Customer Reviews for

Running for My Life: One Lost Boy's Journey from the Killing Fields of Sudan to the Olympic Games

Average Rating 4.5
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(51)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Best release of 2012. Every American should read this autobiogr

Best release of 2012.

Every American should read this autobiography of Lopez Lomong, a Lost Boy of Sudan who dreamed of becoming an Olympic runner for the United States.

Part of a large group of children rounded up and kidnapped from an outdoor church service by Sudan...
Best release of 2012.

Every American should read this autobiography of Lopez Lomong, a Lost Boy of Sudan who dreamed of becoming an Olympic runner for the United States.

Part of a large group of children rounded up and kidnapped from an outdoor church service by Sudanese rebel solders, six year old Lopepe (born in 1985) was taken under the wings of three bigger boys who had known his older brother. Together they escaped from the horrifying rebel encampment, running in the wrong direction for home. Eventually they crossed the border into Kenya, where they were put in a refugee camp. The bigger boys, whom Lopez calls his "angels" vanished, never to be seen by him again.

In the refugee camp food was limited and there were no school supplies. Lopez learned the rudiments of education, with teachers offering lectures and children writing answers in the dirt, using sticks as writing implements. Work, running, and soccer playing helped fill the long hours.

In the year 2000, several of the boys snuck out of the camp, paying a local farmer to watch the Olympics on a television powered by a car battery. Seeing Michael Johnson, the defending Olympic champion and world record holder in the 400-meter dash, Lopez developed a dream for his own future. He, too, would some day run in the Olympics for the United States.

Lomong believes it was God who led him to learn about the Olympics, and also helped him win an essay contest. The contest allowed him to be sent to America where he lived with a supportive American family, received his citizenship, earned both his high school and Bachelor's Degrees, and ran in the Beijing Olympics for the United States.

His youthful impressions of 9/11 and of Americans coming together as a people are very powerful, very moving, and extremely important.

"Running for My Life" is a very true story of a young man whose hard work and faith in God has allowed him to achieve his personal dreams.

We pray that his even bigger dreams of bringing pure drinking water, public education and medical services to Sudan also come true.

A must read. Excellent book. A superb person.

Kim Burdick
Stanton, Delaware

posted by KimRBurdick on July 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Highly recommend! Amazing story.

Uplifting, amazing story from a truly nice person. Most people I know have gone back and read it twice - it is that good.

posted by dragonflyNY on September 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 26, 2012

    Great book a must read

    I think we forget how good we really have it here in the USA. I would have never thought at the age of 6 to be taken from my family, to have to learn how to survive and to have to run for my life.
    I his autobiography Running for my Life Lopez Lomong tell the story of his life growing up in South Sudan. At the little age of six years old Lopez was taken from his family while they attend a church service. He was ripped from the loving arms of his mother by men that wanted to train young kids to fight in the Civil war that was going on in his country.
    Lopez made a decision one night that put him on the path to the live that he now leads. When you read this book you will not be able to put it down. Lopez survived because of his belief in God. God help him just like He helps us all. God has a plan for us and Lopez understood this and knew that if he would put his trust in God even when is was in the depths of hell he know that God would extended his loving hand and pull him out. That is just want God did for Lopez.
    If you know about Lopez you know that he went on to Olympics and not only that had the great honor to carry the country flag in the open ceremonies. What an honor for a boy that once was last and now if found.

    This review is my alone; I was given a free copy by the Thomas Nelson group in exchange for this honest review.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    Such a Great Read!

    A great book and so inspiring! I love how honest he is and the perspective he gives in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Powerful

    Lopez shares enough detail to make you realize his reality, but not enough that you are unable to keep reading. His faith in God is inspiring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    Great book, i highly reccommend it

    Really good, the very beginning was sorta sad and in some parts it dragged on but only a little! All in all it was a amazing and I think that everyone should read this; very inspiring; fabulous; incredible; well writen; remarkable in change of events!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    Highly recommend this book

    This was a very inspiring story. I learned that people can overcome incredible hardships and with the right chance can do incredible things.
    I admired this young man and the family that gave him a chance for a better life. Well worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2013

    Inspiring read!

