Customer Reviews for

Running Loose

Average Rating 4
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2010

    Good book and i would recommend it

    Louie Banks is a senior in high school who lives in Salmon River. He started working two jobs which allowed him to buy his dads truck. Louie worked all summer long working out with his best friend Carter trying to get in shape for the upcoming football season. It was the first year that he made the starting eight on the football team. They only play with eight people because it's a small town and they only play small towns also. He met a very nice girl that he has always liked. Her name was Becky Sanders and she was a cheerleader. One day, she walked up to him and said do you want to get a drink after school. Louie was surprised and said he would. They started hanging out a lot more and they eventually started dating each other. She realized that he was becoming a great football player and she supported him a lot. The Salmon River football team was the best around where they lived and they always went undefeated. This year, one of the teams from the town nearby got s African American player,Washington, from California and he made their team super good. The coach said the only way to win is to hurt the him. The game came, and he was doing extremely well and coach wasn't happy. The team's meanest player, Boomer had a shot at him and took it. He nailed Washington and hurt him badly and he had to get taken off the field in an ambulance. Louie flipped out and got ejected from the game because he didn't think it was right. The next day he went to school and the principal suspended him and then told him he can't play any other sport this year. He didn't think that was fair nor his parents or Becky. After suspension, the new assistant football coach was the head coach of tracl. He wanted Louie to run track for him to keep him from getting in trouble. They went to the principal and the coach of the football team and the principal said no were not letting him. Eventually, after a lot of arguing, they finally agreed to let him run track. He ended up doing really good and making it to regionals where he placed fourth in state and fifth in world. Reviewer: Taylor Budden

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2011

    highly recomended great book

    In my opinion I think that the novel Running Loose is all in all a good book, however it is not the best book I have ever read. I would still recommend this novel to any reader 12 years old and up as well as any football players who have girlfriends that they really love. In this novel there is a young adult named Louie Banks who starts out with being just another substitute for the team. His occupation is cleaning up at a bar in the morning. However he does not have it all that bad but he does not end up having it all that well either. Louie's parents helped guide him on the appropriate path to having a better and safer life which is better for his whole family. Louie's dad Norm is his biggest influence in his life. He also has many friends that help him when he is going through some rough times. Along the way he loses his beloved Becky which is one of the problems that he faces in this novel. Later in Louie's high school year he makes a critical decision that could potentially ruin his high school year and it just about does, Louie decided it was time to resign his position on the school football team . When you think that his life would start heading in the right direction it does not, it only became worse from that moment on. Towards the end of this novel Louie learns that the girl of his dreams Becky has died from an unspecified cause. Louie said something in front of everybody at the funeral, he knew he looked unethical after saying all those things. He was thinking to mow the lawn at the church for the whole summer, but he didnt do it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2011

    running loos book review

    Running loose it a very interesting book about life. Its a book about life and sports problems that the main character encounters in the story. We recommend this book to anybody that wants a good story or anyone who just need something to read. The book is read in first person view by the main character. The author writes the book using real life drama and depressing moments to keep the reader connected to the book. Running loose has some comic relief during the sad and depressing moments to help reliefs the stress and somewhat intense feelings in the story. It has racial profiling in some spots during the story. What we liked to this book was that it relates to real life and some of us can connect to some if the events that happens in this book. Its realistic and makes sense most of the times. Some of us had a few road bumps during the story. What we disliked about this story was the story slowly gets sad and gets depressing through out the events and actions in the book. Some of us didn't like the book at all. Also that it didn't really take place fro around our time so some of the situations we wouldn't really know how to compare or relate to because things change over time. Most of us didn't like the characters in the book and the way they acted and because of the choices the main character made. Over all it was a very well written book and most of us would recommend it to anyone who wants a good story or is just trying to pass time. Its took awhile to read but was worth the time because it was a good story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2010

    okay i'd read it again

    The book running loose was a slow book that got good in the middle and slow in the end again. I would recommend this book to people who like football and remember what it was like to be in high school. The book on the other hand has a terrible ending that makes you question why you read it in the first place. Besides the slow beginning and a terrible ending it was an okay book. There are bullies, friends and girl friends and it gives you the whole high school experience. I do not like football very much so I did not like this book. There's a guy named boomer who always picks on the main character Louie. Boomer constantly lies like most high school students do. He talks about his girlfriend Becky and they got into a fight. Louie stands up for what he believes in when Louie was playing football the other team had a guy named Washington who was very fast runner and great quarter back. Boomer got instructions from his couch give him an illegal sack that cost the other team the game. Louie tells the couch that was an illegal move but the couch was in on it. Louie got removed off the football team for standing up. He made a big deal out of something that he should not have. This wrecked a lot of things in his life. I will not spoil the ending for anyone who will read this book. It's a great book if you're in high school. This book does use mature language in some parts and does talk about some sexual parts and other things. Basically it's all about things that go on in high school.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2008

