Customer Reviews for

The Running Man

Average Rating 4
( 210 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(86)

4 Star

(82)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

WARNING!

So this would have been the first Stephen King book I read cover to cover. I was REALLY excited with the story line and could not wait to start reading it. The mistake I made was start at the beginning and am warning you about it because during the introduction "The Imp...
So this would have been the first Stephen King book I read cover to cover. I was REALLY excited with the story line and could not wait to start reading it. The mistake I made was start at the beginning and am warning you about it because during the introduction "The Importance of Being Bachman" King gives away the ending!!! Not just a "Oh, and then something negative happens" but "Blah, blah, and then he blah blah" specifically. If you want to enjoy the book (as I am CERTAIN I would have) DO NOT READ THE INTRODUCTION!!!!

Who does that?? Yes, I get it, it has been republished so you want to add a note, but for those who would have picked up the book for the first time (never had seen the movie either so I don't know if it tells the true ending) the book has been ruined!!!. . . I always pictured Stephen King as a smart man. . . WRONG!

So please! Add a HUGE SPOILER warning if you are giving away the ending of a book before the story even starts!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by LaNenaFiny on July 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

"Sample"?

You mean the cover, table of contents, and less than a paragraph of the introduction. Honestly, B&N, if you can't control the price of the book, at least make the sample long enough so I can decide whether or not to agree to the extortion your prices are.

posted by 8534164 on July 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted July 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    WARNING!

    So this would have been the first Stephen King book I read cover to cover. I was REALLY excited with the story line and could not wait to start reading it. The mistake I made was start at the beginning and am warning you about it because during the introduction "The Importance of Being Bachman" King gives away the ending!!! Not just a "Oh, and then something negative happens" but "Blah, blah, and then he blah blah" specifically. If you want to enjoy the book (as I am CERTAIN I would have) DO NOT READ THE INTRODUCTION!!!!

    Who does that?? Yes, I get it, it has been republished so you want to add a note, but for those who would have picked up the book for the first time (never had seen the movie either so I don't know if it tells the true ending) the book has been ruined!!!. . . I always pictured Stephen King as a smart man. . . WRONG!

    So please! Add a HUGE SPOILER warning if you are giving away the ending of a book before the story even starts!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2007

    Bachman = King = Great Story

    King wrote this book back when he was still pretending to be Bachman, and it is nice to see that it is being published with the King name on it because it was a great read. I was a little nervous about reading this book because lets face it, the movie was terrible. Thankfully the story is much different, better, from the one staring a certain California Governor. This is not horror story, which may turn off some King loyalists, but more of an action thriller. It's set in 2025 where the rich get richer and the poor die young. The only way to make some money for your family is to enter the Games.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2013

    This book did not stop once to catch its breath or let me catch

    This book did not stop once to catch its breath or let me catch mine. It was a breathless race to the end. Best to start this one at the beginning of the day and not before bed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    Best of Bachman

    I love Stephen Kings books and recently started reading the Bachman books, I have found they are not as good as his Stephen King novels but this is deff the best among the Bachmans

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Great action book!

    The running man book review
    The running man, written by author Stephen King, Is a book set in the east coast in the year 2025. The main characters name is known as Richards (Ben Richards). But in the year 2025, society has broken and further divided the Rich from the poor. And Richards, is exceedingly poor. He lived in a dilapidated apartment building on the west side of town. He can barely afford food for his family to eat. But bad soon goes to worse when his daughter catches pneumonia, and he has no money to get her medical attention that she needs. She is in danger of dying, and Richards needs the money, so he comes up with a solution… With the desensitization that society underwent, a new kind of entertainment arose, one that strives to hurt, and test people. It's called the game show. But this new channel was not full of family friendly games. Instead of "wheel of fortune", they had wheel chair on a treadmill. And then their top game, The Running Man. It's a game show where you run away, and "Hunters" hunt for you. You can run anywhere in the world, and if they find you, they will kill you. Richards was to compete in The Running Man games. If he evaded capture for 80 days, he would have enough money to not only heal his daughter, but enough money for him and his family to live without money issues. So Richards took on the challenge. He started to run. He evaded, fooled, and did spectacular in the games. But, he was found at a traffic stop... He ran a nearby airport, and with the hunters and crowd, demanded a supersonic jet aircraft. But the lead hunter was to go with him. He got his wish, he got the aircraft. But while on the plane, he learned that his family was killed by the hunters. So he hijacked the airplane. He then flew into the city, and found the game shows skyscraper... He aimed 2/3 of the way up on the building, and hit I'd dead on...