    Awwesome story of how a life was miraculously saved (literally), and how his path through life has been directed by God to inspire others facing crisis without hope. I loved how it is mostly written in his own words, simply and with unashamed awe of what all has happened to him and to be read accepting it just as it is. Higly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2013

    Recommended - amazing story

    I'm a runner so I really enjoyed the running aspect of the book. But it really is much more than a running book. It's about an amazing set of circumstances that allowed a refugee from Sudan to compete for the United States in the Olympics.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    Very good

    Very inspirational story. What a motivated spirit this man possesses.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    A Good Read

    Realistic yet upbeat story of Lomong's life. I highly recommend this book for middle school readers as well as adults. Inspiring on many levels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    Highly recommended

    A quick read that offers a wonderful insight into the blessings that our country can offer others. If we choose to reach out, there are innumerable others suffering in other countries who can benefit from the advantages offered by living in the USA. Lomong is a wonderful example of this type of opportunity. It is well written and moving. His faith and the support of friends and family, both here and abroad, sustained him thru horrible circumstances. Lets not forget the Christian family who adopted him and raised him. What a blessing! A great story! Inspiring and gratifying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Jen

    Sounds good? I like fantasy mystery animal romanse adventure kind of books. Would any of u recommened this to me? Thanx
    -Jen

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2012

    ¿Running For My Life¿ is Lopez ¿Lopepe¿ Lomong¿s inspirational a

    “Running For My Life” is Lopez “Lopepe” Lomong’s inspirational account (with a little help from Mark Tabb) on how a 6 year old boy attending church in Kimotong, a remote South Sudanese village torn by civil war, managed the opportunities it would take to become a professional runner representing America in the Olympic Games and acquiring an American post-secondary school diploma. One unsuspecting day, Lopepe was ripped from his mothers arms along with all other children present at church that day to be forever separated from their families and trained to be rebel soldiers in an existing civil war. Through a series of lucky events, which Lopepe considers “God’s grace”, he escapes the rebels, finds shelter in a refugee camp and discovers himself (by God’s plan) in America with opportunities available to him he never conceived of.

    Lopepe shares a story with his readers that is otherwise very unknown to the Western world in a very inquisitive and charming fashion. He illustrates his bed as a mat on a floor in his one-roomed hut separated by a stove positioned in the middle for heat in Africa and how he had never known anything else and is amazed to find himself expected to use a plush mattress elevated high off the floor by a bed frame. This is one of many examples of Lopepe’s unique crossover from a very drastically impovershed lifestyle to a more pampered and accommodated one. I recommend this book to anyone looking for an inspirational memoir to read (if you are religious, this particular book is even more highly recommended). However, although it is highly inspirational and renews your faith in fate (if not some higher Being), I did not like how much luck/God’s presence was associated with his journey and personally felt his triumphs over certain obstacles would have been greater if he did not attribute them to a plan laid out for him by God but a plan he actively refused to stop pursuing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2012

    From helplessness to hope!

    Running For My Life by Lopez Lomong
    At a church service, six year old Lopez Lomong was torn from his parents, thrown into the back of a truck with other children and then forced to endure weeks of harsh captivity. If he survived the deprivation of food and water his only choice was to become a child soldier in the Sudanese civil war. Unbelievably, he is cared for by 3 “angels” as he calls them and is led in a dangerous escape into Kenya, where he is taken to a refugee camp with other “lost boys.”
    Despite many hardships he perseveres and learns to live without his biological family. As part of his daily routine, he runs and plays soccer, and attends school. In an unusual circumstance, he watches Michael Johnson win the 400-meter dash on a small black and white television during the 2000 Olympics and it changes Lopez’s life. He now dreams of being an Olympian.
    When he has the opportunity to come to the United States, Lopez is taken in by Rob and Barbara Rogers in New York. His account of learning to live in the United States is very touching. After seeing his natural ability in running they encourage him to pursue his dream. The book spells out the rest of his story and how his dream comes true.
    This is a story of faith, hope and perseverance. Lopez has a refreshingly positive attitude and is a great role model for budding athletes. I intend to watch his career and life to see what other amazing feats he will accomplish. This book was given to me by Thomas Nelson and this is my honest review.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1