Customer Reviews for

Running Out of Time

Average Rating 4.5
( 182 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(138)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Running out of time

Thirteen year-old Jesse Keyser is your average teenage girl. She lives in 1840 in a small village in the dense forest of Indiana, but her life suddenly changes when she discovers a secret that will change her life. Young Jesse is told a secret that will change her life....
Thirteen year-old Jesse Keyser is your average teenage girl. She lives in 1840 in a small village in the dense forest of Indiana, but her life suddenly changes when she discovers a secret that will change her life. Young Jesse is told a secret that will change her life. Secretly, her mother tells her it is truly 1996 and that this young girl must get help. Her village is suffering when diphtheria strikes. As she leaves the village, she is fascinated and a little scared by the outside world. She uses the number her mother gave her to call for help. The man she meets is going to save the village, or does he have other plans? What is Jesse going to do now? In this exciting read, you will follow a young girl through her transition from her everyday life to the real world outside. Once you pick up this book, you will never be able to put it down. I could never put it down, it was so consuming. This book shows that anyone can do anything. I would say that this book is easiest to read for people ages ten and sixteen. Plus, anyone could enjoy this easy and exciting read. If you like to read adventurous books, this is the one for you.

posted by 1120167 on March 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Review By Meb Luap

Running Out of Time is a creative book about a young teenage girl who escapes her culture into the outside world. This book is exciting, different, unique, and possibly for some readers it may be addictive. Although this book is enjoyed by many, it could us a few modiff...
Running Out of Time is a creative book about a young teenage girl who escapes her culture into the outside world. This book is exciting, different, unique, and possibly for some readers it may be addictive. Although this book is enjoyed by many, it could us a few modiffcations in my opinion. The words are not descriptive enough and sometimes you wish that they would just cut to the point. Besides these few minor problems, the book was well thought out and fairly interesting.

Jessie lives in a small town in what she thinks is in the 1800's, where many children are starting to die. Her mother notices this, and decides to let Jessie in on a little secret: it's the late 1900's, and she is living in what's a recreation for tourists. Her mother sends her out into reality to fetch a doctor. She gets dressed in modern day clothes and sends her off with some cash. Along the way, Jessie discovers what happens every day in the real world, and meets a few little"friends" while she's at it.....

So what happens next? Does Jessie get the doctor back in time to save her people? Or is this tourist attraction also the graveyard of innocent farmers and families? Find out in Running Out of Time!

posted by 8487471 on April 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 138 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2009

    Running out of time

    Thirteen year-old Jesse Keyser is your average teenage girl. She lives in 1840 in a small village in the dense forest of Indiana, but her life suddenly changes when she discovers a secret that will change her life. Young Jesse is told a secret that will change her life. Secretly, her mother tells her it is truly 1996 and that this young girl must get help. Her village is suffering when diphtheria strikes. As she leaves the village, she is fascinated and a little scared by the outside world. She uses the number her mother gave her to call for help. The man she meets is going to save the village, or does he have other plans? What is Jesse going to do now? In this exciting read, you will follow a young girl through her transition from her everyday life to the real world outside. Once you pick up this book, you will never be able to put it down. I could never put it down, it was so consuming. This book shows that anyone can do anything. I would say that this book is easiest to read for people ages ten and sixteen. Plus, anyone could enjoy this easy and exciting read. If you like to read adventurous books, this is the one for you.

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Running to read this book

    This book is awesome. There are many lessons you can learn in this book.Thrilling. It will keep you on the edge of your seat. Read this book!

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    One of my favorites! :D Wow!!

    There was a comment on here about someone reading this book and they still remember it as a freshman and i knew i had to write a review. I also read this book as a fifth grader because it was recommended to me by my teacher. I couldn't put it down back then and it can still hold my interest now that I'm a sophomore. This is a book that I still recommend to my friends. This continues to be one of the best books I have ever picked up! My advice is to read it!

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Running out of time to get this book!

    All of my friends read this book and i thought 'If this book is that good, i have to run to get it off the shelves!' I ran to barnes and noble to get it there was only 5 copies left on the shelves. Jessie Keyser is a girl that every girl can relate too. She lives in 1840 in Clifton village. But when the dipheria epidemic hits her village, her mom tells her to go on a dangerous mission to find help in the outside world. Problem is, it's really 1996. Can Jessie hurry and get help in an unknown world, before time runs out?

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    Great book

    I read it one day!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    Summer reading

    I had to read this book for summer reading. At first i thought i wouldnt enjoy this, even though i love Haddix's books. In the begining it was a little boring. But overtime it got really interesting. I recommend this book for 10 to 14 year olds. I loved it

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Grace

    Best book i have EVER READ! You should TOTALLY read this book! I read it in fourth grade. Friggin' loved it! Now that i read it again, i still friggin' love it! READ THIS BOOK!!!!!!!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Awsome!!!!!!!!!!!!:}

    Awsome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!Best book ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:}

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Really great!

    It was great! I didn't what would happen next!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Great

    Book

    2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    A Thriller

    This book, Running Out Of Time by Margaret Peterson Haddox, is a phenomenal book. Once you start reading this book, you don't want to put it down until you have finished it! This book is about a family that is living in an 1840¿s village. Only the adults know that it really is no 1840¿s village, but instead it is 1990¿s and the village is just a tourist site. The tourist can watch the village from mirrors and cameras underneath the village. A disease has come about in the village and the people are getting sick. They need the medicine to stop the disease, but the workers won¿t provide the medicine. Jessie a 13-year-old girl in the family is sent to the ¿ outside¿ world to find help to stop the disease. To adventure with Jessie into a world that she knows nothing about, you have to read this book! This is one of the best books yet.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2007

    Fantastic!!!!

    I loved this book. I don't know How Margaret Patterson Haddix does it. You become the main charecter. I recomend this book to everyone, even if your not in the recomended age area.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    Ummm...

    Is this good cuase i think it is but you know just making sure;) No hard feelings!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    school

    When I had to read this book for school I really didn't want to but as I started to read I got attatched to it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!...........:-)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    I found this on Accident

    I was with my Grammy at a book sale, looking for a book to buy. I had read the book Found by this author earlier, and was looking for that instead. I had a feeling I would be stuck reading my Magic Treehouse and American Girl books instead. I was SO disappointed. But when Grammy asked me if I had found any books and I realized I had seen 2 familiar titles and one familiar author. I nodded and ran of to the children's area. I first found Runaway Twin by Peg Kehret. Then I found The Devil's Arithmetic by Jane Yolen. Then I found this one. I squealed with delight when I realized that I was holding what was going to be my FIRST Margaret Peterson Haddix BOOK! I still own it, it is TOO special to get rid of, as well as Found and Caught. P.S. I have a REALLY old copy of it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Yes for you

    It was great didnt want to put it down. Totally recommend it. Get it! The best seriously.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    Fascinating :) :) :)

    You get sucked in.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    ;)

    Amazing

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    Dont listen to rwad this

    The alex rider sieres sucks. This book is great i would recomened the amomg the hidden seires

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Great Book!

    Amazing! Full of mystery and suspense.

    I highly reccomend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 138 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7