to uncover the identity of a serial killer. To protect the librarian who will be out in the cold for the first time, they hire former cop currently tending bar Luther Malone as her bodyguard, who can abort a person¿s evil thoughts before they can perform an odious deed.<BR/><BR/>Luther and Grace are attracted to one another from their first meeting. However, in Hawaii they know to table their passion and focus on the killer. They quickly learn that others seek the psychopath too; from the drug stimulated malevolent Nightshades to psychic hunter opera diva La Sirene, whose voice kills.<BR/><BR/>Although obviously over the top of Mauna Kea, RUNNING HOT is a fast-paced exhilarating romantic suspense that grips the audience from the moment the lead couple meets and never takes a breather until the concluding implication that sequels will follow. Ms. Krentz¿s fans will enjoy this serial murder mystery investigation that turns into much more dangerous and evil than a psychopath on the loose.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 121 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7