Customer Reviews for

Running Out of Time

Average Rating 4.5
( 183 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(138)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Running out of time

Thirteen year-old Jesse Keyser is your average teenage girl. She lives in 1840 in a small village in the dense forest of Indiana, but her life suddenly changes when she discovers a secret that will change her life. Young Jesse is told a secret that will change her life....
Thirteen year-old Jesse Keyser is your average teenage girl. She lives in 1840 in a small village in the dense forest of Indiana, but her life suddenly changes when she discovers a secret that will change her life. Young Jesse is told a secret that will change her life. Secretly, her mother tells her it is truly 1996 and that this young girl must get help. Her village is suffering when diphtheria strikes. As she leaves the village, she is fascinated and a little scared by the outside world. She uses the number her mother gave her to call for help. The man she meets is going to save the village, or does he have other plans? What is Jesse going to do now? In this exciting read, you will follow a young girl through her transition from her everyday life to the real world outside. Once you pick up this book, you will never be able to put it down. I could never put it down, it was so consuming. This book shows that anyone can do anything. I would say that this book is easiest to read for people ages ten and sixteen. Plus, anyone could enjoy this easy and exciting read. If you like to read adventurous books, this is the one for you.

posted by 1120167 on March 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Review By Meb Luap

Running Out of Time is a creative book about a young teenage girl who escapes her culture into the outside world. This book is exciting, different, unique, and possibly for some readers it may be addictive. Although this book is enjoyed by many, it could us a few modiff...
Running Out of Time is a creative book about a young teenage girl who escapes her culture into the outside world. This book is exciting, different, unique, and possibly for some readers it may be addictive. Although this book is enjoyed by many, it could us a few modiffcations in my opinion. The words are not descriptive enough and sometimes you wish that they would just cut to the point. Besides these few minor problems, the book was well thought out and fairly interesting.

Jessie lives in a small town in what she thinks is in the 1800's, where many children are starting to die. Her mother notices this, and decides to let Jessie in on a little secret: it's the late 1900's, and she is living in what's a recreation for tourists. Her mother sends her out into reality to fetch a doctor. She gets dressed in modern day clothes and sends her off with some cash. Along the way, Jessie discovers what happens every day in the real world, and meets a few little"friends" while she's at it.....

So what happens next? Does Jessie get the doctor back in time to save her people? Or is this tourist attraction also the graveyard of innocent farmers and families? Find out in Running Out of Time!

posted by 8487471 on April 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 183 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    Dont listen to rwad this

    The alex rider sieres sucks. This book is great i would recomened the amomg the hidden seires

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Great Book!

    Amazing! Full of mystery and suspense.

    I highly reccomend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Maddy!! Maddy

    I loved Running out of time!!it was an action packed book. Margret Peterson Haddix is amazing!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    Amazing!!!! Magnificent!!!!! Wonderful!!!! All rapped into one :)

    I love this book because it is so addicting. You have to know hats next. Its also an enjoyable and quick read. Its FULL of suspense and a bit of mystery and betrayal. More mystery though. The story is a wonderfull book for kids from ages 10+. I would recommend this book any day to a reader. Especially if they are haddix fans

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Not her best

    I love her other books and was excited to read it in grade6 but i did not like the book. It was slow and boring. Even my teavher hated it. Do not judge the author by this book though. Her other books are amazayn and she is a phenominiall author. Read all of her books.......except this one

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    Bob

    This book is amazing! You for sure need to read it!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Best book

    This is an amazing book. Thank you so much for letting me read this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    R

    I loved this book! Margret peterson haddix is my favorite author! This book rocks! It is still not as good as her missing series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    So sad so so sad

    The ending is so sad I mean who dosn't get medicine for a killer disese. But really awesome book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    Jv

    Kept me on the tip of my chair awsome!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Great wonderful awesome thrilling

    Even though i havent finished it yet i know its gonna be a great book. My teacher last year started to read it to the class but didnt have time to finish so i got the book yesterday and know im almost halfway!!! :D

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    Look at my reveiw

    Just awsome

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Runnng Out of Time by Margaret Peterson Haddix

    Running Out of Time is an amazing book that has a plethora of adventure, suspense, and irony. Haddix has done an amazing job with this book, in my opinion. One thing I was not sure about is the genre of this book. It hits mostly Realistic Fiction, but I was also thinking maybe a little Historical Fiction and Mystery? If anyone wants to add to this genre question, feel free.
    Anywho, great book! It's definitely going to be one of those books that I'll always recommend.

    --epic_daydreamer99

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    I love this book amazing read for school i am a teacher

    Thos isva amazing book when i read it to my class and the all loved so much.if you want to now some other good edivece you can chat me

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Friends

    My friend read this book and told me that it was really good and i am hoping to read it someday but my family and i just dont have the money to buy me a nook card.....!!!!!........???????........!!!!!!!!.......??????.......:(

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    Cbalgren

    This book is great!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    Really great book i would have been frightened if i were Jessie

    Jessie is areally brave girl i would have been way to frightend to go into a world i have never even heard of and to think i had been living in a fake world being watched i might have actually drinkin the water onthe bed side table instead of pouring it out of the window i had to read this book for a book report it got me thinking how do we kniw that we arent being wattched even if we are its not bad we have medicin and you dont get hit for being bad in school life int bad:)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    AWESOME BOOK!

    We read it in class one time and had to act out a scene from it. I Don't want to give away it but it was really good. It involves dads, moms, girl, and a mirror. It is also sad also. Have to read it though!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    What?!?!?!?!

    I didn't get the concept of the book. I mean like I know that there is a little action, but not enough to keep me hooked. BORING!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    ?

    My class and i are reading this now..so far no one likes it but i do.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 183 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 10