Customer Reviews for

Running for My Life: My Journey in the Game of Football and Beyond

Average Rating 4
( 5 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    Run, Dunn Run!! - And take it straight to the BIG SCREEN!!

    His name means "Warrier" - destined for battle, yet destined for Victory! This book is a must-read for all. As the captivating scenarios take you back in time, you'll literally feel the rush- the energy of the ingeniously described events that shaped and changed Warrick's life forever. Be prepared to ride an emotional rollercoater. - Unless you're a cold fish, you'll need to keep the tissues handy - and read the book in bits and pieces as you regroup and pull yourself together - as I did.<BR/>I am looking forward to seeing Dunn go the to next level and take this book to the big screen!! <BR/>And now to Dunn:<BR/> Like God fashioned David, an ordinary man, he has also made you King - and with rare humility, you wear your crown well!! Hence, I support you in all that you do....May the 'Peace, protection, and love of God' be with you and your family; now and forever.<BR/><BR/>Hugs and Kisses!!<BR/>Tonya in Duluth, GA

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    A must read for all NFL fans!

    Even if you are not a Bucs fan, or a Falcons fan...this is a must read. Warrick Dunn has a really touching and inspiring story about his struggle to deal with his mother's death and having to raise his brothers and sisters. Dunn is a down to earth guy who believes in doing good for others since he has the ability to currently. It has great flow, and I think you would love it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    100 Reader Rating STARS!

    Short Review: With the purchase of "Running for my Life," you may very well find yourself back in line purchasing extra copies and checking off a few names on your Christmas or Birthday shopping list.<BR/><BR/>Long Review: My apologies for going on and on, but I have never ever read an autobiography that has touched me in so many ways as "Running for my Life." Bored one Sunday afternoon, I stumbled across "Quiet Strength" by Coach Tony Dungy where I first learned about Warrick's work both on and off the field. Around this time, I also learned that Warrick's autobiography would be coming out in a month. Woohoo! To be honest, I wasn't expecting RFML to be as engaging of a read as "Quiet Strength," but Warrick put his heart and magic on paper, and I could not put RFML down!!!<BR/><BR/>I have to say for as much as Warrick's mom, the great Betty Smother's death is tragic and so incredibly heart-wrenching as detailed by Warrick and Mr. Yaeger in RFML, both Warrick's and his mother's life prove to be even greater in grace and beauty. Everlasting. After reading this book, you may very well find yourself wishing that there was a store to buy SMILES, STRENGTH, HAPPINESS, and NOTES TO HEAVEN to send to Warrick and to his siblings. You may also find yourself feeling grateful toward Betty Smothers, Warrick's siblings, Warrick's grandmother, Choo-Choo, Coach Bowden, Charlie Ward, Coach Dungy, and the Baton Rouge community, at large, for creating and shaping such an inspiring person in Warrick Dunn, one of Betty Smother's great legacies.<BR/><BR/>RFML should be made into a movie--perhaps a documentary. So very touching...Think along the lines of "Brian's Song" and those tear drops that most of us shed for Brian Piccolo and for Gale Sayers. Wah.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2008

    Amazing Walk With God

    This was a very heartfelt story. It was educational, warm and inspirational. I felt as I was involved in his life. Everyone should read this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    Hdj

    Hi

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2010

    Best Book Ever

    Running For My Life

    By Warrick Dunn and Don Yaeger

    Warrick Dunn is a great man and great football player.Not only does he run through defenses and also supports his community.This book is a story how Warrick Dunn had his life turned around by the devastation of his mother's death . He had to get a job to support his sibilings . This heart warming book tells how he managed to be successful in life . This book is a great story of a great man and a great football player.I liked this book and I highly recomend it , to football fans and non-football fans alike.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    You Can't Put It Down!!

    Plain and simple....If you don't tear up reading this WONDERFUL, WONDERFUL book, you don't have a heart. Warrick keeps his mother's memory alive in 'Running for My Life'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2009

    Poignant and Personal

    Dunn has been my favorite running back since his debut at Florida State University. I was not surprised to have confirmed that his determination, work ethic, and generosity apply both on and off the field. A more honest and poignant story was never told. I was disappointed in the number of editorial errors within the book, but I could easily forgive those because of the personal and therapeutic nature of the narrative. It was as if Warrick Dunn himself were speaking as a friend directly to me. What a great guy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2009

    Heart Gripping to Say the Least!!!

    I passed over this book and went back to purchase it because something about the title kept drawing me to it. As a previous reviewer stated" You can not put it DOWN!" RFML evoked much more than W. Dunn ever thought could come from someone. Each portion of his testimony touches a part of the reader and forces you to face the unveiled realization of whats hidden.<BR/><BR/>Thank you and continue with what God has in store for you! (Stay true which is refreshing) and I am sure this book will reach the peak just as your yardage did! <BR/>"Truly a MUST READ!!!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    character and courage

    running for my life is a very special book that is not only a football book but it has many life lessons that the arthur shares with his readers .warrick dunn gives you the ups and downs of his life and tells you how he delt with his hurtful things in his life like the death of his mother. this is a special book cause he tells you how he deals with his situations and how he made his life better as a result. plus he gives you an insiders account of the nfl and the tampa bay buccaneers and his life in football. this book can be very helpful. great gift for a friend or family member.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1