BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Running for My Life: One Lost Boy's Journey from the Killing Fields of Sudan to the Olympic Games

Average Rating 4.5
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Best release of 2012. Every American should read this autobiogr

Best release of 2012.

Every American should read this autobiography of Lopez Lomong, a Lost Boy of Sudan who dreamed of becoming an Olympic runner for the United States.

Part of a large group of children rounded up and kidnapped from an outdoor church service by Sudan...
Best release of 2012.

Every American should read this autobiography of Lopez Lomong, a Lost Boy of Sudan who dreamed of becoming an Olympic runner for the United States.

Part of a large group of children rounded up and kidnapped from an outdoor church service by Sudanese rebel solders, six year old Lopepe (born in 1985) was taken under the wings of three bigger boys who had known his older brother. Together they escaped from the horrifying rebel encampment, running in the wrong direction for home. Eventually they crossed the border into Kenya, where they were put in a refugee camp. The bigger boys, whom Lopez calls his "angels" vanished, never to be seen by him again.

In the refugee camp food was limited and there were no school supplies. Lopez learned the rudiments of education, with teachers offering lectures and children writing answers in the dirt, using sticks as writing implements. Work, running, and soccer playing helped fill the long hours.

In the year 2000, several of the boys snuck out of the camp, paying a local farmer to watch the Olympics on a television powered by a car battery. Seeing Michael Johnson, the defending Olympic champion and world record holder in the 400-meter dash, Lopez developed a dream for his own future. He, too, would some day run in the Olympics for the United States.

Lomong believes it was God who led him to learn about the Olympics, and also helped him win an essay contest. The contest allowed him to be sent to America where he lived with a supportive American family, received his citizenship, earned both his high school and Bachelor's Degrees, and ran in the Beijing Olympics for the United States.

His youthful impressions of 9/11 and of Americans coming together as a people are very powerful, very moving, and extremely important.

"Running for My Life" is a very true story of a young man whose hard work and faith in God has allowed him to achieve his personal dreams.

We pray that his even bigger dreams of bringing pure drinking water, public education and medical services to Sudan also come true.

A must read. Excellent book. A superb person.

Kim Burdick
Stanton, Delaware

posted by KimRBurdick on July 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Highly recommend! Amazing story.

Uplifting, amazing story from a truly nice person. Most people I know have gone back and read it twice - it is that good.

posted by dragonflyNY on September 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 8, 2012

    Best release of 2012. Every American should read this autobiogr

    Best release of 2012.

    Every American should read this autobiography of Lopez Lomong, a Lost Boy of Sudan who dreamed of becoming an Olympic runner for the United States.

    Part of a large group of children rounded up and kidnapped from an outdoor church service by Sudanese rebel solders, six year old Lopepe (born in 1985) was taken under the wings of three bigger boys who had known his older brother. Together they escaped from the horrifying rebel encampment, running in the wrong direction for home. Eventually they crossed the border into Kenya, where they were put in a refugee camp. The bigger boys, whom Lopez calls his "angels" vanished, never to be seen by him again.

    In the refugee camp food was limited and there were no school supplies. Lopez learned the rudiments of education, with teachers offering lectures and children writing answers in the dirt, using sticks as writing implements. Work, running, and soccer playing helped fill the long hours.

    In the year 2000, several of the boys snuck out of the camp, paying a local farmer to watch the Olympics on a television powered by a car battery. Seeing Michael Johnson, the defending Olympic champion and world record holder in the 400-meter dash, Lopez developed a dream for his own future. He, too, would some day run in the Olympics for the United States.

    Lomong believes it was God who led him to learn about the Olympics, and also helped him win an essay contest. The contest allowed him to be sent to America where he lived with a supportive American family, received his citizenship, earned both his high school and Bachelor's Degrees, and ran in the Beijing Olympics for the United States.

    His youthful impressions of 9/11 and of Americans coming together as a people are very powerful, very moving, and extremely important.

    "Running for My Life" is a very true story of a young man whose hard work and faith in God has allowed him to achieve his personal dreams.

    We pray that his even bigger dreams of bringing pure drinking water, public education and medical services to Sudan also come true.

    A must read. Excellent book. A superb person.

    Kim Burdick
    Stanton, Delaware

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    Running For My Life is a most amazing thrilling story of God watching over a "LOST BOY" from Sudan. It is well-told,a compelling easy read and hard to put down. The Publication date in 2011 makes it very relevant reading for the 2012 Olympics as Lopez Lomong represents yhe USA in the 1500 meter race. The book makes us aware of the plight of the many lost children of the world. Lopez Lomong is to be highly commended for his burning desire and efforts through his foundation to aid in the welfare in the country of his birth.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    Incredibly Inspiring - Makes all boundaries seem surpassable!!

    This story is the essence of the American Dream but very different than those we have heard in the past! Lomong is a strong and resilient character but his voice is honest in telling his story. The pain and weaknesses felt during his struggle are palpable throughout the book.... This is a tale that will inspire as I take on new challenges and set off to overcome limits.

