Customer Reviews for

The Running Man

Average Rating 4
( 209 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(86)

4 Star

(82)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

WARNING!

So this would have been the first Stephen King book I read cover to cover. I was REALLY excited with the story line and could not wait to start reading it. The mistake I made was start at the beginning and am warning you about it because during the introduction "The Imp...
So this would have been the first Stephen King book I read cover to cover. I was REALLY excited with the story line and could not wait to start reading it. The mistake I made was start at the beginning and am warning you about it because during the introduction "The Importance of Being Bachman" King gives away the ending!!! Not just a "Oh, and then something negative happens" but "Blah, blah, and then he blah blah" specifically. If you want to enjoy the book (as I am CERTAIN I would have) DO NOT READ THE INTRODUCTION!!!!

Who does that?? Yes, I get it, it has been republished so you want to add a note, but for those who would have picked up the book for the first time (never had seen the movie either so I don't know if it tells the true ending) the book has been ruined!!!. . . I always pictured Stephen King as a smart man. . . WRONG!

So please! Add a HUGE SPOILER warning if you are giving away the ending of a book before the story even starts!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by LaNenaFiny on July 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

"Sample"?

You mean the cover, table of contents, and less than a paragraph of the introduction. Honestly, B&N, if you can't control the price of the book, at least make the sample long enough so I can decide whether or not to agree to the extortion your prices are.

posted by 8534164 on July 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Race to the End

    This novel is a tense, page-turning, heart stopping chase. I wasn't expecting it to be so suspenseful or so dark. As others have mentioned, don't read the introduction until after you have read the novel since it reveals the ending rather matter-of-factly. The "Introduction" really should be changed to an "Afterward" with a disclaimer that it reveals key plot elements of The Running Man. I'm not sure why the publishers haven't made this change in recent printings. Incidentally, the other Bachman books share the same introduction, so if you are reading Roadwork or The Long Walk, for example, and you haven't yet read The Running Man, skip the introduction. This novel is more tightly plotted and cinematic than the other Bachman books. The 100 short chapters, titled only as a numerical countdown marching feverishly towards 0, contribute to the feeling that time is running out. The social commentary is biting and caustic, and the ending is both sad and chilling. Although I'm a huge Stephen King fan, I neglected to read this book because of my associations to the movie. The book is much better, much darker, and I am glad that I read it. For King/Bachman fans - don't miss it.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Couldn't put the book down

    This was a great book and it really lies mention to the difference in social groups, as in poor and rich. It is a fiction and to the extreme. The ending is very unpredictable and you will find yourself wanting to keep reading to finish the book. I will definitely keep for a book I might read again

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Best of the Bachman Books

    I have read 4 of the Bachman Books, by far this is the best. I recommend this to anyone who enjoys other Stephen King novels. Five out of five stars.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Ooh man.

    This is definitely NOT like the movie! The book is so much better! I just finished reading it, and let me tell you, it is so mind boggling, you'll never put it down! Excellent read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2008

    The Best of the Bachman Books

    the running man is one of the few books i have ever read in which i could not remove my eyes from the pages. if you were only to read this by stephen king, i think you would have a good summary of his style.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2007

    Stephen King Does IT again

    The Running Man is evidence that Stephen King is the best action thriller writer around. The book is set in a world of pollution and turmoil, only twenty years ahead of our own. Only a few years ago the government made a law forcing every one to get a Free-Vee, it¿s almost like today¿s television, except for the game shows. The Game Network makes people not compete for just money but for their survival. Ben Richards, out of work and poverty-stricken and is unable to afford a doctor for his seriously ill daughter, Cathy . After watching her suffer with no medical care, he decides to collaborate with the thing he hates most, the Games. He soon gets picked for the deadliest game, if you lost you would not end up in the hospital with a heart attack or loose one or two limbs, you would die. This game name is The Running Man. I thoroughly enjoyed this well written novel it had a perfect blend of suspense action with the numerous plot twists. Besides the action and the main plot, this book illustrates our fears of the future. Stephen Kings writing leaves no room for improvement and demonstrates amazing writing anywhere. If you liked the book you would love, some of King¿s other novels. These include Salem¿s Lot, and the Dark Tower series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    Like reading from a new author

