BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Running Wild (Men from Battle Ridge Series)

Average Rating 4
( 73 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 1, 2012

    I loved Running Wild! In fact I loved it so much I may just rere

    I loved Running Wild! In fact I loved it so much I may just reread it (when I can find the time) over again. This was the perfect small town, cowboy romance with a bit of suspense story. The fact that I finished it in one day will tell you that I did not want to put it down!

    Carlin Reed is running scared and living off the grid. A police officer who she dated twice is after her. He has already killed her friend because he thought it was her. Since the police wouldn’t help her, she is not taking any chances and is trying to going into hiding.

    After working part time (and under the table) at a small town restaurant, Carly gets a job as a housekeeper and cook on an out of the way ranch owned and managed by Zeke Decker. It takes awhile for Carly to trust him and while they are attracted to each other, they do nothing about it. The romance is a slow simmer as we see their relationship grow through daily life as well as challenges that come into play.

    Now I am not a big fan of suspense stories but Running Wild has just the perfect amount. It really keeps the plot interesting and yet it wasn’t too over powering. I know I am looking forward to more in this series by this wonderful writing team!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Running Wild The Men from Battle Ridge Book One By Linda Howard

    Running Wild
    The Men from Battle Ridge Book One
    By Linda Howard and Linda Winstead Jones

    Carlin Reed is on the run, after two dates with a seemingly harmless man he soon becomes obsessed and begins stalking her. One day Carlin is in hiding when her stalker catches up with her and kills a woman who had borrowed her red rain coat sending Carlin on the run once again. This time she lands in Wyoming and what she finds there is more than just a place to lay low but a family amongst the ranch hands and maybe even a special place in her heart for Zeke, the owner of the ranch where she finds herself wanting to stay.

    A Maniacal killer chasing after a woman who finds herself in the arms of a sexy cowboy, what could go wrong? In this case absolutely nothing Linda Howard and Linda Jones have created an amazing romance novel full of suspense. That is only the beginning of the story though in this book Carlin grows from a cowering victim to a strong independent woman all with the help of Zeke and his hands, which reminded me of the seven dwarves each one adoring Carlin and wanting anything to make her happy. I loved the mishaps that Carlin has in the kitchen when she first arrives at the ranch to begin working as the cook she doesn’t quite know what she is doing and it adds to the story a sense of comradeship that will definitely carry over to the next novels, which I am anxiously awaiting. I was sent a free copy of this book for an honest review.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    Really good

    This was a really good story kept from being great simply because of the looong thought processes Carly kept repeating. Plus it took over 200 pages for her to see the light and give in to Zeke!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Running Wild is a contemporary Western romance. It has romance,

    Running Wild is a contemporary Western romance. It has romance, action, suspense and a "Hot" cowboy.

    Carlin Reed is on the run from a stalker who tried to kill her. She finds herself in Battle Ridge looking for a job. Zeke Decker is a cattle rancher in need of a cook and housekeeper. When they meet sparks fly but neither one wants to give into temptation. Will they be able to work together and not give into their desires? Will her stalker find her?

    Carlin is a feisty, self-reliant woman but has a vulnerable side. Zeke is a good looking cowboy with a tough exterior and a heart of gold. I enjoyed the banter between Carlin and Zeke. I look forward to reading more from this writing team.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Great story! 306 pgs

    Very descriptive and great plot. Loved the characters. I can't wait for the next one!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    Well written!!

    These two ladies are a great writing team! May we see more from them in the future!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Great read!!!

    I only hope that the next one is as good as the last two. I don't know how they do it but I can tell that they are great at it. KEEP IT UP LADIES.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    Read me

    Seeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeexxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2014

    Not my cup of tea

    This is a longer, more tedious, version of a standard Harlequin Romance. When compared to the last book these two authors worte (Blood Born) it's really disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2014

    Stoty okay

    Story okay but not original. Always liked howads books but this one had way too much explicit sex and story could have been a hundred pages less.Sex is best if it is hinted at and left to the readers imagination. Give us a little credit, we've all been in the bedroom!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    I fell in love with this book! I've read it more then once and w

    I fell in love with this book! I've read it more then once and will read it many more times! Romance novels are my favorite genre and this is my all time favorite story!! =]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    Love Linda Howard but this collaboration just didn't work for me

    Love Linda Howard but this collaboration just didn't work for me. Carly's thoughts went on, and on, and on, and on. . . . Like the character of Zeke, but Linda Howard can do better on her own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It had me smiling and crying.

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It had me smiling and crying. The dialog was the absolute. Over all I would love to have more like this one to read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Nice bedtime read...

    ...because it will put you right to sleep. Characters are not fleshed out, storyline is tired, and everything is predictable.This is about as fresh as a ten-year-old sugar cookie. Its just sad when writing isn't a creative endeavor, but a formula that the author follows over and over and over again. I feel stupid for giving this author a try. I'm not some high-brow reading Plato. I just like a good romance. This isn't it. I'm going back to Diana Gabaldon and reread her stuff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    I loved the plot line and the tension between the characters tha

    I loved the plot line and the tension between the characters that the authors created. I can't wait for the next book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Really excellent!!!

    Really excellent!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2013

    Enjoyed this new book by Linda Howard (one of my favorites) and

    Enjoyed this new book by Linda Howard (one of my favorites) and Linda Jones. Good mixture of suspense and romance. Well developed characters, and the banter (or bickering) between the main characters was grea. Look forward to more books in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Awesome!!

    I've always loved her books!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Loved it

    This book was very romantic and fairly sexy. I agree that it took carlin a little too long to give in to zeke, and i also thought she was a little too snarky and unreasonable at times. Zeke was flawless:) and it was a real good read and very hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    A Must Read

    This book was great. I could not put it down. I loved the characters and the story. I cant wait to read the next book in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4