    Once I started it was impossible to put down! I found myself laughing and crying throughout the story. The struggles of this child illuminate reflections on the importance of family, identity, and purpose. I was so proud to be an American and realized the amount of potential each individual has to touch and change so many lives.

    Enjoy this incredible summer read and let's cheer Lomong on as he represents USA in the London 2012 Olympics! This is just the beginning!!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    bought this from amazon, love the story!

    bought this from amazon, love the story!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2012

    I happened upon this book while browsing my local book store. A

    I happened upon this book while browsing my local book store. At check out, it was suggested to me based on my interest in another book that was currently out of stock. I knew nothing of the gentleman nor his story. Fantastic book! The man has so much hope on every page. From his kidnapping to his escape and then his refugee camp experiences. I couldn't put it down.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Very moving. Brought me to tears many times. It just brought h

    Very moving. Brought me to tears many times. It just brought home to
    me how much I take for granted living in the the USA.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2012

    From Deadend to Glory and Giving Back

    Running for My Life, a true story, reads like a novel and will inspire readers that God can bring great changes to lives that seem to have no future. Lopez Lomong, a U.S. Olympic athlete, ran everywhere for pleasure as a young boy in Sudan. One Sunday, when Lopez was six years old, children in a church service were kidnapped by soldiers and held prisoners in a tiny house far from their home. There the children either died of malnutrition and disease or were trained to be soldiers. One dark night, three older boys helped Lopez escape. They ran for three nights, sleeping during the day. Lopez thought they were heading back to his village but discovered they’d reached Kenya and a refugee camp. He spent the next ten years there, although the three older boys disappeared. Even trying for years, he’s never located them again. Knowing the hand of God has always been on his life, he wonders if the boys were angels. When Lopez was sixteen, Catholic Charities helped an American family adopt him. He learned to trust them and to slowly understand American culture. In 2008 he ran in the Olympics for the US and met President and Mrs. Bush. His proudest moment arrived three years later, when he graduated from college. Now he works to help people in Africa through the Lopez Lomong Foundation, creating schools, bringing better agricultural methods and health improvements and meeting other dire needs.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    Mighty

    Lopez Lomong writes from the heart. This was a gripping novel with purpose and humility. I hope it raises a great amount for the Sudan cause.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    Inspiring

    Wonderful story. This story shows that with hard work dedication and faith in God you can accomplish anything in life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2012

    Running For My Life

    Running for My Life: One Lost Boy's Journey from the Killing Fields of Sudan to the Olympic Games is the autobiography of Lopez Lomong. At the age of six, Lopez was part of a large group of children kidnapped by the Sudanese militia in 1991. These children were trained and forced to become soldiers in the Sudanese militia. Lopez, and many like him, are often referred to as the “Lost Boys of Sudan”. Lopez goes on to tell the story of life under the control of the Sudanese rebels. He describes the deplorable sleeping, eating, and sanitary conditions, as well as the state of constant fear all the boys felt. As the months went on, we was befriended by three older boys who were from the same region as he was. Lopez referred to these boys as his “angels”. These three older boys helped Lopez escape the rebel camp. After days of running, they crossed the border into Kenya and were picked up by border control agents and sent to a United Nations refugee camp where he lived as an orphan (by choice) for the next ten years. Lopez writes in detail about his life inside the refugee camp. He described the rationing of food, standing in line for water, the need to hide food from the gangs that were always looking to steal, and playing soccer to pass the time. Lope was also a runner. He ran around the camp every day. The faster you could run around the camp, the more time you had on the soccer field. In 2000, Lopez and a few other boys managed o sneak out of camp one night to the home of a farmer near the refugee camp. He would let them watch his black and white television that was powered by a car battery. Each boy paid their money. (This farmer is the man Lopez was working for, illegally,). That night, Lopez watched Michael Johnson run the 400m dash in the Olympics. Lopez’s dream to one day run in the Olympics himself was forever solidified. One day in camp, a UN worker shared that there were spots available for a certain number of boys to go to America. Lopez shows how, through God’s intervention, he was able to leave the refugee camp, find his way to America, and be adopted by an American family. Lopez enrolls in high school, joins the cross-country team, and goes off to college. His views and insights into the immigration process and the 9/11 tragedy are both humorous and moving. Lopez eventually made it to the 2008 Beijing Olympics can competed in the 1500m, although he did not medal. Lopez says that he now “runs with a purpose”, He has used his influence and resources to help make a difference back in his home of Sudan, Partnering with World Vision, he established a foundation to help bring clean water, food, medicine, and education to his people back in Sudan. Lopez will be competing in the 5000m in the 2012 London Olympics going on now. I look forward to cheering him on to a win. Running For My Life is an outstanding and inspiring work. This review does not do the book adequate justice. It is full of humor, emotion, sadness, hope, and surprise. You will be moved by his story. An addictive read. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    If you are interested in running, track and field, the Olympics,

    If you are interested in running, track and field, the Olympics, or hearing a true story of one of the many 'Lost Boys', Running For My Life keep you intrigued. It is the story of Lopepe "Lopez" Lomong, a boy who was taken from his home in Sudan when he was only six. In his book, he tells of the challenges he faced while running for his life to safety, and how he ended up fulfilling the dream of running for the United States of America.