    I am a long time King fan and i was pleased with this book and i am actually going to read all the Bachman series of books. A simple read yet very captivating. You can see the usual King crazyness on certain passages yet in a different view! I enjoyed this novel and like most of King's books I could not put it down! The main character Richards is clever, strong, yet broken. but from what I hear, I will stay clear from the movie version of this novel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    very interesting

    this was the very first Stephen King book i finished it got me interested from the very first page. if you read this and and like it i recommend the long walk by Stephen King.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2013

    I just meant to pick this up and glance through it in passing. N

    I just meant to pick this up and glance through it in passing. Next thing I know I’ve skipped three classes and have to finish it. Be careful when you start this thing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2013

    OMG I have loved Stephen King since my first encounter with him

    OMG
    I have loved Stephen King since my first encounter with him in 1981. I have never missed buying a single book of his and own The Bachman Books in hardcover. I read The Running Man many years ago, and just finished rereading it this morning. This is a roller coaster ride that is almost physical. Yesterday I had to stop reading midway to come to work, and I was in a heightened state of tension all day. No words can describe how terrific it is. One of the things that makes it so great is King's unmatched way with his characters. This is always true of his writing, but maybe even more in this book, as the stakes are so high. Do yourself a favor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Lol read this

    RUN FOREST RUUUN!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2012

    One of Richard Bachman/Stephen King's best. Anybody who has se

    One of Richard Bachman/Stephen King's best. Anybody who has seen the movie, the book is quite different.

    In a future hellhole world ruled by entertainment , a group of down on their luck individuals enter into a sick game show where the losers are killed live on T.V., and the winners enjoy a cheap few hours of fame and fortune.

    A perfect mix of horror, and Sci-Fi social commentary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Running Man By Stephen King Writing as Richard Bachman In

    The Running Man
    By Stephen King
    Writing as Richard Bachman

    In a time where poverty is the norm, Ben Richards is willing to forfeit his life to save his eighteen month old daughter who is dying of influenza. Richards is soon chosen for The Running Man, a reality TV show where everyone is hunting him for a prize. When nowhere is safe and you must survive to earn your prize what would you do to win?

    I don’t remember watching this movie but I know if I were to ask my mother she would swear I have seen it, growing up with a Stephen King buff I probably have, but when I first started this book the first thing I thought was Jebus it’s the original Hunger Games, without children killing each other. Ben Richards is an average guy in hard times which makes him highly relatable, well unless you are a spoiled rich kid I guess, and he is just doing his best to support his family which adds into the story a sympathetic dimension. All in all it’s an interesting read; if you are a fan of the dystopian genre then you should definitely pick this one up if you haven’t read it already.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Amazinggg!!!

    All time favorite book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    COOL

    My aunt said that this book is really good. She explained to me what its about and i told her that its like the hunger games. Now shes reading it and loves it. You'll thank me when you read the hunger games by suzanne collins.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Wonderful

    On of King's greatest works. There is a lot of swearing (more than most of his books) though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    One of his best.....

    Read this book in 24 hours, couldn't put it down. The tension build up is palpable. Highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    A Fantastic Read!

    First of all if the movie by the same title brought you here, abandon all hope and move along.

    The year is 2025: The atmosphere is not fit to breathe and society amuses itself by watching contestants die on television. Enter Ben Richards, a man desperately trying to save the life of his eighteen month old daughter and wife. A man without options, the only viable conclusion he can come up with to save his family is to be a part of the games...

    Bachman has created a fantastic page turner that will shock, terrify and have you rooting for "The Running Man" all the way to the very climatic end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    sweet book

    asome book mane

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    One of my favorite Stephen King books.

    I won't even go into the sheer awesomeness of this book. Just read it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5