    The running man is a gripping story with fair details, and an exciting plot line. The book breaks ground with the desensitized visions of how America could become. But the book over all is an action book. It draws you in with it's fast paced nature. And for an action book, it is relatively smartly written. It has some surface to the plot. For example, it gives some detail on Richards life. And Stephen King gives a little more depth on the games themselves. But unlike many other books, it lacks a strong character background. And most of the characters, including Richards, are vague and somewhat incomplete. As gripping as this story is, there are no underlying themes. Granted, this is an action book. Over all, I would rate this book an 8. I give it that raring because of how fun it is to read. I picked the book up, and found it impossible to set down. Even through my 3rd read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Do not read the forward

    I have read this book before so it wasn't a big issue but the author gives away the ending to the book in the forward, so if you haven't read the book skip the forward.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    This was a very good book. After I loaned it to a co-worker who

    This was a very good book. After I loaned it to a co-worker who had seen the movie first he told me that the book was much better! Of course isn't that how it usually is? This was a nice fresh story from King using his alter-ego. When I want easy reads that are slightly different from his other works I like his Bachman series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 29, 2012

    Really good book

    The book the running man is an amazing novle about a man named Ben Richards. Ben Richards is a man living in poverty with a daughter who is sick with the flu. In this futuristic world you can’t even get medicine without being wealthy and the only thing that seems to be free it the Free-V. So it is up to Ben to find the money for his daughter’s medicine which is why he joins the running man game show. For a month he will have to strain to stay alive and earn more money every hour to save his daughter from the “flu”. This is a really good book which I highly recommend for you to read. It had me keep turning the pages to see what happens and I never wanted to put it down. From the dramatic beginning to the climatic end it was all a really good read. I’m a avid reader of Steven King and this has to be one of my favorites. I would probably have to give this book a four out of five

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Good Book

    Though not as well written as a Clockwork Orange, Running Man was thoroughly enjoyable and should become a classic of dystopian literature.

    Note: Dont read the intro before reading the book. It gives part of the storyline away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2011

    EXCELLENT WITH ONE FIXABLE PROBLEM

    IT IS A GREAT BOOK WITH ONE PROBLEM A LOT OF PROFANITY

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Way better than the movie!

    This story is very fast paced and tells a sad story. If you have seen the movie forget about most of it. Other than a similar game show premise and the same named character, it is very different and a far better story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2008

    I Liked It

    In this book, a man enters a game show in order to care for his sick daughter. However, this isn't any ordinary game show, this is 'The Running Man.' I read this book completely along with 'Tom Gordon' and 'Salem's Lot' when I read Stephen King for the first time, and this was my favorite of the three. Adventurous and wild! This is a book that I recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2004

    COMING SOON TO A REALITY NEAR YOU

    Scary as it is this book is looking more and more like a work of nonfiction these days. With a continually smaller number of corporations owning more and more industries from arms manufacturing and surveillance equipment to network news and medicines. With the strange rise of reality programs in society, and of course the passage of the USA PATRIOT ACT that gives the government unprecedented powers to monitor e-mails, check on people's reading lists, detain and even imprison them without any sort of trial. It is in this context that the novel of Ben Richards, from the lower classes of society, 'runs' to help his family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2003

    what a book

    if you want an exciting book, read The Running Man. This book keeps you on the edge of your seat and you can't put it down. Howver, it does not have the ending i was hoping for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2002

    The Running Man

    This book was great!! A pretty easy read, and always left me wondering what was going to happen next. I would definitely recommend this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2002

    Great but not his best

    This was GREAT! But it isnt his best. It had a great plot and the ending was awsome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2002

    Our Future?

    I liked the suspense and the whole meaning behind the book. What is amazing to me is how S. King creates such a close image to what the future may be -- with such an ugly vision of television and people. The ending resembled 9-11-01.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2000

    Better than the movie

    This is a great book with all of Stephen Kings other books. It is much better than the movie, and I love how the characters interact with each other. It kept me reading all day and all night. I spent about 5 hours reading it through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5