BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Running Loose

Average Rating 4
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Attending a very small-town high school in Idaho, Louie Banks fi

    Attending a very small-town high school in Idaho, Louie Banks finds his senior year to be by far his most eventful, both in a good way and a bad way. He was a starting player on the varsity football team, had a gorgeous girlfriend, AND an alibi for all his wrongdoings when it came to the principal. In football season Louie experienced one extremely bewildering call that left his mind reeling and his thoughts about coach had taken to a much different course. When spring came, tragedy struck. All he had in the world meant nothing in comparison to what had just happened. Banks had changed. He now looked at life with more caution, with more authority. I enjoyed this book greatly and have no doubt that you'll share the same thoughts. What intrigued me most was how accurate the situations seemed in this book. Entirely able to relate to, this novel will nearly bring tears to your eyes. Recommendations include, but are not limited to: realistic fiction readers, athletes, melodrama-goers, and/or if you enjoy deep, loving relationships! I assure you, the time put into "Running Loose" will most certainly be worth it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    At anonoms on dec 7

    If you think this book was horrible yomusr not have read it and whoever told you it was horrible must not have read it either.
    The first chris crutcher bokk i read instantly addicted. Read it forreal and r
    Then post u fatA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2008

    just a question

    i read Deadline and its absolutly my favorite book EVER. but in deadline it talks about all these charactors and about Becky's death. are these two books related? like this one is about Ben Wolf's coach when he was young?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2007

    A reviewer

    My book review is on Running Loose by Chris Crutcher. This book was written from the first person point of view. It was a perfect way to tell this story. I think it is the only way the author could have gotten Louie¿s story told as good as it was. Louie was the main character and was the narrator and he did it with such feeling that he sucked you right into his life. The setting is in Trout, Idaho. It is a town, so small they only play as an eight man football team because if your school enrollment is less than 125 than that is all you need to play football. It is Louie Banks senior year in high school and he will be graduating in 1982. The genre is realistic fiction. The major theme of the book is that in life no one except yourself can say or do anything to keep you down. You have the power within yourself to change things for you own good. ¿Seemed like all I had to do was shove `er in neutral and coast on in to graduation. But when it goes, man, it goes.¿ The character Louie starts out his senior year on top of the world. He got a starting position on the football team. His grades were doing just fine. He was falling in love for the first time with a cheerleader named Becky. He was working two part time jobs that he liked. He was thinking about college and his future. Then all of a sudden, he took a stand for what was right, but that would be the start of everything changing. No more football and he even got suspended. Then when he thought he was moving in the right direction again, Becky died. The love of his life was gone and he was only 18 and was not ready to deal with it. ¿Boy, if you come through this, you¿ll be a man. There¿s only one thing that separates a man from a boy, the way I see it, and it ain¿t age. It¿s seein¿ how life works, so you don¿t get surprised all the time and kicked in the butt. It¿s knowing the rules.¿ ¿You can get through almost anything if you have people around you who care about you. And I learned that when all is said and done, you¿re responsible for every damn thing you do.¿ Carter is Louie¿s best friend, quarterback of the football team, runner for the track team, salutatorian and one of the few people who never gave up on you fro what you did shows you character. Louie had a lot of character. When one coach gave him a chance to be an athlete again and run the two mile race for the track team, guess what he did? I think this was the best book I have ever read. As a 17 year old junior in high school who plays football for may high school and has thought about going out for the track team, I would give this book a very big two thumbs up!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2006

    This book was really good!

    I had to read it for an English project. I really liked it. At first I thought it was boring and stopped but when my teacher told me that the story isnt really boring and that theirs a big twist, it made me want to read it again, so I finished and my perspective changed completely. Its about a senior in high school named Louie who has to deal with many problems in his life. The death of his girlfriend Becky, quitting the football team, then joining the track team, gaining a friend and more.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2005

    An Awesome, Oustanding book!!!!

    It is about a boy named Louie who has the star football player as a friend, hot girlfriend, and great football and track skills. It deals with death, sex, realationships,self control, and self Perseverance . I'm telling you. It relates to everyone in some way!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2005

    This is the greatest book ever!

    This book is about a kid named Louie and he has a problem. He is a hot head. First when he starts screaming at the his coach, when his coach orders the team to take out another kid on the opposing team. Then when his girl friend died he started yelling at the preacher for saying sad stuff when he thought that Becky would want him to talk about funny stuff. He wouldn't have made it through this if it wasn't or his family and the support of his best friend, Carter. Crter is his best friend and he helps him through everything. After all that happens and he is settled down with everything he joins the track team and makes it to regional. The End.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2004

    Running Loose. Chris Crutcher. Harper Collins Publishers. New York, New York. 1983. 216 pages

    The book Running Loose was a book about a teenage boy who has everything going perfect in his life. Louie is a starter on the football team; he's dating a smart, beautiful, loving cheerleader. Then everything goes in a downward spiral. Louie's coach orders the team to hurt a player from the other team on purpose. Louie speaks his mind about the situation. He is kicked off the team for his actions. After his relationship with Becky comes to a scary halt. He takes up a new sport after Becky¿s gone. This book was the bomb! I would read it over and over again. I recommend this book to teenagers and young adults because it tells younger people to stand up for what they believe is right. It also has some language that younger kids might what to look out for. I give this book a 5 out of 5 stars. It had sports and still tied in a very positive message, and it has a lot of action -Dylan

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2004

    Running Loose. Chris Crutcher. New York: HarperCollins publishers, 1983, 216 pages.

    This book was great! It was about a boy named Louie. He had everything. His girlfriend is Becky. He lived in Trout, Idaho. He had it all and then everything just falls apart. The book was very good. I like how it keeps you guessing. Everything keeps on changing and you don't know what is going to happen. I would recommend this book to teenagers. This book relates to them a lot. Teens will enjoy this book a lot.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2004

    Running Loose, Crutcher, Chris, New York, New York 1983, 216pgs

    This is a great book! It starts out talking about the characters. The characters are very realistic and are easy to relate to if you are in the same situation. Louie banks has a starting position on the football team, the most beautiful cheerleader in the school, and his friends love him. But one evening it all starts going very wrong. All of the sudden he loses everything except Becky, his girlfriend. Everything seems to get a little better, but then he loses the only thing he had left. He goes on and runs track and beats Washington, a black football player,who is part of the reason he lost it all. I would recommend this book to seventh grade and up. If you are into sports you should read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2002

    The Best Book I Read

    I read this book for summer reading. This book is one of those that you start reading and you cant stop. I almost started to cry when Beckys accident happend.If you like sports you'll like this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2002

    Amazing

    The author faces the never ending racial problems bravely resulting in a truly spectular novel. It's spellbounding, and I recommend it to anyone who like deeply affecting books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2001

    Superb reading, I'm not a fan of reading, but I like this

    Running Loose is a breathtaking novel by a master of the trade. It takes place in a school type atmosphere. Louie, a senior, worked dilgently to get a starting spot on the high school football team, but is faced with difficult times when his coach orders an illegal hit against an opposeing player. It also has a superb cast of charaecters, each with their own storyline. I would give this book an excellent rating. It is pretty much a one of a kind book. I would reccomend this book to ages 12 and up due to some language and sexual content.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1