    Lopez Lomong keeps your attention as he tells his story. While his story is one full of loss, hardships and tragedy, Lopez always seems to be full of hope and faith. Through out the entire book, Lopez gives credit to God for getting him through the hardest times in his life, and for giving him the gift of running. Not only did his personal story interest me, but it was an encouragement to read about how someone could go through such hardship and come out on the other side still praising God and also wanting to give everything back to people who need it.

    If you are looking for a page-turner that is full of laughs, tears, and encouragement, I would recommend this book to you. I loved learning about Lopez, and am excited to watch him run and cheer him on during the 2012 Olympics! This book gives you and inside look at a Lost Boy who found worth and acceptance in the United States.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2012

    Running For My Life is the story of US Olympic athlete Lopez Lom

    Running For My Life is the story of US Olympic athlete Lopez Lomong. This inspiring book chronicles his story from a kidnapped lost boy from the killing fields of the Sudan, and follows his barefoot escape to the refugee camps of Kenya. The story doesn't end there. After 10 years in a refugee camp, Lopez is taken in by a foster family in the US.

    The book follows his struggles with adapting to life in the US from high school to university. Lopez earns a degree and a spot on the 2008 US Olympic team. Lopez is still running.

    I was not familiar with Lopez Lomong's story before reading this book. Now, I can't stop thinking about it. Encountering hardship that would kill stronger men, God leads Lopez on a path that brings Glory to His Name!

    I was challenged by this book. I found myself wondering how I would have handled these situations. Lopez does not rest on his laurels and today he has partnered with World Vision to bring hope and help to the people of Sudan.

    This is a book I highly recommend. You will find yourself drawn in to the Lopez Lomong story and your eyes will be open to a life outside of the comforts of home!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2014

    "Running for My Life" is the wonderful, inspirational,

    "Running for My Life" is the wonderful, inspirational, true story of a lost boy. Lopez Lomong began his life in South Sudan in the midst of a long civil war. Yet if it hadn't been for the deaths occurring around him, the hot, dry land that Sudan is made of, and the deep poverty of his people, he wouldn't have made it to the Olympic Games.

    At the tender age of 6 years old, Lopepe was torn from his mother's arms by soldiers, dislocated from the small life he knew, and carried away to the brutal unknown. He became a "lost boy", alone, unable to be with his family. Piece by piece, you are able to see how God was working in his life, singling him out and preparing him for a life much better than being a rejected captive. As Lopepe tells his story in this book, you will see time and time again the ways that doors are opened for him, taking him one step closer to his dream. The day that he discovered the Olympics was a day that marked a desire to achieve something huge with his life.

    Lopez Lomong is a runner. As a child, he ran for the joy of it. Growing older, he ran because in Sudan, it's simply what you do. Soccer is their way of life, and to build his strength to play, he ran. As an young adult his view changed. He aspired for something mightier than himself, and he ran for his country.

    Once Lopepe arrived in America, part of his life-long dream had already come true, but in actuality, it was only a small fraction. His next step was to get on the USA Olympic team. First he had to overcome the culture shock, learn the English language, graduate high school, and to always keep running no matter what. That is a big list to accomplish in just 3 years! He got though it, and it was only because God placed him in just the spot at just the right time. There is so much more to share with you about his life, but I shouldn't go on. You must read it yourself to learn the details of this amazing story.

    In this biography, Lopez Lomong's Olympic success culminates in Beijing 2008. I would have loved to have known all about his experience in London 2012 too, although I realize the book was just being released at that time, so of course, those details couldn't have been included. Maybe he will write another book to tell more his story, I hope.

    What a pleasure it was to read "Running for My Life". I would recommend it to anyone in a heartbeat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    Endermanman

    Absolutely, positively AMAZING!!! As some parts may be sad, this book shows great faith! I may not be the guy who gets all 'Oh, that person i my role model!' but Lopez Lomong is now mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Great

    I read the sample and i cant wait to read the rest

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    I love this book

    When i read this book for the first time i was crying in some parts and in other parts i was feel and thinking how luky i am to be born in America and not in a nothercountry............

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    LOVE!!!

    A truly inspiring story and one everyone shoukd read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    Stunning book

    Great forbpeople of all ages. Gives you a heart for africa but also makes youvwant to better your running!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Great Story

    Highly recommended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    Inspiring

    This was so inspiring that I bought copies for my grand kids to read and they are loving it and will pass it on to their friends who want to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3