    My horror form high school

    I believe this story was very compelling and up-beat. More or less an up to date read that was easy, emotional and at the same time very interesting. The author uses an easy style of writing that is not hard to read or understand, and provides an amazing input to the characters and the way they feel. Chris Crutcher also writes to get his readers mind guessing what will happen next. As well the book makes me feel as though I should be able to fight through any problem that I may face. Any body form the age of 12 and up could read this book in my opinion male or female and it would be an outstanding read.<BR/>A young man is faced with a multitude of challenges such as facing his Senior yr. in high school well having a starting spot on the football team, and having an amazingly gorgeous to die for girlfriend. His coach puts Him in one of the biggest pickles of his life and at the same time has to struggle with the death of his girlfriend. The author uses excellent narrative and realistic dialogue to help explain the significance of the situation. As well as provide quality characterization that makes you want to not stop reading.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2008

    Running Loose book review

    Running Loose, written by Chris Crutcher is a novel that includes the genres of comedy, drama, adolescence, and action. The main theme of this book is about the trials in a journey through adolescence. The novel is about a teenage boy, named Louie Banks living in Idaho who faces many of these trials and must struggle to survive them. Some of the problems include his football team, his girlfriend, and the attempt to be popular. All in all, this book is a wonderful collaboration of an average teen's high school experience. Chris Crutcher grew up in Idaho, and particicpated in many sports including, distance running and swimming. This is mostly why he does such a great job writing about sports in his stories. Chris Crutcher has been given many awards but Running Loose in particular won the Best Books for Young Adult Readers award in 1983. One main point in this book is to work hard, and you will succeed. Louie Banks wanted to be on his high school football team so badly that he would do anything for it. Not only was he working full time and focusing on schoolwork, but he had trained everyday with his best friend Carter so that he would be ahead of everybody else once football tryouts came along. He didn't just make the team, but he earned the starting spot as wide reciever. This goes to show that if you want something so badly, then if you strive hard enough, you will achieve that goal. Another main point in the novel is to not let the happenings in life affect your happiness. In other words, if there are some dilemmas in your life, you can feel a bit sad, but dont dwell on them for a long time or let it get you down. Move on and use it as a motivator to do well. Louie had faced many problems throughout his high school life but he moved on in his life and continued to make himself a better person. In my opinion, this book entrigued me greatly. It incorporated all of the experiences within a teenage boy and that helped keep my interest throughout the book. I liked the humor throughout the book, it balanced itself out with the sad moments and made them easier to handle. The writing style is very easy to comprehend and provides little if no confusion. I was also easily able to imagine the setting. I defintitely recommend this book to any high school student who likes sports. This book would mostly attract guys because that is what the main character is, but the novel could also be interesting to girls.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2004

    AWESOME BOOK

    This book was an awesome book! I would highly recommend it if you are a teen and you need guidance with a problem. I say this because it deals with most problems teens in the world have everyday. The book deals with death, bullies, friends, love, and sports. The main character, Louie, has a lot of mentors he looks up to. They help him through his last year in high school. He played football, and he wasn't having such a nice time because the coaches planned to hurt a player of the opposite team. After they eventually did, he got quit the team. This showed me that making the right choice can change you life. This book influenced me to make the right choices and had an amazing stroy of a senior in high school that I will never forget. I think most of all, it taught me how to properly run the two mile.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2004

    Running Loose, Chris Crutcher, New York, Harper Collins Publishers, 1983, 216 pages

    This book is pretty good. It's about a guy named Louie who is on the 8-man football team in a little place in Iowa called Trout. He has a hot girlfriend named Becky. My reaction to this book was a combination of sadness, happiness, and triumph. This is a very uplifting book in some places and a very sad one in others. It also has a little bit of humor thrown in. Anyway, Louie's life is perfect until one day something bad happens. I won't tell you what happens you will have to read the book to find out!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2004

    Running Loose, Chris Crutcher, New York, Harper Publishers , 1983, 216 pages

    This book was not bad. It is about a guy nameed Louie who started on a small football team in Trout, Idaho. He had the perfect girlfriend and everything was goin great, until it all gets stripped away, first of all he gets thrown of ff the team. By spring the one thing he cares about most is gone. He battles through the hard times and end up n top. This is a great book for ages 12-18 but older people would like it to. He teaches a good lesson tthat you should never give up all hope. You always have something. Read it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2004

    Running Loose. Chris Crutcher. New York, NY:HarperCollins Publishers. 1983. 216 pages

    Running Loose is a book about Louie, a senior football player from Trout, Idaho who finds himself in the hardest decision of his life when his coach intentionally has the players hurt the only player in the way of their state championship. Louie has to choose the team or following his moral beliefs and quitting the team. Along with his girlfriend, Becky, family, and friends he makes the hardest decision of his life that effects him forever. Crutcher really involves the reader in the book and it relates well to teenagers. The book was one of the best books I have ever read. It is one of those books that you can't put down once you start it. The book has some serious themes, but it also has its funny and entertaining points. I would recommend this book to teenagers. Girls and guys both will enjoy this book. The book is not all about football, so you don't have to be a football lover to read the book, but football lovers will also enjoy the book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2001

    Spirit Lifting and Relating to Teenage Life

    Recommended age for this book would be 8th grade and up. It is a very good book for the young adult reader. Relates to teenagers, things every teenager will deal with. It goes through the ups and downs of life, and really makes you think. Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1